CHK REMOTE! problem - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > DVD Recorders (Standard Def) > CHK REMOTE! problem

DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

gospencer3's Avatar gospencer3
08:48 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 3
07-27-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2012
I don't know what I may have done but I have a Panasonic DMR-EH50 DVR/DVD recorder and when I press the remote control the unit display shows "CHK REMOTE!". Does anyone know what's up with this? I've replaced the batteries in the remote and reset the unit but don't know of a way to reset the remote to try that.
DigaDo's Avatar DigaDo
09:22 PM Liked: 23
post #2 of 3
07-27-2012 | Posts: 4,680
Joined: Dec 2007
This is a common problem when the remote has been accidently set to another remote code. The front panel display will report the remote code in use by the recorder when any remote button is pressed on a remote set to another remote code.

I suspect that "CHK REMOTE!" is actually "CHK REMOTE1" indicating that your DMR-EH50 is set to remote code 1.

To reset your remote control to code 1 hold down the ENTER and 1 buttons at the same time for five seconds.

This procedure is found on page 19 of the DMR-EH50 (USA/Canada) Operating Instructions.
Church AV Guy's Avatar Church AV Guy
03:15 PM Liked: 57
post #3 of 3
08-01-2012 | Posts: 4,624
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by gospencer3 View Post

I don't know what I may have done but I have a Panasonic DMR-EH50 DVR/DVD recorder and when I press the remote control the unit display shows "CHK REMOTE!". Does anyone know what's up with this? I've replaced the batteries in the remote and reset the unit but don't know of a way to reset the remote to try that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

This is a common problem when the remote has been accidently set to another remote code. The front panel display will report the remote code in use by the recorder when any remote button is pressed on a remote set to another remote code.

I suspect that "CHK REMOTE!" is actually "CHK REMOTE1" indicating that your DMR-EH50 is set to remote code 1.

To reset your remote control to code 1 hold down the ENTER and 1 buttons at the same time for five seconds.

This procedure is found on page 19 of the DMR-EH50 (USA/Canada) Operating Instructions.
I have accidentally "reprogrammed" my remote to a different code when entering text. I guess the remote didn;t think I had released the ENTER button, when *I* thought I had.biggrin.gif It took me a moment to figure out what I had done.
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3