Simple E80 dubbing question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-18-2003, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JasonBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got some shows I want to start archiving from my Tivo to DVD-R. I just got the E80 last week and have a few questions. If my intent is to fit about 2:09 (3 one-hour shows with commercials removed) per disc, there's no reason to transfer those shows to the HDD in any other quality than FR mode, right? Transfering them to the HDD in XP mode will just end up taking more HD space, and I "lose" any quality when I squeeze 3 hours on one disc, right? Plus, I'll lose the capability to do a high-speed dub if I'm reading things correctly.
JasonBrown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-18-2003, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gigaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AustinTX
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, I think you've got it right. Be sure and turn on the DVD compatible mode before recording to the hard drive, this allows hi=speed dubs. You can also put in your own markers, if you want them, in this mode, and they will save to the DVD-R. No other way to save user set markers.
Good luck.
gigaguy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-18-2003, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it true if you create a playlist, High Speed dubbing is unavailable?

Thanks,

Bob
bad1550 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-20-2003, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vidmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I can confirm this you cannot use high speed dubbing if you set up playlists. I have tried it three times using different recording speeds and it will not let you. You must dub at regular speed.

The problem with obsessions is that they are insatiable.
Vidmaven is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-20-2003, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 2,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JasonBrown asked:
> If my intent is to fit about 2:09 (3 one-hour shows with commercials removed) per disc, there's no reason to transfer those shows to the HDD in any other quality than FR mode, right? <

You're correct that XP mode isn't needed (or desired). FR may work, although it opens the door to possibly screwing things up. I'd recommend just recording in SP mode, since I know for sure that 2:09 (3 programs) will fit at that speed.

- Tim

- Tim
VideoGrabber is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-21-2003, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gigaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AustinTX
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
VGrabber, so you can get 2 hr and 9 min in SP on a DVD-R with the Pannys? I guess this is easily tested by setting up a dub and seeing if it accepts it? 9 min seems quite a lot. I've been doing FR for anything over 2 hours.
Do you know about the other speeds' maximim times to a DVD-R?
thanks.
gigaguy is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off