Just picked up a new Panny DMR-ES15 at BB! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 280 Old 05-04-2006, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
WayneE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, so it's time for real noob questions: Is there any difference between the ES15 that is being discussed and the ES15S ? or is one just a shorthand for the other?

I see from another thread that the difference between the ES15(S) and the ES35V is the VCR part. Is that all? Is it an ES15(S) with all of the bells and whistles and they just put a 4-head hi-fi VCR into it?

Is it really better to spend the $$ on this, rather than just plug my Panny VCR (PV-V4522) into the composite RCA In port on my Radeon video card in my PC and record to the PC's hard drive, then just burn the video to a DVD with Nero? I guess using Nero gives me more creative control, better chapter placement, etc. but is it worth the time and effort to go through all that, or just spend the $150-250 (depending on just a plain DVD recorder or DVD/VCR), and let 'er rip (no pun intended)?

Thanks,
Wayne
WayneE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 01:07 AM
Member
 
hangmans joke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: lemon springs nc
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok what type of sound inputs or outputs are used on es15?? is it stereo ,dolby, ??? i dont want another mono recorder. mostly i will ise my digital camcorder to burn videos. which is in stero . i cant find online if its stereo or virtual . anyway to the guys and gurus who have the es15 how does the sound sound ??? lol
hangmans joke is offline  
post #183 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 01:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
crabboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 29
S refers to the fact that the unit is silver in color. Past Pannys have been S for silver and K (?) for black. It has been established that the 15 will not be available in black, but I suppose Panasonic reserves the right to change it's/their mind(s).

In space, no one can eat ice cream - Killer Klowns From Outer Space
crabboy is offline  
post #184 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 07:10 AM
Member
 
JK5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK5000 View Post

Hi All,

I'm just wondering how I would go about connecting my satellite reciever to this unit and how I can connect it to my LCD tv.

This is my thought:
The feed from the satellite is connect via S-Video cable to the DMR-ES15 (this should allow me to record TV shows).

Then from the DMR-ES15 I would use component cables to take advantage of the progressive scan feature of the unit.

My question is, will I be able to watch tv programs through the DMR-ES15 via the component cables or do I have to send the satellite signal from the DVDR to the TV via S-Video? Do component cables only transfer video from DVD's or will it also transfer video from the satellite throught the DVDR?

Also I'm assuming that my audio would go from the satellite reciever into the DVDR and then out from there into my home theater receiver. Is this right?

Has anyone got this type of set up?... I'm assuming its pretty standard.

Any help I can get on this would be greatly appreciated.
JK5000 is offline  
post #185 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
efjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@JK5000, try switching the input on the recorder when connected via component to your S-Video input.
efjay is offline  
post #186 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 07:57 AM
Member
 
red_ricky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaahoops View Post

I don't know what your experience with the ES20 was, but I have burnt 600+ DVDs with it by now and in some days I had it running for 12+ hours with very little or no rest. While by no means perfect, and it did have its share of issues/bugs, my experience with it was nowhere near as negative as you describe above :-)

I had 3 Pannies ES20. On the first two, I made the mistake of doing a Firmware Update right out of the box (I know, newbie mistake). As far as I know, they could've been working great; and I just didn't know it. I also thought that a Firmware update would make the unit even better. No such luck. The Firmware made things worst. For instance, the x8 disc speed conversion to x16 activated a bug/glitch in the thumbnail system that prevented me, 9 times out of 10, from choosing the thumbnail I wanted for my finalizations.

The Firmware also activated/created a bug that would cause almost all of my extended recordings (i.e. movies longer than 2 hrs, burned using FR) to freeze when played on other recorders (almost like a region bug).

I think Pannasonic never caught on that their Firmware updates were doing this, and that's why we now have no eject button (and so many Finalization Screens). Apparently it was easier to think that us dummies didn't know how to finalize a disc, than to blame themselves for a crappy firmware update.

Anyway, I was kind of bitter because a DVD Recorder was to have been my Christmas present for December of last year. I bought the Lite-On because it got excellent reviews at cnet. It turned out to be a very, very, very bad recorder. That one would freeze just by playing a commercial DVD. I returned it, but had problems getting my refund (had to make 2 trips, one to be denied, one to argue that Black Friday purchases have a return policy extension that lasts until February)

My last ES20 I simply exchanged for an ES15. So far I haven't had any problems (knock on wood), I'm happy with it, and I've learned some valuable lessons in the process. So it's all good.

