help ... copies with a Philips 985 ?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 08-26-2003, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
buccaneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lisle, IL
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1st off, let me report that I've had a Philips 985 for about 6 weeks, & have had no problems at all. This site / forum was invaluable both before and after my purchase. My next project is trying to make copies of DVD's that I have recorded. I have a DVD player [I don't remember the brand name] and would like to "play" a dvd in it while recording it onto a blank disc in the Philips. Does anyone know if this is possible ?? And if so, how do I set it up ?? Thanks in advance.

Phil
buccaneer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 08-27-2003, 05:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's possible, but you can only record 2 audio channels and video will only work if the source doesn't contain macrovision or other copy control technology.

If your source DVD doesn't contain the copy protection flags, or if your source DVD player does not contain copy protection (e.g., macrovision) capabilities, then no problem - you hook up the component output of the source DVD to the recorder's component input and press REC....

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off