LD dub -- shaky picture - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2003, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Florida
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I backed up my old copy of Raiders yesterday from Laser Disk and had a problem with the final picture. For much of the movie, the entire picture shook. Not parts of the picture, I mean the whole picture looked like it was filmed during an earthquake! This is the first time I have noticed anything like this. Is it related to the E80 trying to correct some kind of problem it sees in the input video stream?

To be fair, this Laser Disk sucks. The PQ of the original is very bad and I am looking forward to the official release of this movie this Fall, but the picture doesn't shake on the original. Any idea what would cause this?
kman007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2003, 12:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Does the E-80 recorder has a built-in TBC (TIME BASE CORRECTOR) ??? That might be what you would need, as it basically removes most jitter from fluctuating video signals and delivers a stable signal to the input of the video recorder ....
MCaugusto is offline  
Old 08-17-2003, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
ernie6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Laserdisc playback technology did not employ 3:2 pulldown which results in a flickering or constantly moving picture. It depends on the title, Fall of the Roman Empire is pretty solid while 55 Days at Peking flickers all the time. It is not the E80, it the source material and unfortunatley the flickering is recorded in the source so there is nothing you can do to eliminate it.
ernie6 is offline  
Old 08-17-2003, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Florida
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose that might be the problem. I have several other LD's that I have backed up with no problems. Like I said, the PQ of the original is not very good, so I would believe that it would be subject to this issue you mentioned. I will just have to buy the official release when it comes out. Thanks
kman007 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off