dmr-es10 large border around screen - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2014, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a dmr-es10 connected via coax cable to Time-Warner. When I record a program on a DVD-RAM it records in the proper aspect ration of 16:9 but there are large borders around the image. When I play back on a TV I have to change the TV settings to fill the screen. Any ideas on how to get it to record without having those borders around the image?

chapan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2014, 03:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 885 Post(s)
Liked: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapan View Post

I have a dmr-es10 connected via coax cable to Time-Warner.
Please define this.
Do you have the cable from the wall going into the Rf in on the back of the ES10? Or do you have a cable from the Rf out of the cable box into the Rf in of the ES10

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 02-02-2014, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the cable from the wall directly into the ES10.
chapan is offline  
Old 02-03-2014, 05:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,204
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 124

It sounds like your recording from the analog channels which may very well be of the postage stamp aspect(4x3 and letterboxed). As you said you can zoom this image to fill your screen in proper aspect ratio but the picture quality will suffer. Nothing you can do about this if this is the way the channels are broadcast on your cable system. If you got a HD cable box more than likely it would be full screen 16:9 but that wouldn't really help your recording issue, only viewing via HDMI or component.

jjeff is offline  
Old 02-04-2014, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

When I connect the same cable to a TV it looks exactly the same, so it is not a dmr-es10 issue.

chapan is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off