help ... copies with a Philips 985 ?? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 08-26-2003, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
buccaneer's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lisle, IL
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1st off, let me report that I've had a Philips 985 for about 6 weeks, & have had no problems at all. This site / forum was invaluable both before and after my purchase. My next project is trying to make copies of DVD's that I have recorded. I have a DVD player [I don't remember the brand name] and would like to "play" a dvd in it while recording it onto a blank disc in the Philips. Does anyone know if this is possible ?? And if so, how do I set it up ?? Thanks in advance.

buccaneer is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 2 Old 08-27-2003, 05:33 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
oferlaor's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's possible, but you can only record 2 audio channels and video will only work if the source doesn't contain macrovision or other copy control technology.

If your source DVD doesn't contain the copy protection flags, or if your source DVD player does not contain copy protection (e.g., macrovision) capabilities, then no problem - you hook up the component output of the source DVD to the recorder's component input and press REC....

Ofer LaOr
oferlaor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Closed Thread DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off