dmr-es10 large border around screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-02-2014, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a dmr-es10 connected via coax cable to Time-Warner. When I record a program on a DVD-RAM it records in the proper aspect ration of 16:9 but there are large borders around the image. When I play back on a TV I have to change the TV settings to fill the screen. Any ideas on how to get it to record without having those borders around the image?

chapan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-02-2014, 03:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapan View Post

I have a dmr-es10 connected via coax cable to Time-Warner.
Please define this.
Do you have the cable from the wall going into the Rf in on the back of the ES10? Or do you have a cable from the Rf out of the cable box into the Rf in of the ES10

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-02-2014, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the cable from the wall directly into the ES10.
chapan is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-03-2014, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,872
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90

It sounds like your recording from the analog channels which may very well be of the postage stamp aspect(4x3 and letterboxed). As you said you can zoom this image to fill your screen in proper aspect ratio but the picture quality will suffer. Nothing you can do about this if this is the way the channels are broadcast on your cable system. If you got a HD cable box more than likely it would be full screen 16:9 but that wouldn't really help your recording issue, only viewing via HDMI or component.

jjeff is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-04-2014, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

When I connect the same cable to a TV it looks exactly the same, so it is not a dmr-es10 issue.

chapan is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off