Pan.EH-55,59--Tivo--Netflix - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I play Netflix on my Tivo, can I record it to my Pan. in some way?
jasta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,814
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Unless it has CP(in which case you'd need a filter) you should be able to record from the Tivos line output(composite or S-video) to your Panasonics line input. The cheapest filter in this case would be a component to S-video converter, <$40 for a Lenkeng clone from Monoprice.
jjeff is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-20-2013, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
jasta is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-20-2013, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
jasta is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-12-2013, 12:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I do the the same thing with the line inputs on a computer?
jasta is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-12-2013, 05:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 357
You would need to make the PC into a video recorder which means adding a video capture device like a Hauppauge 1215 or Colossus. The capture device has the AV inputs. The proviso that jjeff stated about copy protection and the need to have an extra device to bypass it still holds.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-13-2013, 02:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Netflix installs something called Silverlight on your computer, which blocks you from recording the streaming video. Would that also block the Panasonic DVD recorder?
jasta is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-13-2013, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Don't know.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-13-2013, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,814
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I don't know for sure either but I doubt you'd have a problem, if on the chance you did get a CP warning a video filter would easily take care of it(although I doubt it would be CP'd and even if it was I doubt the CP would make it through a VGA to S-video converter that would be required to record it on your Panasonic).
jjeff is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-27-2013, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Do you know of any computers that already have a video capture device? If so, which ones? If not, how do you install such a device?
jasta is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off