switching connections with equipment on - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2014, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
larryccf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 19
switching connections with equipment on

i realize it's a pretty basic question but after i'd switched leads (hdmi, rca composite and S-video) leads while components were turned on, i found a couple of warnings to not disconnect/connect with equipment powered up.

what is the risk or danger? - is it that critical?

tks in advance

'A good police force is one which catches more crooks than it employs.' quote, Sir Robert Mark, Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police UK
larryccf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryccf View Post
i realize it's a pretty basic question but after i'd switched leads (hdmi, rca composite and S-video) leads while components were turned on, i found a couple of warnings to not disconnect/connect with equipment powered up.

what is the risk or danger? - is it that critical?
The risk is damaging your equipment -- sometimes irreparably.
The warnings are there for a reason.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,925
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I always hot swap my equipment and have never had any issues, of course I never unmount(or whatever it's called) my USB devices either and also never had any issues because of it(of course not while writing to it). Not saying thats the way to always do it, but it works for me
jjeff is online now  
Old 07-29-2014, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
larryccf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
I always hot swap my equipment and have never had any issues, of course I never unmount(or whatever it's called) my USB devices either and also never had any issues because of it(of course not while writing to it). Not saying thats the way to always do it, but it works for me
thanks - i kind of figured it'd be best to turn everything off but the damn delay in restarting and waiting for everything to load is a pita and i kind of figured most folks don't bother - and as i hadn't seen multiple reports of equipment frapping so i was ready to assume the risk wasn't that high.

As soon as i pickup some more cables i can connect that switch i ordered and there'll be no more hot connection swaps

'A good police force is one which catches more crooks than it employs.' quote, Sir Robert Mark, Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police UK
larryccf is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off