Panasonic DMR-ES20 - image sized wrong, top and bottom cut off - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-15-2013, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
permutations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Panasonic DMR-ES20 isn't playing nicely with my 16x9 HDTV. It appears to think that the TV has a 4x3 aspect ratio, no matter what I tell it in Setup, and the tops and bottoms of everything is cut off. It's fitting the width of the picture to my TV screen, and since I have a widescreen TV, the 4x3 image is too tall. This goes for the Setup screen itself. I can't even see the label for the last item in Setup, which is where you set the TV screen aspect ratio and display options.

This is very annoying to me, and I don't know how to fix it. Is it a bug in the DMR-ES20, or is my DVD Recorder faulty? I did some test recordings from a VHS tape, finalized the disk, and played it in my Blu-ray player. The Blu-ray player correct displayed the 4x3 picture with black bars on the sides. (The resolution was dreadful, but that's because my VHS machine has only component output.)

Any ideas how to fix the picture size problem? I tried changing the TV aspect ratio setting to 4x3, but that didn't fix it. None of the TV display settings seem to have any effect.
permutations is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-16-2013, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 52
This sounds very much like a TV setting, and not a DVD recorder setting. I wouldlook into what display mode you are using for that input. It's likely on stretch or expand.

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-16-2013, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Also if recording from a line output device(STB, DVR, etc.) I suspect that, plug whatever your recording from directly into your TV, WYSIWYG. No settings that I know of(on your model DVDR) that would effect recording in that manner, only playback.
jjeff is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-16-2013, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
permutations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're right - it's the TV! I thought I'd checked that, but it turns out that depending on what I'm looking at, the television has a different display setting. When I was looking at the DVD input, it was on a Zoom setting for some reason. When it was receiving cable STB input, it was on a different display setting. I didn't even know it did that.

Thanks!
permutations is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off