Anyone have firmware update for Toshibs RD-XS34? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By Clevor
  • 1 Post By Willie G.
  • 1 Post By Willie G.
  • 1 Post By Willie G.
  • 1 Post By Willie G.
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 11-22-2012, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CC58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know it exists, but can't find it anywhere on internet.
Anyone have a copy of Toshiba RD-XS34 firmware update?
If you do, please email it to me at ccopeland58@gmail.com

The firmware update allows the clock to be set manually.
Right now TVGOS sets the clock. TVGOS is about to be terminated nationwide
and my Toshiba will be a brick without the update.

Your help would be appreciated!
CC58 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 11-25-2012, 03:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

Are you sure you need an "update" for that? You shouldn't.

 

I've never heard of a TVGOS HDD/DVD recorder that didn't let you set manual timers, and also let you manually set the clock. All four of my different ones do, and so do everyone else's various models here, as far as I know.

 

You just have to know how to reset the unit, reset the clock, and get to the scheduling screen. Check your manual.

Rammitinski is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 11-27-2012, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CC58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its a bug in the RD-XS34. You have to update to firmware YG1200 to get ability to set clock.
Here is firmware, but I can't burn a CD that will work so far.
http://support.toshiba.ca/support/ceg/downloads/en/view.asp?docid=D000001&utm_campaign=website&utm_source=sendgrid.com&utm_medium=email
CC58 is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 10-29-2014, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone been able to install this update?

I tried and it says it cannot read the disk - even tried making the CD on 2 different computers

I cannot manually set a program to record - as it will not let me set the manual start time.

(Let along set the time on the unit)

With the exception of this it has been a great DVR.

I know this is a old thread but hoping someone has some info!
W8WCA is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 10-30-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
Has anyone been able to install this update?

I tried and it says it cannot read the disk - even tried making the CD on 2 different computers

I cannot manually set a program to record - as it will not let me set the manual start time.

(Let along set the time on the unit)

With the exception of this it has been a great DVR.

I know this is a old thread but hoping someone has some info!
Wow I'm surprised someone still actually uses this. Mine is still going despite going through numerous tumultuous events. Anyway I did upgrade my XS34 to YG1200 years ago. I didn't notice any difference from the stock firmware. IMO it's not worth it.

So you are saying you cannot setup a recording via TVGOS?

-Willie
Willie G. is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 10-31-2014, 03:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Correct.
It (naturally) does not get info any more.
And When I go to new manual recording I cannot change anything in there.

So I can't use even the manual timed recording.
W8WCA is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 10-31-2014, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Clevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, TV Guide has pretty much gone away around 1.5 years ago.

Yes, on the RD-XS34, you have to install the 'latest' firmware update to be able to change the date and time, if TV Guide is no longer available. The latest firmware update was really only one, back in 2006 or so. Otherwise yes, the RD-XS machines still do run fine as I am using two daily. Oceanic Cable here in HI still offers analog programming so I get around 40 or so analog channels on my RD-XS machines, without a converter box. How long this will last, I don't know. I also have a Maggie 2160 hooked up to get the digital channels.

So if you were using TVGOS in the past, then updating the firmware won't seem like much of a change.

In addition, the Canadian downloads won't install on U.S. machines.
W8WCA likes this.
Clevor is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 11-02-2014, 05:35 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
Correct.
It (naturally) does not get info any more.
And When I go to new manual recording I cannot change anything in there.

So I can't use even the manual timed recording.

Have you tried to factory reset your XS34 box? (Zoom-701-Zoom)
W8WCA likes this.

-Willie

Last edited by Willie G.; 11-02-2014 at 05:46 PM.
Willie G. is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 11-02-2014, 05:40 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clevor View Post
Well, TV Guide has pretty much gone away around 1.5 years ago.

Yes, on the RD-XS34, you have to install the 'latest' firmware update to be able to change the date and time, if TV Guide is no longer available. The latest firmware update was really only one, back in 2006 or so. Otherwise yes, the RD-XS machines still do run fine as I am using two daily. Oceanic Cable here in HI still offers analog programming so I get around 40 or so analog channels on my RD-XS machines, without a converter box. How long this will last, I don't know. I also have a Maggie 2160 hooked up to get the digital channels.

So if you were using TVGOS in the past, then updating the firmware won't seem like much of a change.

In addition, the Canadian downloads won't install on U.S. machines.
Yeah I really never used the TV Guide listings because it would never populate. I just have been setting up manual recordings within TVGOS basically from the start back in 2005. I have always been able to reset the time even with the stock YG11 firmware. Changing the time on the box is a pain because all of the scheduled programs get wiped clean. I only changed to YG12 to avoid that from happening but it doesn't fix that problem.

-Willie

Last edited by Willie G.; 11-02-2014 at 05:43 PM.
Willie G. is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 11-03-2014, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie G. View Post
Have you tried to factory reset your XS34 box? (Zoom-701-Zoom)
No I tried to look up Factory Reset but never found anything.

I will try this tonight!
W8WCA is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 11-03-2014, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Will the Factory Reset (Zoom-701-Zoom) Clear the HD?

