Mag 537 Finalized TY Discs Not Recognized By Other Players - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 01-18-2013, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just bought the Magnavox MDR-537, and, though I’ve been using two Pioneer DVR-520s for the past eight years or so and haven’t been back to the forum in that time, I’ve recently tried to catch up on pertinent information regarding the Magnavox units in the Massive Thread. The information in that thread has been helpful, particularly regarding differences between the Magnavox and Pioneer units, but I’ve encountered an issue now that I haven’t found addressed in the thread or in the 537 manual.

I’ve experienced no problems with recording, dubbing or finalizing, yet the finalized discs (TY Premium/GG000338/-R, x8/Supermedia) are recognized only in the Magnavox unit. The Magnavox identifies the discs as DVD-R and as Finalized. When I place the same finalized discs in one of my DVD players, they initially seem to be loading, and, then… nothing. There are no problem disc messages; it’s just as if the discs are not there at all… no response to any command. My computer drive recognizes the discs as blank and asks how to proceed. Also, as a test, I dubbed some titles onto a DVD–RW and finalized it; the result was exactly the same as with the DVD-R finalized discs.

I really don’t want to return the unit, as I’ve already placed a lot of material on the HDD, so any help or insight on this issue would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 01-18-2013, 05:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131

What method or menu did you Finalize the discs with, and same for how you identified them as "DVD-R and Finalized"?

When you load a -R disc, there will be "nothing" until you physically select the DVD drive and press a "Disc Menu" button.

post #3 of 4 Old 01-18-2013, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter

Quoted: 0 Post(s)