As far as a side comparison between the ES20 and the ES15; well I think the only advantage the ES20 has over the ES15 is in the gray scaling. Whenever a show I'm recording ends and "fades into black", the ES20 will give you a smoother transition while the ES15 black scale will show some noise. I don't know if this is the recorders fault, or if it's actually showing me the noise that's coming in through the analogue cable transmission. Who knows; but so far, so good.

Cheers!
red_ricky is offline  
post #187 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
WayneE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback, crabboy.

Now if anyone else wants to take the other questions, that would be great...
WayneE is offline  
post #188 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 08:05 AM
Member
 
JK5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, I have not yet purchased this unit I'm just wondering how it would operate. I'm probably going to buy it early next week with a new LCD TV and I'm just wondering if I'll need to buy an extra S-Video cable to go from the DVDR to the TV to transfer the satellite feed or if the component cables will work for this. It seems logical that they would.

so to summerize:

Satellite S-Video output ---> S-Video cable ---> DVDR S-Video input
Audio as well obviously.

Now it should record TV programs.

DVDR Component output ---> Component Cable ---> TV Component input

This should allow for progressive scan DVD watching but the question is, will my TV video signal also play through the component cables?

Do I have to select a different Imput to watch tv or a DVD? Or as soon as I hit play it just shows up on the screen and when I stop play then it goes back to TV?

Confused.
JK5000 is offline  
post #189 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Jay C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneE View Post

OK, so it's time for real noob questions: Is there any difference between the ES15 that is being discussed and the ES15S ? or is one just a shorthand for the other?

1 and the same. the last S = Silver. There is no ES15 listed on Panasonic's site.

Quote:


I see from another thread that the difference between the ES15(S) and the ES35V is the VCR part. Is that all? Is it an ES15(S) with all of the bells and whistles and they just put a 4-head hi-fi VCR into it?

Seriously, you can read about this for yourself on Panasonic's site.

Quote:


Is it really better to spend the $$ on this, rather than just plug my Panny VCR (PV-V4522) into the composite RCA In port on my Radeon video card in my PC and record to the PC's hard drive, then just burn the video to a DVD with Nero? I guess using Nero gives me more creative control, better chapter placement, etc. but is it worth the time and effort to go through all that, or just spend the $150-250 (depending on just a plain DVD recorder or DVD/VCR), and let 'er rip (no pun intended)?

Thanks,
Wayne

That's for you to decide. For me, that sounds like a hobby in and of itself (and the few I did, were a major time consumer). But your intentions are different than mine for this DVR. I just want to record a show and watch it when I have time. No need to archive it so I delete them after I watch them.

FWIW,
Jay
Jay C is offline  
post #190 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Jay C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK5000 View Post

Oh, I have not yet purchased this unit I'm just wondering how it would operate. I'm probably going to buy it early next week with a new LCD TV and I'm just wondering if I'll need to buy an extra S-Video cable to go from the DVDR to the TV to transfer the satellite feed or if the component cables will work for this. It seems logical that they would.

so to summerize:

Satellite S-Video output ---> S-Video cable ---> DVDR S-Video input
Audio as well obviously.

Now it should record TV programs.

DVDR Component output ---> Component Cable ---> TV Component input

This should allow for progressive scan DVD watching but the question is, will my TV video signal also play through the component cables?

Do I have to select a different Imput to watch tv or a DVD? Or as soon as I hit play it just shows up on the screen and when I stop play then it goes back to TV?

Confused.

According to the Operating Instructions, you can connect it the way you show. Looks like the play we convert any input signal to any of the output connectors based on the FAQ's and the connection diagrams. The manual is available on Panasonic's site.

As for the switching of inputs question: The unit will send the DVD signal to the outputs when you are in PLAY mode and whatever Input/TV channel otherwise. You can use the Channel buttons to cycle through the Inputs and the built-in TV tuner. But, if you are recording from say IN1 which is connected to your Satellite, then the DVR will record whatever your Sat system is sending, regardless of what channel your TV might be tuned to. Did that make sense?

