Using an antenna and cable/satellite. - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-11-2013, 11:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirayge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, IL 62521-1529
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When we switched to ATSC in the United States I realized, "Hey, there is no VHF low in most areas. Certainly not here." So I put a two port splitter backwards (combiner) on my antenna feed and hooked up a cable box to the other side on NTSC channel 4. We once had a channel 3 and old habits die hard! So now on my Magnavox recorders I get all the OTA channels and a virtual OTA which is actually cable. I have two shows I record on AMC weekly that we may not be present/coherent enough to watch, so it works out perfectly. The one thing that could be a problem is that cable bleeds back into the antenna system. I use a preamp on my antenna and don't believe it is being radiated back to the neighbors. Has anybody else tried this?
mirayge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-12-2013, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,641
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I was told early on by people that should know, that this would not work, or at best would work very poorly with crosstalk and multi channel harmonic interference. That's why they make video mixing amplifiers (I was told). I never tried it because of this advice. I am glad it's working for you, and another assumption bites the dust. I LOVE it when that happens. biggrin.gif

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-12-2013, 01:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirayge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, IL 62521-1529
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't want to cause problems for Comcast and just assume that their cable boxes and digital adapters wouldn't bleed OTA back into cable, and my antenna preamp would block any interference. Now you could hook things up completely wrong and broadcast cable to your neighbors if you didn't know.
mirayge is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-12-2013, 02:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mirayge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, IL 62521-1529
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What they were saying is QAM and ATSC don't mix because they share the same frequencies. However, the low quality output over rf is only on channel 3 or 4. You need a converter in between.
mirayge is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-12-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,559
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 486
Yes, I have done essentially the same thing you are doing without issue. In my case, I was feeding OTA plus the RF out from my sat box on channel 3, combined with a backward splitter on the same coax. So I had all my OTA channels plus everything on sat on channel 3.

I have since abandoned that and come up with a much better solution, but it involves a PC.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off