Goodwill Philips dvdr3575h/37 for $20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 02-17-2013, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hit 2 Goodwills yesterday looking for an espresso maker and ended up finding a dvdr3575h/37 for $20 with a 10 day warranty. It had a dent in top but the lady said that it powered up.

I took it home and it came on just fine. I put in a DVD-R that had a movie on it and it started playing just fine. Unfortunately I have no remote and can't test anything other than DVD playing.

I took an old Uverse remote and found a Philips DVD code that worked for basic DVD control.

It has a Seagate 160GB drive in that that sounds good, so I've decided to order a used OEM remote from Amazon.

Is there anything I can test without having the real remote? If I press the info button on the Uverse I get a drop down menu with just information and the ability to change language while playing a movie.

Is there any way to test recording at all without the remote? The last person that owned it left it tuned to 11.1 which is the local CBS station, but reception is so poor here, I was never even able to get digital stations to stick on my digital TV or the separate decoder box I bought.

Years ago I had a Panasonic DVD recorder that was great but failed after a few years of really not ever using it more than about 20 times to record DVDs. It was a DMR ES something with the SD slot on the front. The main reason I got that recorder was the DVD-RAM ability for on the fly recording and pseudo DVR functionality.
Stonent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 02-17-2013, 12:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132

There are STOP, PLAY and RECORD buttons above the door on the right side. If you have any other Funai-manufactured devices, like other Magnavox, late-model Toshiba, Sylvania, Emerson, Symphonic, those remotes might be able to operate it.

wajo is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 02-17-2013, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Aren't there still new remotes for that model out there on "replacement remote" websites?

I'm going looking for one.


EDIT:

Found it, first attempt.

$34, ships in one day.


http://www.replacementremotes.com/PHILIPS/Buy-NB526UD-996510003026-DVD-Recorder-DVDR-Remote-Control.html
gastrof is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 02-17-2013, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stonent is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 02-17-2013, 08:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
wajo is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 02-18-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
No need to pay more for the remote than the player. And no need to order one either. A $20 harmony 200 from your local radio shack will do every function, as will a $10 RCA RCRB05BR from most anywhere. If you have cable TV, that remote will also do every function with a little programming. HERE are the codes for all functions. You can put any function on any button. Using shifted buttons, there's plenty of room for all functions.
mdavej is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 02-18-2013, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the uverse remote that I had only controls the player functions. It doesn't have a way to do any of the other functions.
Stonent is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 02-18-2013, 05:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132

If you're considering a non-OEM remote, here's a help file on a $15 Philips universal learning remote that I know works very nicely with the Philips and Mag HDD/DVD recorders. Used to be found in Walmart stores and is available on Amazon.com... same or similar in the series are probably at other B&M stores as well.

wajo is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 02-18-2013, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I've got an original remote on the way, should have by the end of the week.
Stonent is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 02-26-2013, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the remote, everything seems to be working. The HD was full of random stuff, it started playing the Cleveland Show when I started it. The drive was completely full. Looks like recordings from 1/2012 through 3/2012.

I erased everything and set it to record a show for my wife and this thing can pull in stations that my TV and two set top boxes can't, the tuner in it is really good. I'm really impressed so far!
Stonent is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 02-26-2013, 11:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Glad to hear it. You two are gonna have such a great time with that machine... smile.gif



By the way, did you find an instruction manual anywhere? The current machines aren't that different. Even one of theirs might do, in a pinch.
gastrof is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 03-02-2013, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stonent is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 03-22-2013, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
leaseaguest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey there. If you can't do anything with that in your area, I'll buy it off of you for $20 plus shipping. leaseaguest@hotmail.com
leaseaguest is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 03-23-2013, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, it works fine. Except for that damned macrovision detection preventing me from converting old tapes to DVD.
Stonent is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 03-23-2013, 10:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stonent View Post

No, it works fine. Except for that damned macrovision detection preventing me from converting old tapes to DVD.

 

A $26 MCM Video Stabilizer should take care of that problem.

wajo is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off