Poor Quality Picture with my new Magnavox MDR533H - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 47 Old 02-07-2013, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm a newbie and have searched the forum but couldn't find an answer that I hope you can answer. I bought a Magnavox DVD/DVR Mod. 533H and IF it's defective I need to bring it back to the store before my deadline in a few days.

OK, The problem: I have a Visio 50" Plasma with a crystal clear picture, so clear it's scary when I can see every hair and blemish on someones face! Lol. I had Directv and now free TV with an OTA antenna which is much clearer than my old satellite.

I installed it just as the manual said and completed the initial set up and even recorded a couple programs. When I hook it up the picture looks like it did years ago before digital and pixally and only receive only 4,5 out of 15. I first used the HDMI, then AV, and still a bad picture. I called tech support twice and they can't help. So it is disconnected now and the antenna is connected straight to the TV...with an excellent picture. It's like it takes away from the signal strength when I hook up the DVR.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Tony
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 Old 02-07-2013, 09:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132

Here's the advice I've given via PM already for ref.

If you've got the antenna coax in the ANT IN connector on top and coax from the ANT OUT to the TV, and the Mag is plugged into power continuously (not on a switched power strip), the Mag should be slightly amplifying the signal for a "better" pic than without the Mag.

You should also have connected a line output from the Mag to the plasma to see menus, Mag channels, recorded titles, etc., and you indicated you did that.