ZV457MG9A - can't see setup menu - timer button won't work - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-30-2012, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dmva's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unit worked correctly Monday. Tuesday got up to thunderstorm - both TV and VCR not working correctly. Vizio TV had lost audio. Called Vizio support & got audio back by holding power button on while re-plugging in unit (soft re-start?).

Now see nothing on HDMI1 that VCR is running through - no TV, can't see Setup Menus. Switched to HDMI2, still nothing. Vizio says it is the VCR. One Funai rep says it is my HDMI cable, 2nd Funai rep sent me every which way but loose with buttons/etc, but never mentioned cable.

Also, cannot set timer.

Tried soft re-start, as detailed in main sticky thread on this forum, and nothing. Still can't access setup.

Can anyone tell me my next step? Or do I have a brick?

Should I try S-video or component hook-up to see if those work?

Thanks.
dmva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-30-2012, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmva View Post


Should I try S-video or component hook-up to see if those work?

Thanks.

Yes, if you have the cables, you should. Or test the Funai unit in other TV.
profhat is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-30-2012, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmva View Post

Unit worked correctly Monday. Tuesday got up to thunderstorm - both TV and VCR not working correctly. Vizio TV had lost audio. Called Vizio support & got audio back by holding power button on while re-plugging in unit (soft re-start?).

Now see nothing on HDMI1 that VCR is running through - no TV, can't see Setup Menus. Switched to HDMI2, still nothing. Vizio says it is the VCR. One Funai rep says it is my HDMI cable, 2nd Funai rep sent me every which way but loose with buttons/etc, but never mentioned cable.

Also, cannot set timer.

Tried soft re-start, as detailed in main sticky thread on this forum, and nothing. Still can't access setup.

Can anyone tell me my next step? Or do I have a brick?

Should I try S-video or component hook-up to see if those work?

Thanks.

Perhaps the ZV457 was reset to a condition where HDMI is disabled.

Start over with composite connections. Reconfigure your settings and once the ZV457 is functional transition back to HDMI.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is online now  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off