If so I need to wait until I can PU some DVDs and get the movies off the HD first
W8WCA is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 11-03-2014, 06:15 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
Will the Factory Reset (Zoom-701-Zoom) Clear the HD?

If so I need to wait until I can PU some DVDs and get the movies off the HD first
No, the factory reset only reverts the XS34 to the way it came from Toshiba. It leaves the hard drive's recordings intact (I just tested it to make sure. Now I have to redo all of my settings!). It's like a hard reset which is to depress the power button for 10 seconds. The unit shuts down and WAIT appears on the display when the power is turned on. You'll see the default startup screen when it turns on.

You have to specifically go into the Management settings and choose HDD format or All HDD titles delete. I did both recently to revive my corrupt hard drive. The format didn't even solve that problem. It wasn't until I deleted the titles library as well did things run smoothly. This unit is very tempermental. I have lost more recordings on this recorder due to corruptions.

If you can get into the TVGOS, reset that as well using code:
setup menu-change system settings highlighted press "653214741."

So you cannot record anything by pressing TV Guide on the remote? By pressing TV Guide the listings are blank "There is no data for this screen." Mine are this way as well. Slide over to schedule and says "There are no shows scheduled." Mine presently are now this way as well. Press menu on the remote and the New Manual Recording is listed. Highlight that and you cannot schedule a recording? Is that what I am understanding? Because from there you can set up a recording as I have done so basically from when I got this thing. You can also get into the TVGOS using the gold EASY NAVI button on the remote.

TV Guide stopped sending out signals back in 2009. Even then I never could get all of the information from my cable system.
W8WCA likes this.

-Willie

Last edited by Willie G.; 11-03-2014 at 06:47 PM. Reason: additional info
Willie G. is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 11-04-2014, 04:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie G. View Post

Press menu on the remote and the New Manual Recording is listed. Highlight that and you cannot schedule a recording? Is that what I am understanding? Because from there you can set up a recording as I have done so basically from when I got this thing. You can also get into the TVGOS using the gold EASY NAVI button on the remote.

TV Guide stopped sending out signals back in 2009. Even then I never could get all of the information from my cable system.
When I go to enter a Manual Recording - I cannot change anything except AM-PM
Entering a number is just ignored and no combo of up down left right buttons change the numbers.

So I cannot set a date - or a time for a manual recording
W8WCA is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 11-04-2014, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
By the Way I tried zoom-701-zoom - but it did not work.

On my Remote - zoom is under the number door - so I have to open to door hit zoom - close the door hit 701 then open the door and hit zoom
W8WCA is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 11-04-2014, 06:00 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
By the Way I tried zoom-701-zoom - but it did not work.

On my Remote - zoom is under the number door - so I have to open to door hit zoom - close the door hit 701 then open the door and hit zoom
Sorry to hear that. Yes, zoom is found underneath the remote panel.
What software version (management settings) is running on it now?

You can still order a Toshiba RDXS34V1-2 firmware disc.
This should correct the EPG problem.

-Willie

Last edited by Willie G.; 11-06-2014 at 01:27 AM. Reason: found solution
Willie G. is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 11-06-2014, 04:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie G. View Post
Sorry to hear that. Yes, zoom is found underneath the remote panel.
What software version (management settings) is running on it now?

You can still order a Toshiba RDXS34V1-2 firmware disc.
This should correct the EPG problem.
Well 2 good bits of news! - Thank You

I will look to see what Version I have tonight!

And I will order that CD today also.

Basically - as I understand it - you can set the time when you do a firmware update.

And I am 'hoping' that I can set the time in a manual schedule after I get the firmware update.

I do have a pretty new Remote my old one died a few years ago and I dropped Cable TV back then - so this Unit has just been sitting in my Basement until now
W8WCA is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 11-06-2014, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wow!

This is strange.

I wanted to check my Firmware Version.

Now the "setup" button does not work at all. - I take it the Management Settings are there.

I wonder if my "new" remote I got is part of the problem?

It is an Orignal unit though.SE-R0144
W8WCA is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 11-07-2014, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Lightbulb

Shouldn't be a problem with the remote as I have already replaced two SE-R0144s.

There's a workaround code for finding the firmware:
Zoom-195-Zoom

Interesting read here concerning a similar issue.
W8WCA likes this.

-Willie

Last edited by Willie G.; 11-07-2014 at 12:26 AM.
Willie G. is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 11-08-2014, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well I have now tried every method I can find to do the reset and none work.
And none of the methods to see firmware work either.
I cannot get to setup at all (With the setup button)
W8WCA is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 11-08-2014, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Did you attempt to flash the recorder with the Canadian YG1200? It's more than likely not compatible with the USA recorder (although theoretically it should since it too is NTSC). That in turn could have totally hosed up the XS34. I'm not certain if they both use the same mainboard. Hopefully the Toshiba YG11 v.2 firmware will sort things out when you receive it. Good luck!

-Willie
Willie G. is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 11-09-2014, 04:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes I tried it. No Go.

I may go ahead and buy the one that was posted here
W8WCA is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 11-10-2014, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
Yes I tried it. No Go.