FWIW,
Jay
Jay C is offline  
post #191 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 09:48 AM
Member
 
JK5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya that seems to make sense. I think the "Looks like the play we convert any input signal to any of the output connectors based on the FAQ's and the connection diagrams." part is what I was asking. ie. component should carry the satellite picture to the tv as opposed to having to get an extra S-Vid cable. I have downloaded the manual but I was still stumped. I hope this works. we'll see.
JK5000 is offline  
post #192 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Jay C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hangmans joke View Post

ok what type of sound inputs or outputs are used on es15?? is it stereo ,dolby, ??? i dont want another mono recorder. mostly i will ise my digital camcorder to burn videos. which is in stero . i cant find online if its stereo or virtual . anyway to the guys and gurus who have the es15 how does the sound sound ??? lol

You looked online you say? Did you try Panasonic's site?
  1. S-Video Inputs: 2 (1 front)
  2. Composite Video Inputs: 2 (1 front)
  3. Audio L/R Inputs: 2 (1 front)
  4. RF Inputs: 1 (VHF/UHF)
  5. 2ch Audio Out Yes

From the manual
Quote:


Select Audio Channel for DV Input
You can select the kind of audio when recording from the unit’s
DV IN terminal (page 32).
• Stereo 1: Records audio (L1, R1)
• Stereo 2: Records added audio such as narration (L2, R2)
subsequent to original recording.
• Mix: Records both Stereo 1 and Stereo 2.
When recording MTS broadcast, select the type of audio in
advance from “Multi-channel TV Sound ( MTS )” (above).

FWIW,
Jay
Jay C is offline  
post #193 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 09:55 AM
Member
 
hangmans joke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: lemon springs nc
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok thanks for info . much apprciated
hangmans joke is offline  
post #194 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Jay C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brenda1966 View Post

I have the 35v model of the pioneer and am wondering about the quick start feature. I currently have this turned on and the machine does fire up much more quickly. I use my system daily.

Is there any benefit to having it off besides saving energy? Will my player last longer? Is there any downside to having it on?

Fairly sure you meant Panasonic and 35VS. Nope, that's the only benefit. 7W versus 3W or 168W a day versus 72W a day. Of course heat is the enemy of electronics but I'm sure the laser and the motors are constantly running with only 7W ... that's a low amount of power and thus low amount of residual heat. When you are recording and playing back is when things really heat up

FWIW,
Jay
Jay C is offline  
post #195 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
ZManCartFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone please confirm if the ES15 will allow me to program the unit to play specific titles off of a commercial DVD?

For example, I've got all of the MASH TV show sets. They're divided up by titles (one episode per title - 8 or so titles per disc) and chapters (multiple chapters per title). Can I easily set the ES15 to play entire titles? In other words, can I program the unit to play Titles 2 and 3 and then stop?

I've had mixed success with various players / recorders, and it seems that some won't allow programming at all unless you're dealing with an audio CD. And some will only allow you to program by chapter. Makes it a real pain when you have to program 22 different chapters just to get 2 episodes to play.

Thanks!
ZManCartFan is offline  
post #196 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
crabboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay C View Post

Update: Both BB and CC now are selling this unit for $144 down $10 from last week. I called BB and they said they would refund the difference when I bring in my receipt from last week. I bought it on a web price match in store. Also this week if you have a BB Reward Zone they are giving a $10 gift certificate for all orders over $100 ... so it's now $20 off from the price I paid last week.

Never hurts to call and ask you local store though, since their policy states it's the store's decision to price match BB.com or not.

Bought one last week from bestbuy.com & picked it up from their Carson City store.
It was on sale at a cheaper price online this week so I printed out the ad & took the ad & my receipt to their store in Victorville, California. At first they said yes, they would refund the difference....until they saw my receipt. They said they could not do a refund since I bought in on line (something about their computers). I told them I would order one on line & return the unit I had. They said fine. Instead, I found a unit in stock (after dealing with a very blonde salesgirl....another story) and was able to buy it for the on line price. Tomorrow I will return the original unit.
Overall I will save $15, not counting the 2 or 3 bucks in gas. A cautionary tale.

In space, no one can eat ice cream - Killer Klowns From Outer Space
crabboy is offline  
post #197 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ncaahoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZManCartFan View Post

Could someone please confirm if the ES15 will allow me to program the unit to play specific titles off of a commercial DVD?

