HDMI Recording from a Roku 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2014, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pennsy357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I recently bought a Roku 3 and it only has HDMI out.  I want to be able to record movies for my own collection and not for resale or distribution.

 

Will this work?  Roku 1080p HDMI --> HDFury 3 --> 1080p component video --> MRV640 Magnavox DVD+R

 

The MRV640 DVD+R has component in for recording.  One of the very few DVDRs that exist.  Even though the source will be 1080p the DVDR will only record in 480p but I believe this will get me as close to a commercial grade DVD copy?  Again, it's for my own collection.  As for sound, I would go 3mm to RCA from the HDFury.  I know I'll loose 5.1/7.1 sound but it should still be Dolby Pro Logic stereo?  Correct?

 

Thoughts/opinions?  I already own a MRV640 and I'd only need the HDFury which can be purchased from the manufacturer in Thailand.   I have the op to buy a used HDFury 3 originally sold by CurtPalme.  What makes this a gray area is the HDCP handshaking by the HDFury hence the disclaimer in the first paragraph. 

 

I could also use this setup to copy and source with HDMI, like Bluray or DVD in addition to Roku.

 

I'm posting under the section because I'd like to know what kind of results I should expect from the DVD+R.

 

 

MRV640

 

[IMG]http://i58.tinypic.com/s4np7r.jpg[/IMG]

pennsy357 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,896
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 92

1st, doesn't the Ruku have composite output using a little 1/8" phono plug? I know it may sound better utilizing HD and utilizing the component inputs of one of the few rare DVDRs with component inputs but AFAIK all such DVDRs require 480i, not HD or even 480p, just 480i(the standard for DVD). Also from what I've read about such DVDRs is even though you'd think using component would give you better picture quality in reality it's no better than S-video and possibly worse because of the recording quality of the few machines with component inputs.

Personally I'd think you'd get better picture quality by using the composite output(again if the Ruku has it) and recording to a quality DVDR. S-video should give you a bit better quality than composite but AFAIK no media players support that format. If the Ruku has a option to output 480i(or the HD Fury can downconvert HD to 480i) your idea might work but again I'm very suspect your DVDR will accept anything other than 480i even to it's component inputs.

 

Also an issue with component/HDMI and composite is the N. American black level for component or HDMI is 0 while our recorders are looking for +7.5 IRE, I'm not sure what your Magnavox's component is looking for but if it's +7.5 IRE like the standard for our SD you'd have a black level mismatch resulting in either too dark or too light of a picture.

jjeff is online now  
Old 02-14-2014, 07:18 PM
Member
 
scoosdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the recorder's manual, you can only record in component interlaced, not progressive:

"The COMPONENT VIDEO Y PB PR In jacks are only used for 'interlaced' signals. Signals using progressive scan cannot be processed by the DVD recorder" (page 18, pdf page 30), manual is found here:

http://download.m4c.magnavox.com/files/m/mrv640_17b/mrv640_17b_dfu_aen.pdf

I see no indications at all from the specs or the manual that this recorder can handle anything other than a 480i component input. If you're thinking that it will down-convert your 1080 HD Fury signal to 480 somehow, I think you'll be disappointed.

I'm familiar with the HD Fury 3, and it can't output 1080p anyway, only 1080i. Devices that use HDCP have a 'permission excluded' list of prohibited devices burned into them and I'd also be concerned that since the Roku boxes post-date the HD Fury devices, that they're being shipped to prohibit an HDCP handshake with the HD Fury and it just won't work for that reason, too.
scoosdad is offline  
Old 02-14-2014, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

1st, doesn't the Ruku have composite output using a little 1/8" phono plug? I know it may sound better utilizing HD and utilizing the component inputs of one of the few rare DVDRs with component inputs but AFAIK all such DVDRs require 480i, not HD or even 480p, just 480i(the standard for DVD). Also from what I've read about such DVDRs is even though you'd think using component would give you better picture quality in reality it's no better than S-video and possibly worse because of the recording quality of the few machines with component inputs.
Personally I'd think you'd get better picture quality by using the composite output(again if the Ruku has it) and recording to a quality DVDR...

The Roku 3 is the recent model that has an HDMI output only.

I needed the capability of recording from an internet subscription network to a HDD/DVD recorder. I purchased a Roku 2XS that is ideal for this use in that it has a small output for use with the supplied composite adapter cable. There is also a HDMI output. Only one of these outputs is active at a time and the composite output is 4x3 full screen (not letterboxed) while the HDMI output provides 16x9. The 2XS offers wired or wireless internet connectivity. I use the Roku composite adapter cable connected to a set of composite inputs of a Panasonic DMR-EH50. I record between 15 and 35 hours of raw LP video per week. Then the material is edited down and high-speed dubbed to produce two or three archival master DVDs per week.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
Old 02-14-2014, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pennsy357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the replies!  Hmmm, so the DVDR MRV640 can only process 480i.   The Roku is likely 720/1080 only.  I also have a Toshiba DVR620 (VCR/DVDR combo) and it has S-vid input to record.  If the MRV640 will not record, I guess I can use the MRV640 as a component to S vid convertor and use the Toshiba DVR 620 to record DVDs instead. 

 

~~Roku 1080p HDMI --> HDFury 3 --> 1080p component video --> MRV640 Magnavox DVD+R --> Svid ---> Toshiba DVR620.

 

I know a lot of guys that will use a MRV640 or equiv DVD-R as a convertor only device instead of using the cigarette carton convertor type.

 

An alternative is:

 

~~Roku 1080p HDMI --> HDFury 3 --> 1080p component video --> Mitsubishi DLP HDTV (Diamond Series) --> composite video -->  DVD-R (MRV640 or DVR620). 

