Built-in HD. Is this really a good thing? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 08-11-2003, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If the only other option is live recording, well then I guess of course it is. But, as someone who already owns 5 PVR's, I can't find the advantage. I am not interested in editing content into a playlist and then creating a DVD of that, just archiving tv shows.

Copying from the HD to DVD-R...that's not a strictly digital-to-digital process, is it? (Sorry, bit of a newbie here).

I tried a Panny with a built-in HD, and it seemed extremely user-unfriendly...almost ergonomically hostile. I down-graded to an E30, which I love, and it seems much easier to let a PVR capture the programs and then archive from that to the E30 later on.

But as I said, I'm new. Maybe I haven't thought this through as much as the rest of you. If the HD was as easy to use as a PVR and had the same user features, I might be swayed. I'm hoping to see a DVD-recorder that has a more Replay or Tivo-like front end on it enter the market. To a PVR fanatic most DVD-recorder / HD combos seem pretty rudimentary by comparison.

I'd be interested in some opinions from the older hands on board.

There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 08-11-2003, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Copying from the HD to DVD-R...that's not a strictly digital-to-digital process, is it? (Sorry, bit of a newbie here).