Mag 515 Died & Replacement Died (or so I thought) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-16-2012, 02:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PCdoc7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a 515 Refurb several months ago.
Had a power outage and it "died" . . . "deader 'n a doornail" - no LEDs came on either.
It was plugged into a rather pricey surge protector as is the rest of my equipment.

So I called Funai - told them I had the 515, and they talked me through the "Soft Reset" and had me first unplug the Unit for 30 mins.
I called back - told them it failed to revive and they issued a replacement via the 90-day warranty.

Replacement came in a few weeks ago.
AGAIN - had a power outage and it died. No clock - nothing.
What is it with these 515's that they cannot sustain themselves when a power outage occurs ??
None of my other Units have EVER had a problem with outages.

Again tried the soft reset - waited a half hour - no luck.
Unplugged it and put it back in the box.
Then today - 2 days later - I was ready to call Funai for yet another return.
But I figgered I would try the soft reset one more time - just for laughs . . . and of course . . . Murphy's Law in reverse - it WORKED.

The moral of the story is :
1) this Unit cannot sustain power outages - I am sure "some can and soime can't". But I have now had two successive machines go down for me during a Power Outage. The only fix I can think of is to add a UPS and whenever a power outage occurs, go in and manually turn the Unit OFF then unplug it.
2) the 515 needs more than 30 mins unplugged time to perform a Soft Reset.

NOTE: I have since taken the time to read Wajo's Soft Reset instructions and I saw the added part about the 515 ! ! !
It clearly states that the 513 needs 10 mins of unplug time BUT THAT THE 515 NEEDS 2.5 hours
PCdoc7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-16-2012, 05:55 AM
Member
 
vickyg2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCdoc7 View Post

I bought a 515 Refurb several months ago.
Had a power outage and it "died" . . . "deader 'n a doornail" - no LEDs came on either.
It was plugged into a rather pricey surge protector as is the rest of my equipment.
So I called Funai - told them I had the 515, and they talked me through the "Soft Reset" and had me first unplug the Unit for 30 mins.

NOTE: I have since taken the time to read Wajo's Soft Reset instructions and I saw the added part about the 515 ! ! !
It clearly states that the 513 needs 10 mins of unplug time BUT THAT THE 515 NEEDS 2.5 hours

Too bad Funai doesn't seem to know that. That's probably the reason there are so many refurbished units around on the internet. When I had my power outage, same thing. Deader 'n a doornail. I had read this thread last year and remembered that there were soft reset instructions. 2.5 hours later, started right up.
vickyg2003 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-16-2012, 07:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Is this a problem only when the unit is ON when the power is interrupted? If the unit is OFF and you pull the plug because you want to move it, or whatever, do you still have to wait before you can plug it back in?

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 07-16-2012, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
artwire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cant be certain,but my 515 plug got pulled inadvertently and I had to reset the clock when I finally noticed it, but I didn't lose the recordings or have to go through a major reset to get it working again. I did have to redo the lost program settings for future recordings, but all in all it was pretty painless.
artwire is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-16-2012, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PCdoc7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was afraid but I went ahead and unplugged the Unit - waited a few mins and plugged it back in.
It was OK and came back alive. I am too afraid to experiment with unplugging it during Record or Playback.

I should mention that the 2nd Power outage we experienced was for 2 days. Not sure if that has anything to do with it.
You probably heard about it in the news - a violent storm swept through the Ohio, Pa, WV, and VA areas - both Pepco and Dominion Electric took a full week to get over a million homes back up with Power. And the temp was about 100-degrees so we sweltered with no air and no fan.

I think I am gonna try the secret weapon that Wajo posted a link to.
It is meant to fix "repeatedly freezing Units" and is a new Firmware file called Ver02C which I cannot vouch for yet.
PCdoc7 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-16-2012, 07:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134

eek.gif

 

See my post on the Ver02C FW update available from Funai for recurring 513/515 freezing (dead) issues.

 

eek.gif



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off