Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread

post #1 of 31 Old 08-27-2005, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well I was planning to wait until retirement in October, but I'd been leaning toward the Pioneer x33 models and when Future Shop here in Vancouver put the 533 on sale a few weeks back I decided it was too good to pass up. So I've now joined the ranks of DVR owners. Let me give you some of my initial impressions, written from the point of view of someone new to DVRs.

On the joys of owning an HDD DVR

These things are way cool. A day after I started playing with it I knew I could never go back to VCR land. I'm going to get another one (hopefully they'll put the 633 on sale soon) for our larger TV in the basement. The things I like the most are:
  • I never have to get up to switch tapes (don't get a DVR with HDD if you are trying to loose weight!)
  • I can record anything instantly just by pressing a single button. I don't have to get a tape (or DVD) loaded into the machine, and I don't have to worry about whether I rewound the tape or might be taping over something I want to keep. It's a tremendously liberating feeling.
  • Chasing playback is great. No frustration any more when something interrupts a live show - just hit "record". If your interruption goes away in two minutes, you don't have to wait for the show to end, just hit "play" and you can immediately start watching from the point you left off.
  • The DVD-like experience. I say "DVD-like" referring to both the quality and the digital nature of the recording. You can pause forever without any flicker or worrying about the tape burning out. You can slow-mo, single-step, and scan forwards or backwards with no static. You can jump forward and backward to chapter marks instantly, and you never have to rewind or search your way through a tape to find what you want.

On the joys and frustations of the Pioneer