Magnavox dvd/vcr question? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
trying to hook it up, want to use mostly for vcr recording, but it doesn't have a tv out or antenna out

how do i hook it up..... magnovax CDV220MW9 model
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CitiBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Does your TV have line inputs for video and audio on the back panel? If so, you get one of those triple-wire A/V cables with yellow/red/white plugs on each end, and connect the line outs from the Magnavox to the line ins on your TV. The TV must be switched to view "Line 1" or similar when you want to see the output from the Magnavox. The antenna jacks on the Magnavox feed it a TV signal for recording and pass the same feed thru to your TV tuner, but its just a pass thru from your antenna. Unlike VCRs, DVD recorders do not "play" on TV channel 3/4 using the same antenna cable, and there is no "TV/VCR" button.

If your TV is very old and doesn't have any line inputs, you can buy an accessory RF Modulator. This is a little cigarette-pack sized box you can find at Best Buy or Radio Shack. You connect the line outputs of your Magnavox to the line inputs of the RF Modulator, and it then feeds a signal to your TV over an antenna jack on channel 3/4. These cost about $20. You can also connect your old VCR as a modulator in the same way, if it still works and you have room for it on your shelf. The accessory modulator is more convenient: its smaller, can sit hidden in back of the Magnavox, and uses very little electricity even if left on 24/7.
CitiBear is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the tv has a line 1 with the yellow/white/red lines

but i want to record, i get i can watch the vcr like that, but dont i have to run it threw the sat receiver in order to record
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckliddell1011 View Post

the tv has a line 1 with the yellow/white/red lines

but i want to record, i get i can watch the vcr like that, but dont i have to run it threw the sat receiver in order to record

You need to connect a satellite receiver output to a corresponding input on your Magnavox recorder. This will most likely be the yellow video and white/red audio cables.

You will have to tune the satellite receiver to the channel you want to record. Then you will set the Magnavox to record from the line input where the satellite recorder is connected.

The Magnavox CDV220MW9 plays DVDs but it does not record to DVDs.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but the sat only has channel 3 or 4, if im on line 1 how does this work for recording
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CitiBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I mistook your Magnavox as having a tuner, sorry.

Apparently this is a very spartan model meant to be primarily used as a player. It has a "VCR" to the extent that every VCR can both play and record, but this unit is not particularly intended as a recorder.

The only recording input it has is via line, so if your satellite box does not have line outputs this Magnavox won't work for you. The connection needed would be satellite box line outputs to Magnavox line inputs, then Magnavox line outputs to TV line inputs. Assuming the sat box also has the channel 3/4 output, you could leave that connected directly to the TV so you could watch satellite straight thru on 3/4 when you don't need the VCR or DVD. Just switch the TV to line when you want to watch the Magnavox.

If your particular sat box *only* outputs over antenna wire to channel 3/4, you need to return this Magnavox and get a model that includes a tuner. Or, exchange your satellite box for one that has both line outs and channel 3/4 outs.

Ever since the digital broadcast switchover in 2008, the tuner parts in recorders have become much more expensive. Many Americans don't need the tuner, because they use a cable or satellite box with line outputs. "Tunerless" models like your Magnavox are designed for such people: they can save $50 or more by not getting the tuner. But it can be very confusing to people used to how old VCRs worked (all VCRs had tuners, all VCRs had both line outputs and channel 3/4 outputs). You need to match the recorder model inputs with your signal source: antenna, decoder box on 3/4, or decoder line outs. Unfortunately this isn't made clear by sites like Amazon or the kids who sell this stuff at Best Buy: we're left to figure it out for ourselves.
CitiBear is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry im clueless with this stuff, can u just tell me step by step what i need to do, talk to me like im a 1st grader
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Gotta ask: Are you the MMA's "Iceman"?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CitiBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckliddell1011 View Post

sorry im clueless with this stuff, can u just tell me step by step what i need to do, talk to me like im a 1st grader

We can't do that until we know for sure what connections are possible with your gear. You have confirmed your TV has line inputs, that helped. To continue, please check the back of your satellite box and tell us whether it has line outputs or *only* the channel 3/4 antenna jack.

