A few questions about the 535H - record OTA 16:(? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-16-2013, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zaax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Panasonic DMR-EZ458 is failing and I need a replacement soon. A local dealer has the 1T version of the MDR-535H on sale for $300 and it looks like one of the very few devices that I can replace my Panasonic with so I have a few questions.
I probably record 50% from cable and 50% OTA mainly PBS. Can the Maganovox record OTA with no issues? Also does it record 16:9? I do not have a HD box from Comcast so I am not concerned about 16:9 right now.
BTW I have one of those devices from the vendor in Israel that lets you defeat the CP flag that Comcast uses. Does one need to use it with the Maganvox?
Sorry if these questions have been asked before but this if you search for anything on this thread you will get a lot of hits to sort through.

Zack
N8FNR
zaax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-16-2013, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjbawc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All DVDRs record the signal they are sent. The Maggies have an ATSC tuner that will produce an anamorphic widescreen picture, when recording from an HD channel on that tuner. That means that the 16x9 image is squeezed into the 4x3 frame that all SD DVDRs use. You then stretch that with your TV, during playback. Since most cable boxes, from most cable and sat. suppliers don't send anamorphic 16x9 signals out over S-Video and composite outputs, you would need a converter, say component>S-Video, to get an anamorphic signal from them. BTW, Comcast doesn't use copy protection on anything, as far as I can tell. I've recorded directly from Comcast, for many years, premium channels, OnDemand, everything, and never had a problem. There have been some reports of a channel here and there having CP, but this was accidentally inserted by a local head-end, and eventually removed.
kjbawc is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-21-2013, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zaax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought a MDR537Hh to replace my failing Panasonic DMR-EZ485V. Man, I loved that recorder (sigh).
Anyways, I hooked up the Magnavox and all seems well except I cannot get it to display 4X3 stuff that was that was recorded from Comcast. Only will play stretched. Tried everything that I could think of using the settings in the recorder, the TV and the cable box. The TV is a Sony KDL-46VE5 and the cable box is a Comcast RNG110.

Is there some trick to doing this or am I stuck watching stretched video which I despise.

Zack
zaax is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-21-2013, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Two points:

Comcast most certainly does use copy protection...on certain channels.

As mentioned above, it's your TV's settings that take the recorded picture and make it look the way it should.

My guess is you recorded a channel with black bars on the top and bottom, and you're trying to get it to display just the widescreen portion on a widescren TV.

Correct?

You need to set the TV for "zoom".

If the recording was true 4x3, no black bars, you set the TV however you would when receiving a 4x3 broadcast. Again, use whatever "zoom" or display setting ON THE TV that will display a 4x3 picture with black bars ON THE SIDES.
gastrof is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-21-2013, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Nocturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaax View Post

Anyways, I hooked up the Magnavox and all seems well except I cannot get it to display 4X3 stuff that was that was recorded from Comcast. Only will play stretched.

If you have the Magnavox connected via HDMI, it will only display 4x3 content properly if the HDMI output is set to 480p. Use the HDMI button on the remote to cycle through the different output resolutions. That's how it works with the older Magnavox models, anyway.
Nocturnal is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-23-2013, 03:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zaax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal View Post

If you have the Magnavox connected via HDMI, it will only display 4x3 content properly if the HDMI output is set to 480p. Use the HDMI button on the remote to cycle through the different output resolutions. That's how it works with the older Magnavox models, anyway.

Thanks! That works and now I spending time getting to know how to edit on the Maganvov.
The reply was greatly appreciated.
zaax is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off