No power; is HDD salvageable in a Magnavox MDR515H? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By mrmazda
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-29-2014, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thumbs down No power; is HDD salvageable in a Magnavox MDR515H?

So, after a few years of faithful use, my 515 died last night. No power, won't turn on. I had quite a lot stored on the harddrive.

Am I screwed? Or is there a way to get the data off of that HDD?

I'm planning on making a trip to Walmart to buy a replacement this weekend (likely the MDR535H/F7).
cb83580 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-29-2014, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb83580 View Post
So, after a few years of faithful use, my 515 died last night. No power, won't turn on. I had quite a lot stored on the harddrive.

Am I screwed? Or is there a way to get the data off of that HDD?

I'm planning on making a trip to Walmart to buy a replacement this weekend (likely the MDR535H/F7).
hi open unit and press reset button.

MickinCT
mickinct is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-29-2014, 07:41 AM
?? ?? ?? ??
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb83580 View Post
So, after a few years of faithful use, my 515 died last night. No power, won't turn on. I had quite a lot stored on the harddrive.

Am I screwed? Or is there a way to get the data off of that HDD?

I'm planning on making a trip to Walmart to buy a replacement this weekend (likely the MDR535H/F7).
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post
hi open unit and press reset button.
You can revive your 515 without opening the box, just use a Soft Reset as described here... the no-risk procedure for non-gearheads
7558037 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 08-29-2014, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
You can revive your 515 without opening the box, just use a Soft Reset as described here... the no-risk procedure for non-gearheads
I tried that this morning. No dice

I'm not sure how long it needs to be unplugged, though. I think I had left it about 30 minutes or so. I'll try that again, though.

It's weird. My power went out last night and all other devices plugged in to the same power strip seemed fine, except the DVR.

ETA: now, I see that the link says to leave it unplugged for 2.5 hours. I'll definitely try again later.
cb83580 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-29-2014, 08:16 AM
?? ?? ?? ??
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb83580 View Post
I tried that this morning. No dice

I'm not sure how long it needs to be unplugged, though. I think I had left it about 30 minutes or so. I'll try that again, though.

It's weird. My power went out last night and all other devices plugged in to the same power strip seemed fine, except the DVR.

ETA: now, I see that the link says to leave it unplugged for 2.5 hours. I'll definitely try again later.
For a 515 you have to keep unplugged for at least 2.5 hours. When you replug while holding the power button on front of unit. Hold power button in until you see "P-on" in front panel display. You should then see dashes (--:--) in the front panel display, indicating the unit has lost all residual power.

Make sure you write down or take a pic of your timer programs because you'll lose those.
7558037 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-29-2014, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
UPDATE: The soft-reset worked! All is not lost.

But I'm still curious about my original question, though. Does anyone know if there's anything that we could do if either the hard or soft reset does not work? Are the HDDs able to be hooked up to/transferred to a computer?
cb83580 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-29-2014, 10:23 AM
?? ?? ?? ??
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 197
The best I can offer is info from the latest Philips DVR 5710 where I found that at least two apps can access files on that unit's external USB-HDDs. Its Linux/XFS/.tts files can be accessed and copied to a PC HDD.

Those apps can access many file systems and file types, so odds are good (speculation only) that they can also access older Mag files. The hardest part might be removing the HDD and connecting it to your PC via USB.

Your PC does not have to "mount" the HDD with the PC's OS (USB HDDs won't appear in your Windows file system)... you just need to open one of the access apps while the HDD (or thumb drive) is connected.

Last edited by 7558037; 11-28-2015 at 06:36 PM.
7558037 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-13-2015, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb83580 View Post
I tried that this morning. No dice

I'm not sure how long it needs to be unplugged, though. I think I had left it about 30 minutes or so. I'll try that again, though.

It's weird. My power went out last night and all other devices plugged in to the same power strip seemed fine, except the DVR.

ETA: now, I see that the link says to leave it unplugged for 2.5 hours. I'll definitely try again later.
This has happened several times to my mdr515 after a power outage. The soft reset for the mdr515 is unplug for 2 1/2 hours minimum. Then hold the power button on the unit when you plug it back in. Works every time for me. My DVD burner quit working. Won't recognize blank discs that have worked in this unit for 3 years. Anybody know anything about it ?
riff925 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 06-21-2015, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
WDBJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I too have used the soft reset many times on my MDR515H, but now it is no longer working. When I plug it in while also holding the power button nothing happens. There is nothing on the display. I hear a quiet high pitch sound but that is all. Any ideas on what I can do to regain power?
WDBJr is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 11-13-2015, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
WDBJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It looks like some of the capacitors are bad on my unit. Has anyone replaced their capacitors? Any advice?
WDBJr is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 11-28-2015, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
WDBJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I replaced 3 capacitors that visibly looked bad, but the high pitch sound is still there when I plug it in. Nothing is turning on, any suggestions on what I can replace next?
WDBJr is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 11-28-2015, 01:19 PM
?? ?? ?? ??
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by riff925 View Post
This has happened several times to my mdr515 after a power outage. The soft reset for the mdr515 is unplug for 2 1/2 hours minimum. Then hold the power button on the unit when you plug it back in. Works every time for me. My DVD burner quit working. Won't recognize blank discs that have worked in this unit for 3 years. Anybody know anything about it ?
Your burner lens may be dirty, which can be solved by a cleaning disc from Walmart and others that has a little brush on it.