If your sat box does *not* have line outputs, there is no way this Magnavox model can record from it. The 220MW9 is a specific model designed exclusively to record from a decoder box with line outputs.
CitiBear is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cant get it on channel mode, stays in line 1or 2 input, the vcr that is

also i do have rf modulor
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here is what is the sat box has

two sets of the yellowe/red/white, it says nothing, just two sets of them on top of eachother

a s video

orange and black set

out to tv

out to antenna
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckliddell1011 View Post

cant get it on channel mode, stays in line 1or 2 input, the vcr that is

also i do have rf modulor

The Magnavox does not have "channels" because it does not have a tuner. It records only through line inputs 1 or 2.

Your satellite receiver will have more than one output (or set of outputs). One of those outputs (or set of outputs) will be connected to your TV. What other satellite receiver outputs (or set of outputs) are not being used? (A "set of outputs" would include the yellow video and white/red audio.)

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes i do have another white/yell/red set of outputs on my sat box, but the vcr only has white/yellow
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckliddell1011 View Post

yes i do have another white/yell/red set of outputs on my sat box, but the vcr only has white/yellow

The Magnavox CDV220MW9 combo unit has yellow video and white/red audio inputs (and outputs) on the rear panel. It appears that the Magnavox CDV220MW9 also has a yellow video and white (mono) audio input on the front panel.

From page 20 of the CDV220MW9 Owners Manual:

"Connect your external tuner to the L1 (rear panel) jacks of the unit. Connect camcorders and other such devices to the L2 (front panel) jacks. Refer to pages 8, 9."

When you mention "vcr" do you mean the Magnavox CDV220MW9 or another VCR?

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Magnavox CDV220MW9 is the one

im just having trouble with it, i tried to run the yellow/white/red from the vcr to the sat receiver, then the tv to the sat reciever and it wont work
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 05-29-2012, 11:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What satellite company do you have, and what is the tuner model of theirs that you're using?
Rammitinski is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 12:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuckliddell1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is a tuner model, how do i find out, ill just tell you what it has on the back of the sat

s video
two sets of white/yellow/rd
a white/yellow
a tv and antenna plug in
chuckliddell1011 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 01:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
First tell us the satellite provider you have, as it could make a difference.

DirecTV or Dish Network?

It might not say the actual company's name on the front of the tuner, buy it should say something (numbers, name, initials). What is it?
Rammitinski is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckliddell1011 View Post

what is a tuner model, how do i find out, ill just tell you what it has on the back of the sat

s video
two sets of white/yellow/rd
a white/yellow
a tv and antenna plug in

How's about looking on the back of the satellite or cable box for a tag or for writing that tells you its "MODEL NUMBER".

Could also be on the underside.
gastrof is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckliddell1011 View Post

Magnavox CDV220MW9 is the one

im just having trouble with it, i tried to run the yellow/white/red from the vcr to the sat receiver, then the tv to the sat reciever and it wont work

You need to observe the difference between outputs and inputs. A device's outputs send that device's signals to another device. A device's inputs receive signals from another device. Once you get this right the rest is pretty simple.

To receive and record a signal with your tunerless VCR you will need to choose the appropriate Input with the recorder's remote control. To view your recorder's output you need to use the TV's remote control to choose the appropriate Input. In order to directly view the satellite receiver output on your TV you need to use the TV's remote control to choose the appropriate Input. Once you get this right the rest is pretty simple.

If this sounds familiar it's because a number of us have addressed most of these questions in your earlier threads from 2009, 2010 and 2011:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1232057

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1218360

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1111877

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckliddell1011 View Post

Magnavox CDV220MW9 is the one

im just having trouble with it, i tried to run the yellow/white/red from the vcr to the sat receiver, then the tv to the sat reciever and it wont work

What happened to the Pioneer recorder you bought two years ago from your friend. You would hook this up in the same way you hooked up the Pioneer.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

What happened to the Pioneer recorder you bought two years ago from your friend. You would hook this up in the same way you hooked up the Pioneer.

I guess he buy the CDV220MW9 instead.

Anyway, the typical connection is: sat receiver --> VCR --> TV.
profhat is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off