Magnavox MDR535H - MDR535H/F7 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never performed the SKIP013 so I am going to give that a try. My logic was the disk drive works great meaning that the operating system was ok. I believe you are steering me to continue testing and not throw money at a new hard drive which may not fix my problem. The SKIP079 showed no problem with the DVD or hard drive.
Ron365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 10:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Look at my last post and try those suggestions first... SKIP 013 takes a long time to complete, without any ongoing feedback until media check is done (the entire disk surfaces).
wajo is offline  
post #63 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too late. I have already started this program. So far everything is passing at least the first three milestones.
Ron365 is offline  
post #64 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In looking at this problem again, again. It may not be a disk problem but an operational problem. What tells the HDD to turn on? Should be the timer. I was under the assumption that what turns the HDD on is the same as what turns on the DVD to record. If the operational system is currup that turns the HDD on. How can this be repaired. You would think that this is a software program?
Ron365 is offline  
post #65 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 11:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Do these things first for more data points:

1. Select the HDD drive then press REC to see if will record to the HDD manually.

2. Set up a timer program for recording to a DVD, don't insert a DVD, and let it record (hopefully) to the HDD (alternate auto-switch recording function). You only need a 1-minute timer for this.
wajo is offline  
post #66 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 11:10 AM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Magnavox just finish the SKIP 013 test. All passed. But, this of course does not fix my problem or does it? If doing the factory test exercise the HDD maybe I should go back and try to use the HDD again. I will do as you suggested and do a manual record and check the alternate auto-switch recording function.
Ron365 is offline  
post #67 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
HDD mechanics and electronics all OK, so we're narrowing it down to .... ?
wajo is offline  
post #68 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It passed the manual recording no problem. I did as you requested in putting in a time recording for the DVD without placing the DVD in the tray. We have to wait as at first the time recording wanted me to place a disk in the tray. I had to alternate the time a little in the future to allow for the time recording.
Ron365 is offline  
post #69 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Works as advertised. Automatically switched to the hard drive. So where do we go from here. The hard drive is unreliable for time recordings. Yet, it test out ok. This would mean putting in a new hard drive would not fix my problem? As it is a timer problem? But, how come the removable disk continues to work without any problems?
Ron365 is offline  
post #70 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Now, do a manual-timed recording to the HDD on HQ rec mode for max. hours allowed... press REC multiple times until the time shown on screen = 6 hours. Do that again if you've been recording and deleting for awhile, until you get enough hours recorded that you think the recordings are all on NEW HDD sectors. (You can Edit - Protect those long HQ titles if you think someone might delete them too soon, before more tests.)

Then, set some "normal" timers for a few shows (as many as will test its timer recording ops now) and see if/how it works with your most-used HDD sectors "out of action" with those manual HQ recordings.

Last edited by wajo; 07-25-2014 at 02:00 PM.
wajo is offline  
post #71 of 82 Old 07-25-2014, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. This will take me awhile to do. Have a nice weekend.

Ron
Ron365 is offline  
post #72 of 82 Old 07-26-2014, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recorded with no problem. I am going to put my regular schedule to the hard drive instead of the removal disk for Monday. I am hoping that the factory reset SKIP013 did the repair and that everything is working properly now.
Ron365 is offline  
post #73 of 82 Old 07-26-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
I hope you left those test titles on the HDD so they are isolating the most-used sectors and they won't come into play again!

Keep them in place for a long while.
wajo is offline  
post #74 of 82 Old 07-27-2014, 10:46 AM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the help. I will let you know if it works.

Ron
Ron365 is offline  
post #75 of 82 Old 07-27-2014, 03:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
While still fresh in your mind, how long did the SKIP 013 test take on your 533?
wajo is offline  
post #76 of 82 Old 07-27-2014, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
profhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Bah, wrong place.

Last edited by profhat; 07-31-2014 at 03:46 PM.
profhat is offline  
post #77 of 82 Old 07-28-2014, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick. It was less then an hour. To tell you the truth I started it then walked away. It recorded two shows this morning (Monday 7/28/2014) on two different channels, two different times with no problems. My fingers are crossed that it will continue to record correctly.
Ron365 is offline  
post #78 of 82 Old 07-28-2014, 12:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Great... hope it continues!

I'd like to know how long that SKIP 013 took on your 533 (for the help files).
wajo is offline  
post #79 of 82 Old 07-28-2014, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Magnavox MDR533 H?F7

Sorry about that. I did not record the time for the SKIP013. As I reply in the previous message, I started the SKIP013 and walked away. Went back approximately an hour and the display was flashing and unplugged per direction. If I repeat this procedure (SKIP013) I will record the time and get back to you.
Ron365 is offline  
post #80 of 82 Old 07-28-2014, 01:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Not important since it appears to take the same time as my older 160GB unit, even tho HDD is larger... CPU speed increased?
wajo is offline  
post #81 of 82 Old 07-28-2014, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Beyond me. I have been using my Toshiba DR570KU to back up my recordings. Glad to give it a rest now that the Magnavox 533 is working again.

Thanks again for all your help,

Ron
Ron365 is offline  
post #82 of 82 Old 11-04-2014, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Ron365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Magnavox E48 code MDR533H 320GB

My unit is giving E48 codes again. I was recording just one show and the E48 code (can not recorder to this HDD ) was displayed. I still believe I have a bad hard drive in this unit. In the past, we did SKIP 079 AND SKIP 013 which did it working again. For the last couple of weeks I have been using the removable disk to make all of my recording and it has worked without failure. The removable is slower but I am happy that I still can record with this unit.
Ron365 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off