DVD/VCR recorder hookup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 03:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jammers10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to know how to hook up a DVD/VCR recorder to my home theater system. The unit has no tuner. I have a Yamaha A/V receiver,blu-ray player and HD cable box. The cable box and blu-ray player are connected to the receiver with HDMI cables and the receiver is connected to the HDTV with a HDMI cable. How do i connect this unit so it can record?
Jammers10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Your DVD recorder can only record from it's SD line inputs so you need to take the composite(or S-video outputs) from the device your trying to record(along with L&R audio) and run that directly to your recorder. Note that some HD cable boxes disable SD outputs if using HDMI output and most letterbox the SD output so you won't be betting full screen 16:9 recordings.
jjeff is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jammers10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i would run a composite yellow,white and red cable from the cable box output to the DVD recorder imput?
Jammers10 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jammers10 View Post

So i would run a composite yellow,white and red cable from the cable box output to the DVD recorder imput?
That is generally how it is done but as jjeff noted, the output signal may be letterboxed or the cable box may shut off the composite output if the HDMI is connected. But in your case you should try a little experiment first. Your cable box goes into your AVR via HDMI. Connect your DVD recorder to the composite (yellow, white, red) output of your Yamaha and see what you get.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jammers10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would that be just one set of composite cables from the DVD recorder to the Yamaha receiver?
Jammers10 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jammers10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

That is generally how it is done but as jjeff noted, the output signal may be letterboxed or the cable box may shut off the composite output if the HDMI is connected. But in your case you should try a little experiment first. Your cable box goes into your AVR via HDMI. Connect your DVD recorder to the composite (yellow, white, red) output of your Yamaha and see what you get.
You think connecting the DVD recorder to AV receiver would work as well as connecting it to the cable box?
Jammers10 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jammers10 View Post

You think connecting the DVD recorder to AV receiver would work as well as connecting it to the cable box?

If the receiver outputs over composite as well as HDMI outputs when receiving a signal from an HDMI input. I don't know if your receiver does this (or if any do), but some have a "monitor out" with composite. It would help to know the Yamaha's model number.

Alternatively, you could hook up directly to the cable box, but as jjeff stated, your box may disable composite output if HDMI is hooked up. Might want to test it first.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-25-2013, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jammers10 View Post

You think connecting the DVD recorder to AV receiver would work as well as connecting it to the cable box?
That is what the experiment is for. To see if you get output from the Yamaha and whether or not it is letter-boxed. It may give you an option if the cable box doesn't cooperate.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off