Your DVD blanks may be poor quality (which brand, type and speed do you use?). Sometimes burners can't write to the 16X dye but will still work with 8X speed (less power required to burn), so look for Verbatim AZO 8X blank DVDs and see if it helps. If you have any DVD-RW disc, try one of those since they are usually low-speed (2X-5X?).
7558037 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 09-11-2016, 01:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
no power >"P-on" --:-- no joy

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
For a 515 you have to keep unplugged for at least 2.5 hours. When you replug while holding the power button on front of unit. Hold power button in until you see "P-on" in front panel display. You should then see dashes (--:--) in the front panel display, indicating the unit has lost all residual power.
Hi wajo. We have had the Magnavox 515 500GB unit since 2010. Our 515 has worked perfectly for the last six years. We've had the minor power outs but the 515 has always powered back on leaving the unit unplugged for 3hrs to an entire night (8-10 hrs) followed by holding down the power button while plugging the unit in has alway shown the "P-on" (--:--) powering on in working order after resetting time, etc. However, recently the 515 unit refused to power up using the same procedure...literally no nothing and no joy. At one point in you could tell the unit was trying to power up via "P-on" (--:--) but "P-on" (--:--) flicked on very briefly but simply failed to power on with the same procedure. This procedure was again followed several other attemtps over a 24 hr period to no avail. The the units "P-on" simply did not not appear...nothing but the black display screen could be seen.

Do you if know if the these Magnaovox 515 can ever be dead?
Any suggestion3 are appreciated. Thank you.

Carol
Carol1947 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 09-11-2016, 03:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 902
Carol there is a reset button in the inside of the unit on the main board.

MickinCT
mickinct is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-10-2017, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
CopRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question Bad capacitors.. may be the cause

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carol1947 View Post
Hi wajo. We have had the Magnavox 515 500GB unit since 2010. Our 515 has worked perfectly for the last six years. We've had the minor power outs but the 515 has always powered back on leaving the unit unplugged for 3hrs to an entire night (8-10 hrs) followed by holding down the power button while plugging the unit in has alway shown the "P-on" (--:--) powering on in working order after resetting time, etc. However, recently the 515 unit refused to power up using the same procedure...literally no nothing and no joy. At one point in you could tell the unit was trying to power up via "P-on" (--:--) but "P-on" (--:--) flicked on very briefly but simply failed to power on with the same procedure. This procedure was again followed several other attemtps over a 24 hr period to no avail. The the units "P-on" simply did not not appear...nothing but the black display screen could be seen.

Do you if know if the these Magnaovox 515 can ever be dead?
Any suggestion3 are appreciated. Thank you.

Carol
Hello Carol...
My parents are expats living outside the US in Costa Rica on retirement and their Magnavox MDR513H experienced the same problem as yours: pulsing P-on --:-- and would take many tries to finally turn on and would shutoff if the DVD was used since it drew too much power from the power supply.
While visiting them for the holidays I took the machine apart and found three bad capacitors labeled 3300uf 6.3 volts on the power supply board right behind the DVD drive [bad capacitors swell up and have a puffy top instead of flat]... on the advice of an electronics repair shop down here since I couldn't find the exact same capacitors I bought 3300uf 25v capacitors and had them installed since I didn't have a solder gun with me and that DVR is now working just fine.
It was probably a brown out or power outage that damaged the capacitors? Probably, maybe others can answer better.
If you take the machine apart yourself just make sure to let the machine cool off/disharged by leaving it unplugged for a few hours or overnight

Hope this helps.
CopRock is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 05-18-2017, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by CopRock View Post
My parents are expats living outside the US in Costa Rica on retirement and their Magnavox MDR513H experienced the same problem as yours: pulsing P-on --:-- and would take many tries to finally turn on and would shutoff if the DVD was used since it drew too much power from the power supply.
While visiting them for the holidays I took the machine apart and found three bad capacitors labeled 3300uf 6.3 volts on the power supply board right behind the DVD drive [bad capacitors swell up and have a puffy top instead of flat]... on the advice of an electronics repair shop down here since I couldn't find the exact same capacitors I bought 3300uf 25v capacitors and had them installed since I didn't have a solder gun with me and that DVR is now working just fine.
Same three caps went bad on my #2 513. I wrote about it on Wajo's big thread.
CopRock likes this.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off