 

The record out on the DLP HDTV supposedly does not work with the component video on the rear of the TV (or the HDMIs) but the manual says it will record out on the component video on the front of the TV.  Whether it's just yellow or all three IDK yet.  The record out on the TV is composite vid though.

 

http://picturesvip3.kyozou.com/pictures/_18/17288/17287212.jpg

pennsy357 is offline  
Old 02-15-2014, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,896
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 92

What you've said will work but IMO you'd be better off just getting a media player that had native composite output(Ruku 2 or any of the WD media players which I believe all have composite or the Sony which I have). Again by the time you do all the converting your not going to get a better picture than just starting out with composite and going your route you also have the possibility of incorrect black level(probably too light).

Do what you want but I've tried doing what you are trying and finally settled on native 480i output, if your source is CP'd then just get something like a Grex(~$90 at Amazon) which removes CP and really doesn't effect picture quality that much(very minimal). Good luck!

jjeff is online now  
Old 02-15-2014, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pennsy357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the replies :) 

pennsy357 is offline  
Old 02-16-2014, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

What you've said will work but IMO you'd be better off just getting a media player that had native composite output(Ruku 2 or any of the WD media players which I believe all have composite or the Sony which I have). Again by the time you do all the converting your not going to get a better picture than just starting out with composite and going your route you also have the possibility of incorrect black level(probably too light).
Do what you want but I've tried doing what you are trying and finally settled on native 480i output, if your source is CP'd then just get something like a Grex(~$90 at Amazon) which removes CP and really doesn't effect picture quality that much(very minimal). Good luck!

You're right on the money, that's exactly the setup that I've been using with no problems at all. Roku 2 and Grex.
joed32 is offline  
Old 02-23-2014, 06:14 AM
Member
 
alb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have a roku 3 just want to record to my toshiba rd-xs 52 hard drive don't care about burning it .
What components do i need to make this work?
alb2 is offline  
Old 02-23-2014, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
greaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by alb2 View Post

I also have a roku 3 just want to record to my toshiba rd-xs 52 hard drive don't care about burning it .
What components do i need to make this work?

You basically have two choices with a Roku 3. The cheapest way is to buy a HDMI > composite/s-video converter,but your PQ will be terribly affected.Cost roughly $35-$100.00 depending on where you buy it.
The other way is pretty darned expensive but the PQ will be great.You would have to buy a HD Fury + a Component > composite/s-video converter.The cost would be several hundred dollars.Definitely Not worth the expense unless you are really,really into making the best quality copies possible.But you can also connect the Fury to a laptop and stream directly off the net to your DVDR.I do it all the time.

The best/easiest thing to do would be to return the R-3 and buy an older model Roku,like the Roku 2XS with a composite A/V output.Going that route would save you from having to buy any converter at all.
greaser is offline  
Old 02-23-2014, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by greaser View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by alb2 View Post

I also have a roku 3 just want to record to my toshiba rd-xs 52 hard drive don't care about burning it .
What components do i need to make this work?

You basically have two choices with a Roku 3... The best/easiest thing to do would be to return the R-3 and buy an older model Roku,like the Roku 2XS with a composite A/V output.Going that route would save you from having to buy any converter at all.

This would also be my advice, see this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1517860/hdmi-recording-from-a-roku-3/0_60#post_24359568

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
Old 02-23-2014, 12:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
greaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The new Roku 2 (2720) introduced Sept.2013 has a composite A/V output and is also a good choice if you don't mind the lack of an ethernet port.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roku#Feature_comparison
greaser is offline  
Old 02-24-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,910
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by greaser View Post

The new Roku 2 (2720) introduced Sept.2013 has a composite A/V output and is also a good choice if you don't mind the lack of an ethernet port.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roku#Feature_comparison
The old Roku 2 XS is the best model for connectivity options. It's the only model that includes HDMI and composite video with wireless and wired ethernet. It comes with a bluetooth remote that works from anywhere in the house, and it also has a functional IR receiver for use with universal remotes. I have two Roku 2 XS streamers that I use frequently with my Magnavox HDD/DVD recorders.

The price varies on this model so you have to shop around. You can usually find one on sale somewhere, and refurbished ones pop up once in a while too.
$55.95 at Newegg (refurb)
$71.69 at Amazon
$89 at B&H
$90 at J&R
Ken.F is offline  
Old 02-24-2014, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
greaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post

The old Roku 2 XS is the best model for connectivity options. It's the only model that includes HDMI and composite video with wireless and wired ethernet. It comes with a bluetooth remote that works from anywhere in the house, and it also has a functional IR receiver for use with universal remotes. I have two Roku 2 XS streamers that I use frequently with my Magnavox HDD/DVD recorders.

The price varies on this model so you have to shop around. You can usually find one on sale somewhere, and refurbished ones pop up once in a while too.
$55.95 at Newegg (refurb)
$71.69 at Amazon
$89 at B&H
$90 at J&R

Yea,i bought a Roku 2XS ~1 1/2 yrs.ago.About a month after i bought it i dropped my Dish account and never looked back.I actually have access to More content i like over the net than i did from Dish,and most of it is free,sans NF,Amazon Instant,and Vudu.

I mentioned the new Roku 2 just to give the OP a second choice in case he's leery about buying a discontinued model.
I'm hoping the R 4 will restore the connectivity options we had with the earlier models,but i'm not holding my breath for it.
greaser is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 11:19 AM
Member
 
alb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all your input everyone,didn't think i would be recording when i first got the 3. Will check out the roku 2.
alb2 is offline  
 

Tags
Roku 3 Streaming Player With Motion Remote
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off