For example, I've got all of the MASH TV show sets. They're divided up by titles (one episode per title - 8 or so titles per disc) and chapters (multiple chapters per title). Can I easily set the ES15 to play entire titles? In other words, can I program the unit to play Titles 2 and 3 and then stop?

I've had mixed success with various players / recorders, and it seems that some won't allow programming at all unless you're dealing with an audio CD. And some will only allow you to program by chapter. Makes it a real pain when you have to program 22 different chapters just to get 2 episodes to play.

Thanks!


I don't recall seeing anything in the ES15 user manual that would allow you to program playback of titles/chapters. I have the ES20 and I compared the manuals almost page by page.

It would be nice if it did, but the recorders are designed with recorder-priority...

Panasonic (marketing) has a bizarre way of dividing features between their dvd players and recorders. For example the ES20 can CM-Skip and TimeSlip on _all_ types of unfinalized DVDs, but not on finalized/commercial, while the dvd player S29 cannot CM-Skip/TimeSlip on +R/+RW, but can CM-Skip/TimeSlip on everything else finalized/commercial and VR mode. This makes more sense however when one considers that the ES20/ES15 were presumably designed with recorder-priority, not playback-priority.

Boldly trying a new DVR: http://moto3416review.blogspot.com/
ncaahoops is offline  
post #198 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
ZManCartFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaahoops View Post

I don't recall seeing anything in the ES15 user manual that would allow you to program playback of titles/chapters.

Well, crud. Thought I had found the perfect recorder for the bedroom. When will manufacturers realize that not everyone can afford / has room for / wants multiple units in any given space?

But, just for the record, has anyone actually tried to program the unit?

Thanks.
ZManCartFan is offline  
post #199 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I don't understand why what you're asking for is so important. If you recorded a bunch of episodes of whatever onto a DVD, there would be a thumbnail for each one in the Top Menu. To get it to play Title 2 just click on it's thumbnail. Once that completes, it will then play Title 3 (typically), or if you want a different one, return to the Top Menu (one button on the remote typically), and click on the thumbnail of the Title you want to play. I'm not seeing the big advantage to being able to tell it in advance to play Title X after playing Title Y. It saves a few button presses between the two Titles, but probably at the expense of having to press way more buttons up front to program it (if there even were such a feature).

No doubt you have some special need to be able to do this that I'm simply not aware of.
bobkart is offline  
post #200 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 09:30 PM
Member
 
hangmans joke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: lemon springs nc
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i went with the es15 tonight. i printed out online best buy price of 144 bucks took it to store bought it no problems. the best buy store had it listed for 177 . so i saved over 30 bucks which rocks !! they had es20 clearanced marked for 150 . this was in aberdeen ,nc store.
hangmans joke is offline  
post #201 of 280 Old 05-05-2006, 11:45 PM
Member
 
SimonBelmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Isn't component (RGB) better than s-video?

Yes. It's supposed to be.
SimonBelmont is offline  
post #202 of 280 Old 05-06-2006, 12:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
swifty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my panny es-15s setup like this:

Cable box s-video out > s-video input of dvdR(es-15s)

dvdR(es-15s) component out > component input TV (progressive)

I can view all of my cable channels perfectly through my es-15s component output.
swifty7 is offline  
post #203 of 280 Old 05-06-2006, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
ZManCartFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkart View Post

No doubt you have some special need to be able to do this that I'm simply not aware of.

Yeah, there is. My wife and I like to occassionally program the unit to play a couple of episodes of a TV show while we're going to bed. If we happen to fall asleep the sleep timer on the TV will shut it off, but it's nice to have the DVD player be able to sort of do the same. And we don't always want to watch episodes that are sequential, so being able to program different titles to play back-to-back is important.

Thanks for the help.
ZManCartFan is offline  
post #204 of 280 Old 05-06-2006, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Jay C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabboy View Post

Bought one last week from bestbuy.com & picked it up from their Carson City store.
It was on sale at a cheaper price online this week so I printed out the ad & took the ad & my receipt to their store in Victorville, California. At first they said yes, they would refund the difference....until they saw my receipt. They said they could not do a refund since I bought in on line (something about their computers). I told them I would order one on line & return the unit I had. They said fine. Instead, I found a unit in stock (after dealing with a very blonde salesgirl....another story) and was able to buy it for the on line price. Tomorrow I will return the original unit.
Overall I will save $15, not counting the 2 or 3 bucks in gas. A cautionary tale.

