Panasonic ES20 - First Impressions (blog style) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 549 Old 10-02-2005, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a brand new ES20 today after deliberations between the ES10/ES20 and the Pioneer 220/225/233.

I have learned a lot in a short amount of time through this forum, so I figured I can contribute a little myself by posting my first hand impressions on the ES20.

I will be updating this post blog-style (adding new things as I discover them, so it will keep growing)

My experience
==========
* Please read this section so you can adjust the weight of my first impressions
* This is my first DVD recorder
* With VCRs, I am okay with the 6 hour mode. (I am not very demanding/picky on image quality)
* For this, I'm using a 20" analog TV
* I am not an expert
* Some problems may be masked because I am using entry-level components so please keep that in mind!
* I am not brave enough to open this to see what's inside

First Impressions - Summary
====================
* Overall I am very impressed so far it has definately exceeded expectations.

First Impressions - Hardware
============
* It feels very lightweight - listed weight is 5.6 lbs. I wouldn't put anything on top of it since its the lightest and newest of all the components i have.
* Although the user manual states that you have to connect this directly to the TV and not to a VCR because of copy protections in VCRs, it works fine when connected to a 1997 Panasonic VCR.
* Remote control does not intefere with other Panasonic VCRs (1997 and 2003 models give or take)
* Remote control is overall good, the menus are good, but a couple of spots could have been more streamlined
* Included: 1 Panasonic DVD-RAM, red/white/yellow cable, RF cable, 2 Panasonic AA batteries for the remote
* Noise Reduction is available for Line-In inputs only

First Impressions - Operations
============