Mag 2160 finally dead? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-15-2014, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jokerl90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Mag 2160 finally dead?

Background; 2160 connected to cable, passing through to tv. Have done soft reset,hard reset over the years until the clean tuner solution fixed all problems. Thunder storms knocked cable out a couple of times the past few days, always returned to normal. Both 2160 and tv plugged into battery ups.

The Problem; Last night everything normal. This morning 2160 is showing ----/----- on display. Turned it on, reset time, turned it off. Short time later tv looks like all channels are scrambled, 2160 shows no display at all, is dead. Unplug 2160 to do soft reset, tv clears up, plays perfectly. Do soft reset on 2160 no luck, still dead.

To sum it up, 2160 is dead, with it plugged in to power, tv looks scrambled, unplug 2160 from power tv is clear.

So has my old friend finally given up the ghost?
jokerl90 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-15-2014, 07:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
First, disconnect from UPS and leave unplugged for at least 10 min. Then try one or more additional Soft Resets while plugging directly into a known-good wall socket, not the UPS.

Make sure you've allowed enough time to drain residual power before replugging into wall socket, that you're using the power button on the unit (not on remote). and you hold the power button in until you (hopefully) see the dashes in the display again.
.
wajo is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-15-2014, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jokerl90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply wajo! Got it to power up, saw that the channels were checked for antenna (should be for digital). Before I could do the clean tuner procedure it went down again. Going to try to get it powered up again with the cable coax disconnected and try the clean turner again.
Again, thanks for the reply.
jokerl90 is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-15-2014, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jokerl90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It's Alive!!
Had to go inside it and press the reset switch, almost forgot about that one. Entered each channel manually, set the time, seems to be working fine.
Oh, not that it matters, but it's a 2080 not a 2160.
Thanks for the help!
jokerl90 is online now  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off