magnavox MDR535 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-18-2013, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Magnavox MDR535 recorder. The channels are set up correctly. I can't figure out why some of the timers record on the correct channel, but then other times (same timer weekly programmed) and records the wrong channel. It is extremely frustrating. Anyone have any ideas or have experienced the same thing and a fix?.
tgirl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-19-2013, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here we go again, I have a show programmed from 1:00pm to 2:00pm M-F Went to watch it..the show recorded was from 12:00pm to 1:00pm. This is nutz
tgirl is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-19-2013, 02:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,257
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Couple of thoughts, does your cable system use SDV? If so that could explain the wrong thing being recorded, also are you using auto-clock set? It's possible you are getting an incorrect time signal causing your events to record at the wrong time.
jjeff is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-19-2013, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just have OTA no cable or satellite connected. I checked the time and it is correct, it was recording fine and then it arbitrarily decides to do a different channel at the correct time or a different program right channel for a different program... very confusing. This just started. The auto clock was off
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

Couple of thoughts, does your cable system use SDV? If so that could explain the wrong thing being recorded, also are you using auto-clock set? It's possible you are getting an incorrect time signal causing your events to record at the wrong time.
tgirl is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-19-2013, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Are you trying to record from sub channels? I don't know maybe X.1, X.5, etc?

I had that issue everytime with my LG recorder, but not with my Maggys.

Also we need to know where are your 535, since you're doing OTA and not Sat/Cable.
profhat is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-19-2013, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,257
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgirl View Post

I just have OTA no cable or satellite connected. I checked the time and it is correct, it was recording fine and then it arbitrarily decides to do a different channel at the correct time or a different program right channel for a different program... very confusing. This just started. The auto clock was off
I agree, very confusing. When you said it just started, how long had you been recording with no issues? Even stranger if it use to work for several weeks and now just out of the blue your having these issues confused.gif
It might be worth it to try and reset your unit(I'm sure Wajos sticky thread would have info on how to do this) sometimes a cold boot can cure odd issues.....
jjeff is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-20-2013, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
channels that are only available like 4.1, 7.1 ,14.1 , etc. what do you mean where are your 535?
Quote:
Originally Posted by profhat View Post

Are you trying to record from sub channels? I don't know maybe X.1, X.5, etc?

I had that issue everytime with my LG recorder, but not with my Maggys.

Also we need to know where are your 535, since you're doing OTA and not Sat/Cable.
tgirl is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-20-2013, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had it approx 1 month with no problems...it just started. I will try to reset the unit....
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

I agree, very confusing. When you said it just started, how long had you been recording with no issues? Even stranger if it use to work for several weeks and now just out of the blue your having these issues confused.gif
It might be worth it to try and reset your unit(I'm sure Wajos sticky thread would have info on how to do this) sometimes a cold boot can cure odd issues.....
tgirl is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-20-2013, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgirl View Post

channels that are only available like 4.1, 7.1 ,14.1 , etc. what do you mean where are your 535?

Well, it's not a subchannel issue, like wihen using the Clear QAM tuner (Digital Cable). I mean where is located your 535 (I forgot you only have one), maybe the problem was generated for a strange network signal.

In any case the reset should work.
profhat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off