Macrovision-free VCRs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 77 Old 05-09-2012, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello all,

I'm new here, but I'm a veteran lurker. Great site!

If this is the wrong forum, I apologize but I could not find a more relevant one.

I currently have a need to connect a DVD player to an RF-only television, but I'm having some trouble with the Macrovision copy-protection.

I've heard of some VCRs not being sensitive to the Macrovision (at least in pass-through mode) but am not sure of which ones.

Again, I'm not as interested in their video mechanisms, as I am about their pass-through circuitry. I could always get a modulator, but I think a VCR would be easier and simpler.

Can anyone confirm a VCR that does not suffer from Macrovision deterioration in pass-through mode?

Thanks all.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 77 Old 05-09-2012, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I know both my JVC models HR-S3911U from 2002 and HR-S5912U from 2003 can have another VCR or DVD player input a macovision infected signal into the line in and pass the signal out just fine as long as the VCR is not in record mode.

Perhaps most of the newer models will pass through fine but I can only vouch for my newer model JVCs.
post #3 of 77 Old 05-09-2012, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 17
A modulator saves more energy.

Also, I've never heard that a SuperBetamax/Video8 deck have had problems with Macrovision.
post #4 of 77 Old 05-09-2012, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by profhat View Post

I've never heard that a SuperBetamax/Video8 deck have had problems with Macrovision.

My 2 Superbeta decks from 1985 and 1 Beta deck from 1984 will have problems dealing with macrovision signals – the screen will flash bright / dark and in fact even when not recording and just passing a line in macro infected signal will flash bright / dark.