DVDR and a S-VHS recorder- Best hookup/same TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-18-2003, 10:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to enable both to record the same program this fall at the same time. What is the best way to hook this up for optimum PQ? I hope this is the right forum. I think it is relevant because so many now are buying DVDR's but want their SVHS recordings and playback on the same TV. Also assume many outputs and inputs on new model TV. Links welcome.

The Lab called: Your Brain is ready.
HoustonGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-19-2003, 12:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Before anyone can answer that, we need to know what your SOURCE is going to be. Or it could be multiple sources, like antenna, a DSS system, cable, etc. --Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-19-2003, 02:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cable box which I bet is the majority at least in the USA. Thanks for pointing that out. It is critical.

The Lab called: Your Brain is ready.
HoustonGuy is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-19-2003, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
OK, next question then: What kind of OUTPUTS on your cable box? Does it have:

1. Composite video? If so, how many?

2. S-Video? Again, how many? (more than one seems unlikely)

3. RF (most certainly)

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-19-2003, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
component out but the cables are going to the TV HD inputs(however I would also appreciate a same cable box component analysis for another TV without HD), s-video(1), composite video in/out, optical out(SPDF) coaxial out(SPDF), composite audio out/in,RF. Thanks

The Lab called: Your Brain is ready.
HoustonGuy is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-19-2003, 09:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I gotta admit, you've got me a bit confused now. I can't really tell from your last post what ins/outs are on the cable box and what's on the TV. So, for the sake of clarity, please give me a list of just the OUTPUTS on the cable box, other than the component output which you said is already in use.

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-19-2003, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VJ - here are the outs only, sorry( why in the freak would you have ins anyway on a cable box?, but they are there.)

component out but the cables are going to the TV HD inputs(however I would also appreciate a same cable box component analysis for another TV without HD), s-video out(1), composite video out, optical out(SPDF) coaxial out(SPDF), composite audio out/,RF. Thanks

The Lab called: Your Brain is ready.
HoustonGuy is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-20-2003, 04:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
why in the freak would you have ins anyway on a cable box?,
PMFJI, Perhaps to up-convert a video source's composite output to component/s-video. You feed it into your cable box and it gets fed to your tv as component or s-video. Also helps if your tv has only one or two video inputs.

Vic

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-20-2003, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HoustonGuy ...

Well based on what you've told me, I'd hook it up like this:

Take the S-Video and L/R audio outs and feed them into your DVD Recorder. The take the composite video out and L/R/ audio and feed them into your S-VHS machine. Yes, you will lose the advantage of S-Video, but given the "not-so-great" quality of cable signals, I don't think it will matter much, and it greatly simplifies the hookup. Plus, you probably want the best signal going to the DVD recorder.

Note that if the cable box on has ONE set of L/R audio outputs, you can simply put a "Y" splitter on each to obtain two. Can't do this with VIDEO though -- only audio.

Does this answer your question? --Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-20-2003, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
vj- I neglected to tell you I have a receiver involved here. How would that change the audio hook ups?

The Lab called: Your Brain is ready.
HoustonGuy is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-21-2003, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If you just need another audio output from the cable box, you can split it again -- typically with consumer stuff, you can "bridge" an audio source among many inputs without any problems (I've got the audio out of my satellite system going into SEVEN different devices, with no ill effects).

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off