So you're rich enough that that $13 isn't worth your time ... your alias is befitting I'd still say you got "free money" you didn't know was there. However, I did state that it was up to each store on how they would handle a price match/return to the web prices.

All in good fun,
Jay
Jay C is offline  
post #205 of 280 Old 05-06-2006, 07:20 AM
Member
 
Jay C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZManCartFan View Post

Yeah, there is. My wife and I like to occassionally program the unit to play a couple of episodes of a TV show while we're going to bed. If we happen to fall asleep the sleep timer on the TV will shut it off, but it's nice to have the DVD player be able to sort of do the same. And we don't always want to watch episodes that are sequential, so being able to program different titles to play back-to-back is important.

Thanks for the help.

The DVR has a timer too. It defaults to 4 hours then it'll shut itself off. I agree with the previous poster ... this a a bell that might appeal to you but I would never use it and am glad I didn't have to pay for it. But if your heart is set on it, keep searching.

In fact, I have never used the A->B play feature on my Pioneer DVD player ... can not figure out why you would need it outside of the sales room floor I'd figure the same thing if I saw this feature. Geeze, in LP you only have 8 30 minute shows.

FWIW,
Jay
Jay C is offline  
post #206 of 280 Old 05-06-2006, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
ZManCartFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay C View Post

I agree with the previous poster ... this a a bell that might appeal to you but I would never use it and am glad I didn't have to pay for it. But if your heart is set on it, keep searching.

I will. This used to be a standard feature on every DVD unit sold, and I'm noticing that it's going away. I agree that it's not important to most people; that's why I was asking about it before buying.

I appreciate the feedback.
ZManCartFan is offline  
post #207 of 280 Old 05-06-2006, 10:12 AM
Member
 
hwd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swifty7 View Post

I have my panny es-15s setup like this:

Cable box s-video out > s-video input of dvdR(es-15s)

dvdR(es-15s) component out > component input TV (progressive)

I can view all of my cable channels perfectly through my es-15s component output.


I am delighted to hear that this set-up works. I have a DMR-EH55 on order and I was hoping that I wouldn't have to run S-Video and Component to my plasma TV. I do believe that the models that have a VCR have the Component out dedicated to DVD and therefore if you have an S-Video feed from your cable or Sat. STB you will also have to have S-Video to your TV.
hwd3 is offline  
post #208 of 280 Old 05-06-2006, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ncaahoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZManCartFan View Post

Well, crud. Thought I had found the perfect recorder for the bedroom. When will manufacturers realize that not everyone can afford / has room for / wants multiple units in any given space?

But, just for the record, has anyone actually tried to program the unit?

Thanks.

Well, if they had more resources to put into it, it would be nice if they added more playback features. However, when they have to trade-off (which is what usually happens) they should be using the resources for recording features over playback features.

I don't think anyone can try to program it as is since there is no button/interface that allows you to do that. But since you asked, I'll try to use the Program button of my Panasonic S29 dvd player's remote control to see if the ES20 reacts to it Maybe if they are using shared firmware and if they did not disable that feature... I will report back...

Boldly trying a new DVR: http://moto3416review.blogspot.com/
ncaahoops is offline  
post #209 of 280 Old 05-07-2006, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ncaahoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaahoops View Post

I'll try to use the Program button of my Panasonic S29 dvd player's remote control to see if the ES20 reacts to it Maybe if they are using shared firmware and if they did not disable that feature... I will report back...

I just tried it and it does not work. I did not discover any other hidden features either

Boldly trying a new DVR: http://moto3416review.blogspot.com/
ncaahoops is offline  
post #210 of 280 Old 05-07-2006, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
ZManCartFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaahoops View Post

I just tried it and it does not work. I did not discover any other hidden features either

Thanks for the help. I really do appreciate it.

I'm not sure if Panasonic will, though, as they just lost a sale. But I certainly understand all of the arguments against having the extra features associated with a player, and that they focused on the recording capabilities. It's just a shame that things like this are dropped, as program play has been a standard feature on DVD players since the dawn of the technology (and CD players before that!) I'm sure it wouldn't have taken much to include it.
ZManCartFan is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off