HELP! Can't preset channels now on my Magnavox NB820 DVD Recorder / DVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 08-01-2013, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I'm a newbie here and I need some help.

A couple of weeks ago, during a thunderstorm, my Magnavox NB820 DVD recorder got zapped.

At first, it was non-functional, save for the clock display on the front. I unplugged the unit for a day, plugged it back in and to my relief, the DVD player was fully functional and my recorded TV programs were still on the hard drive and watchable.

However, I have not been able to preset channels on the unit since then. The manual was no help and I want to exhaust all possiblities to get the channels preset before throwing up my hands and buying a new unit.

Is there something I can do to get the channels preset so I can record shows again?eek.gif

Any help is much appreciated,
Chris
CBK9001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 08-01-2013, 03:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131

Do a Soft Reset, as described here, and see if that helps.

wajo is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 08-01-2013, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will give it a try. Thanks.
CBK9001 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 08-01-2013, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe a "hard reset" may be a better option, as my DVD and recorded program functions work fine. But I do not see a "skip" button on my magnavox remote. There is a "V skip" button...
CBK9001 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 08-01-2013, 05:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
wajo is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 08-01-2013, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do I press the buttons in sequence once powered up, or do I have to hold them all down at the same time?
CBK9001 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 08-01-2013, 06:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
wajo is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 08-02-2013, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did the hard reset per the instructions. Unit is same as before: DVD and recorded programs work fine, but I can't get it to preset the channels. Ran through the preset sequence and...nada.

Is there anything else I can try or am I going to have to get a new recorder?
CBK9001 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 08-02-2013, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131

As a last resort, disconnect both coax cables from the recorder and do an Auto Channel Preset with coax off to clear any channel memory or stray lightning bolts.

 

Then, reconnect coax cables and do a normal Auto Channel Preset.

wajo is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-03-2013, 05:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131

If no joy from the Auto Channel Presets described in my post above, which you should try first, the ultimate resort would be to reload the FW, but only if your unit is a 513 model. The "NB820" you mentioned is the model # of the OEM remote for the 2160, 2160A and 513... you haven't mentioned the model # of your recorder yet.

 

The FW instructions for the 513 are here.

 

That FW procedure will allow you to upload the 02C FW for the tuner, which *could* have been zapped by the lightning strike, as well as the appropriate BE FW for your specific recorder model and its current BE FW version, I'd upload them both.

wajo is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 08-03-2013, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I'll look into that. Appreciate all your input.
CBK9001 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 08-03-2013, 06:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
wajo is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-20-2013, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

What your unit's model number?

H2160MW9
CBK9001 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 08-20-2013, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBK9001 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

What your unit's model number?

H2160MW9

 

There are no FW updates for the 2160. Make sure you have a 2160 and not a 2160A... 2160 will have mfg date in 2008, 2160A in 2009, on back tag of unit.

 

If you can't tell for some reason, you'll have to check the FW Versions installed and compare to the 2160/2160A "Model" dates as described here.

2160 Model is E2M01UD

2160A Model is E2S00UD

 

There have been no user-downloadable FW updates for the 2160, only OEM FW which we have no access to.

wajo is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 08-21-2013, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like I am out of options and will have to bite the bullet and buy a new DVD recorder. Is there a comparable current model out there that does what mine does?

Basically, looking for one that has a hard drive to record programs to and can burn DVDs as well.

Any input would be appreciated.
CBK9001 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 08-21-2013, 02:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131

New Mag units are the 53x Series, as described here.

 

Links to sellers and other stuff in Section 11 of list on pg 1 of my Sticky thread... click on 1st link in my sig. line below.

wajo is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 08-22-2013, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CBK9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!
CBK9001 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off