I may go ahead and buy the one that was posted here
Yeah you may have botched up the recorder when it flashing with the wrong firmware. It still works so luckily you didn't brick it. Since Toshiba no longer supports the XS34 for just five and a half bucks it's worth a shot. Otherwise you may have to take it to an video repair expert and that could be costly.

If you're wary on buying, don't worry about PacParts as they are a legit business located in Gardena, CA.
They also supply other parts for the RD-XS34.

-Willie
Willie G. is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 11-10-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Not really concerened about them - I was just trying to see what all works!

No the Firmware update from Canada did nothing at all.

It immediately said cannot use disk

EDIT: I just ordered it.

I hope to get all the 15 or so movies off before it arrives.

I want to make sure I have all my movies off before I flash it

Last edited by W8WCA; 11-10-2014 at 07:52 AM.
W8WCA is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 11-13-2014, 06:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I found that teh Quick Nav would let me get to settings - So I checked.

I have:

YG1000

and

DVD Drive Software MY19

It still seems strange that the setup button does not work - I guess I will see after I get my new FIrmware CD

I may wait until Jan (After I get all the Holiday Movies) though so I do not take a chance of messing anything up on my unit.
W8WCA is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 11-14-2014, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
I have:

YG1000

and

DVD Drive Software MY19
So it seems that you have the original buggy firmware that Toshiba first released in 2005 on these recorders. That YG1100 version 2 should fix your problems. You're lucky you can still get it! Toshiba no longer supports these DVD recorders.

Others back in 2005 with YG10 had TV Guide problems as well. It's the one of the main gripes about this unit! I would also say not being able to defragment the hard drive as another major one. It causes corruption on the drive. Pioneer recorders however did have this defrag option known as "Optimize HDD." They too however were plagued with the dreaded TVGOS.

TVGOS used to control the XS34's internal clock. I had received corrupt data one time that set mine to the year 2069 (which is the ending calendar date for the DVDR). To add insult to injury, the time was off several hours as well. Nothing would record because the XS34 stated that the show had already ended! It took three days to finally get it set back to normal!

From then on I never allowed TVGOS to set the time. I would just leave it on pause (to this day) so the unit would not shut down (after 3 hours) and start scanning channels for the TVGOS signal. Even though that is no longer being used, I have had problems with the scanning to a non available cable channel and get hung up on it. No matter what channel was selected to record, it would only stay stuck there and record the blank channel. That was frustrating until I figured a way around that!
W8WCA likes this.

-Willie
Willie G. is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 11-27-2014, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well bummer!

I had checked my Order a few times and it said I would be getting it about now. (Well 11-26)

Now it shows it is on on Back Order

(And I already paid for it too)

I sure hope they can make copies of it - as I am sure Toshiba does not have them!


Oh well - I guess I will see

Well I called them and they do not have a ship date from the factory - they said normally it can take 6 to 8 weeks - when the factory has no ship date.

I guess I will wait a while longer (They said they would refund me if they cannot get it )

Sure wish the USA Toshiba had the file like Canada does!!!

Last edited by W8WCA; 12-01-2014 at 11:33 AM. Reason: Update
W8WCA is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 12-10-2014, 11:53 PM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie G. View Post
Have you tried to factory reset your XS34 box? (Zoom-701-Zoom)
Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
Well bummer!

I had checked my Order a few times and it said I would be getting it about now. (Well 11-26)

Now it shows it is on on Back Order

(And I already paid for it too)

I sure hope they can make copies of it - as I am sure Toshiba does not have them!


Oh well - I guess I will see

Well I called them and they do not have a ship date from the factory - they said normally it can take 6 to 8 weeks - when the factory has no ship date.

I guess I will wait a while longer (They said they would refund me if they cannot get it )

Sure wish the USA Toshiba had the file like Canada does!!!

Sorry to hear that the firmware disc is delayed. Hopefully they'll get that to you soon.

Had to come for the factory reset code as the XS34 went belly up today.
I may end up replacing the hard drive.

-Willie
Willie G. is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 03-12-2015, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well I heard back and they cannot get the CD!

It's a big time Bummer

I sure wish that Toshiba was more like Canada Toshiba and you could download it.

My player is getting a bit flaky now too.

If anyone here has one I sure would appreciate getting a copy or an iso of it.
I run a ftp server could move it that way or via Std old mail.
I would gladly pay shipping
W8WCA is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 04-11-2015, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
Well I heard back and they cannot get the CD!

It's a big time Bummer

I sure wish that Toshiba was more like Canada Toshiba and you could download it.

My player is getting a bit flaky now too.

If anyone here has one I sure would appreciate getting a copy or an iso of it.
I run a ftp server could move it that way or via Std old mail.
I would gladly pay shipping

charlie.alexander at gmail.com
W8WCA is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 04-15-2015, 12:03 AM
Member
 
Willie G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by W8WCA View Post
Well I heard back and they cannot get the CD!
Sorry to hear that. My XS drive is now gone. I'm going to have to replace it! Lost all of the recordings on it! Some I hadn't seen!

-Willie
Willie G. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off