Burning baseball games from DVR onto DVD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 04-05-2013, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to this stuff so please bare with me. I am a NCAA baseball umpire and often DVR the games I officiate that are shown on the Big Ten Network, ESPN U, etc. I have AT & T Uverse DVR and/or Comcast Cable provided DVR and wondering what is the best way to transfer one of my recorded games from my AT & T/Comcast cable provided DVR to a DVD Disk so it can be viewed on a standard DVD player and/or computer. Not sure if it matters but I have an Hi Def TV that uses an HDMI connection to my DVR. When I record my games, I DVR them using the HD channels (ie ESPN HD, BTN HD) to get the best picture quality. Any advice on what DVD recorder to buy and what type of DVD discs to use (RW+/-?). Any help would be greatly appreciated - thanks!!!

Ump #27
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-05-2013, 09:23 AM
AVS Club Gold

Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 136

It sounds like one of the new Magnavox HDD/DVD recorders would do a good job. Click 1st link in my sig. for details.

You could copy games from your DVR to the Mag's HDD, analyze it there for "close calls", etc. then dub to DVD if desired using high-speed dub (HSD) for no loss in quality. Analyzing action on a HDD is much better than on a DVD since it's much smoother and faster on the HDD original, so single-frame moves are clean and predictable as far as movement goes. Do-able on a DVD but slower response times.

post #3 of 15 Old 04-06-2013, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter