Help Please! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-27-2003, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joshbucsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a Panasonic E50 dvd recorder, and and had trouble hooking it up to by living room system. So I moved it to the bedroom and hooked it up to my TIVO and it worked fine. Here is my question. In my living room, here is my setup. I have a Mitsu 65" HDTV with a Mitsu Directv HDTV receiver. It would always allow me to hear the sound, but no picture. I moved it to the bedroom, and used it with the Directv TIVO unit, and it works perfectly. Are these not compatible because of my box?
joshbucsfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-27-2003, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
PatsWonSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe the Mits Receiver does not output 480i video simultaneously with the HiDef video signal. You have to manually set the HDTV receiver to output 480i. Not sure how this is done on that receiver.
PatsWonSB is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-27-2003, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joshbucsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you, anybody else that can help me do that, would be welcome. If I manually change that, would I also be able to see TV in HDTV.
joshbucsfan is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-27-2003, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
PatsWonSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HDTV signal would also be downconverted to 480i. Note that you can record the downconverted HD signal. You would have to switch it back to view HDTV in its true resolution.

I have a Panny HDTV/DirectTV receiver. I leave it in 480i and only switch it to the Native mode when watching an HD broadcast.

You may get an answer on how to do this by posting in the HDTV Hardware forum.
PatsWonSB is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-27-2003, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joshbucsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I will try and do that tonight, hope it works.
joshbucsfan is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-28-2003, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joshbucsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I change the STB to output 480i, the screen goes black and I can only hear sound.
joshbucsfan is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-28-2003, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
PatsWonSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try hooking the STB directly to your Mits TV via SVideo (or composite) to confirm that its outputing a good 480i signal.

These STBs get flaky at times. Sometimes when I switch output modes on my Panny STB it locks up and I need to unplug it.
PatsWonSB is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-28-2003, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joshbucsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can change it straight from the remote to 480i, and i get picture and no sound.
joshbucsfan is offline  
Closed Thread DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off