Downloading and or burning movies from DirecTV box to external hard drive or discs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 11-30-2012, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sipsey Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it possible to burn recorded programs from a DirecTV box directly to a disc? Or do I need to figure out a way to move that content to an external HD and use desktop burner? What I prefer is a BlueRay player/burner that I can just hook up directly to the DirecTV box and record the content.
Sipsey Bandit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 11-30-2012, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
willieconway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipsey Bandit View Post

Is it possible to burn recorded programs from a DirecTV box directly to a disc? Or do I need to figure out a way to move that content to an external HD and use desktop burner? What I prefer is a BlueRay player/burner that I can just hook up directly to the DirecTV box and record the content.

And this is related to plasma displays how?

Adjusting settings according to personal preference is not calibration.

Epson 5030UB, 100" Carada Criterion with Classic Cinema White, Denon AVR 1713, NHT Classic Twos, NHT Absolute Center, NHT SuperZeros, Oppo 103D
willieconway is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 11-30-2012, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieconway View Post

And this is related to plasma displays how?

I asked the moderators to move to the appropriate forum

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 11-30-2012, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have a disc recorder that can accept the component video output of the DVR, it should work. Do such exist? There is no known method of "extracting" recordings from the DirecTV DVRs.

Steve
stevel is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 11-30-2012, 02:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipsey Bandit View Post

Is it possible to burn recorded programs from a DirecTV box directly to a disc? Or do I need to figure out a way to move that content to an external HD and use desktop burner? What I prefer is a BlueRay player/burner that I can just hook up directly to the DirecTV box and record the content.
Do you want your recordings to be in SD/2.0 or HD/5.1. If SD is OK, there are several threads in this forum that discuss using DVD recorders hooked up to the STB/DVR outputs. You can use a DVD recorder to edit the content and burn to DVD-R.

For HD/5.1 you will need a PC and either a Hauppauge 1212 or Hauppauge Colossus which hook up to the DVR's component video outputs and optical digital audio output. The recording will be on the PC in H.264/AVC format ready for editing and burning to BD-R. There is no stand-alone BD-R recorder on the US market and probably never will be.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 11-30-2012, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sipsey Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you
Sipsey Bandit is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 11-30-2012, 11:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
crabboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You should have no problem copying (in real time) to (most) DVD recorders. I use DVD rewriteables, then edit the content on my computer using TMPGEnc software. I then burn the results to blank discs.
However, your copies will be in SD. Also, depending on the recorder, you may deal with "copy once" or "copy never" flags. i understand that Sony machines are the worst offenders. I use Panasonic DVD recorders and have no problems. i do not have HBO or any "premium" channels, so that may be different.

In space, no one can eat ice cream - Killer Klowns From Outer Space
crabboy is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 12-10-2012, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sipsey Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I want to either download the recorded content from my DVR to a pc and then be able to record to discs or record directly to discs from DVR. Prefer to not lose quality of picture or sound (1080/5.1). Is Hauppauge the only solution?
Sipsey Bandit is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 12-11-2012, 01:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Cyclone82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Possibly Black Magic intensity shuttle would work aswell. Just google that one up.
Cyclone82 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 12-18-2012, 01:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sipsey Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So which one do you think is better? Hauppauge 1212 or Hauppauge Colossus
Sipsey Bandit is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 12-18-2012, 11:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 427
They both produce the same output recording from the component outputs of the DVR, it just depends on what type of hardware connectivity you want. In either case the transfer from the DVR is going to be real time. You have to "play" the DVR capture into the recording device -- there is no other way.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 12-20-2012, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sipsey Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That sucks! I want to just transfer the content not record in real time. That will take forever!
Sipsey Bandit is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 12-20-2012, 10:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipsey Bandit View Post

That sucks! I want to just transfer the content not record in real time. That will take forever!
That is the reality for getting content off any satellite or cable supplied DVR. There is no way other than to play the content and capture it in real time. If you had cable or were OTA then I would say to get a TiVo which allows high-speed network transfers of recorded content to PC in standard MPEG-2 format.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 12-23-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipsey Bandit View Post

That sucks! I want to just transfer the content not record in real time. That will take forever!

While essentially true, I have made it a practice to start recording just before going to bed, and letting it continue until completed. If I am behind, I can do the same thing in the morning and then go to work. Yes, it's still realtime, but it's pretty effective. With my DirecTV DVR, I can save a number of shows in a folder and then play back the entire folder. After that it finished, I can separate them into individual episodes and copy them to optical media as individual episodes or titles..

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 01-04-2013, 11:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Sipsey Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wil this one work well http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-1212-Definition-Personal-Recorder/dp/B0018LX0DY
Any issues known with that model?
Sipsey Bandit is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 01-05-2013, 01:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipsey Bandit View Post

Wil this one work well http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-1212-Definition-Personal-Recorder/dp/B0018LX0DY
Any issues known with that model?
Yes, of course. I thought we answered all this for you already.
You still have to play the recording in real time to get it off the DVR.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 01-05-2013, 11:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipsey Bandit View Post

That sucks! I want to just transfer the content not record in real time. That will take forever!

The way cable/sat DVRs record to their hard disks makes the content indecipherable unless it's played back on the box (TiVo is an exception.) Even if you could move the files there is no way to make heads or tails of the resulting mess on your computer. Church AV Guy said it best. Set it to record while you're asleep or doing something else.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 03-20-2013, 10:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is of course not entirely true. You CAN archive directly but it isn't an easy process and only works with some Dish/Bell equipment, not DTV. Check the Yahoo groups if interested...
Doug O is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off