New RCA DRC8052N?? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 227 Old 09-21-2006, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upscaling comes from the connection!

The best conection is the HDMI which will upscale to 1080i but keep in mind the PQ will still be determined by the source i.e. quality of the recording of the DVD.

Stalker
Stalker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 227 Old 09-21-2006, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stalker View Post

Upscaling comes from the connection!

The best conection is the HDMI which will upscale to 1080i but keep in mind the PQ will still be determined by the source i.e. quality of the recording of the DVD.

An HDMI connection doesn't upscale, in this case the DVD Player/Recorder does that, then sends the result over HDMI, which is delivered to the display just as it gets it. An HDMI connection is just a cable, with no ability to change the video characteristics (such as resolution) as it goes through.
bobkart is offline  
post #93 of 227 Old 09-23-2006, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
dpcolgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know where I can get/purchase a replacement remote for my new DRC-8052N?
dpcolgan is offline  
post #94 of 227 Old 09-24-2006, 04:24 PM
Member
 
spacelunatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found this in the model 8060 User's guide at the back under Accessories:

Remote Control (RCR615DCM1)
part number 261387; $23.10

How to Order
To place an order by phone, have your Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card ready and call the toll-free number listed below.
Use this number only to place an order for accessory items.
1-800-338-0376

The necktie is a symbolic leash, symbolizing the wearer's domesticity and subservience to the demands of society.

Cut a tree, plant a tree.
spacelunatic is offline  
post #95 of 227 Old 09-25-2006, 03:57 PM
Member
 
gwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I learned that if you connect the 8060n via HDMI the other outputs stop working. So you can't have it put out to more then one TV or a slingbox as I was planning to do until I found out its a no go. Unless I missed something.
gwave is offline  
post #96 of 227 Old 09-30-2006, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
8IronBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Suburbs of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I have just received this DRC8052N as a birthday gift, and currently have it hooked up to a Westinghouse 32" LCD HD-Ready TV (the old LTV-32w1) using an HDMI-DVI cable (from Philips). Now, the problem that I have with this, is that even though it records from the cable box, and plays back those DVDs just fine. However, I have it that, if I were to play any commercial, Hollywood DVD, the sound will play, but the screen will flicker and sometimes lose the signal, even at the 720p and 1080i signals. I'm quite sure that the Westinghouse DVI is HDCP compliant whilst having that HDMI-DVI connection. Was there any way to set region codes, or other types of programming for the DVD playing feature regarding commercial DVDs at all? Don't tell me that RCA's trying to pull another Sony on me.

AVS Forum...The Final Frontier. My continuing mission. To explore strange, new equipment, to seek out new movies and technology. Boldly going where no enthusiast had gone before.
8IronBob is offline  
post #97 of 227 Old 10-04-2006, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
cinlea2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased an RCA DRC8052N DVD recorder appx 2 months ago. One annoying problem is that periodically, it locks up and won't respond to any commands, whether its from the remote or whether I push the buttons on the recorder itself. The only solution is to unplug it. Of course, then I have to reprogram everything again. The issue that is giving me the most grief, and which I am looking for help with, is that periodically it jumps off the channel and records snow. I have to stop recording, go to setup, arrow down to "tv channel", and it immediately goes back to the station I was supposed to be recording. This happens about once a week, at random times. I record all news programs (AM, noon, 5pm, 11pm) every day of the week. There's no pattern to which day or which time this happens. Does anyone have any idea what might be wrong?
cinlea2001 is offline  
post #98 of 227 Old 11-01-2006, 06:41 AM
KAB
Newbie
 
KAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$89.99 +$5 s/h on woot today (11/01)


No, not spamming the site - thinking of buying one and was looking for info on how good/bad it is and came across this thread. Thought I"d pass along the deal info

This would be my first/only recorder and I plan to use it only for keeping copies of things already recored on my DVR. Given that intended use, can anyone see a reason not to purchase it?

Thanks for all the info posted previously

K
KAB is offline  
post #99 of 227 Old 11-01-2006, 09:26 AM
Member
 
CieJe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea, I saw that woot deal and I almost bit... I'm not sure if I will or not. reviews etc around the net don't look too favorable... but honestly they don't look favorable for most dvd recorders that I've looked at. info from people that own one would be awesome
CieJe is offline  
post #100 of 227 Old 11-01-2006, 10:41 AM
KAB
Newbie
 
KAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I posted earlier, I hadn't noticed that the Woot deal is for a reman'd unit. I think I'm gonna pass as I get a uneasy fealing about the reliability of those types of things
KAB is offline  
post #101 of 227 Old 11-01-2006, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Olevia37HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAB View Post

When I posted earlier, I hadn't noticed that the Woot deal is for a reman'd unit. I think I'm gonna pass as I get a uneasy fealing about the reliability of those types of things

Never mind this unit is a piece of junk when new(IMHO)!!!
Olevia37HD is offline  
post #102 of 227 Old 11-01-2006, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Ruhl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've had the exact opposite experience. I've had mine for over 5 months now. Not a single problem.....
Chris Ruhl is offline  
post #103 of 227 Old 11-01-2006, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Olevia37HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Ruhl View Post

I've had the exact opposite experience. I've had mine for over 5 months now. Not a single problem.....

You ever try to play a DVD full of Divx files?
Olevia37HD is offline  
post #104 of 227 Old 11-01-2006, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
randym431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Des Moines, iOwa
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.rcaaudiovideo.com/rcaav06...RC8052N_SS.pdf

Says it comes with hdmi cable AND supports DTS audio. ?????
randym431 is offline  
post #105 of 227 Old 11-02-2006, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Ruhl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine did not come with an HDMI cable. I have mine hoooked up to a secondary system with an older Pioneer DD 5.1 receiver (doesn't support DTS). However I am 99% sure I recall seeing a "DTS" logo on the top of the unit.

And Olevia37HD, no I can't say I tried any Divx files on the mahcine. I take it, it didn't work for you?
Chris Ruhl is offline  
post #106 of 227 Old 11-02-2006, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Olevia37HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olevia37HD View Post

Let me say I recommend upconverting to get this best quality picture from any source. Which this unit gives you.
I find this DVD recorder gives you a lot for your money.
The only problem I'm having is the unit Freezing while setting up to playing a divx files.
But only with divx files.
I'll have several files on a DVD-RW and I go to the Title screen and its seems to happen if I pick a file and don't let it preview first. But then again it could happen from moving around on that screen to fast.
This is my 2nd unit having the same problem.
Anyone have any ideas?
Other than that the picture is amazing comming from this unit.

Junk and not worth the trouble.
Olevia37HD is offline  
post #107 of 227 Old 11-08-2006, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
randym431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Des Moines, iOwa
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It DOES support DTS audio (if you have a DTS enabled receiver).
randym431 is offline  
post #108 of 227 Old 11-09-2006, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
randym431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Des Moines, iOwa
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this output digital optical audio out while selecting hdmi hookup? Some dvd hdmi players disable optical out when in hdmi mode.
randym431 is offline  
post #109 of 227 Old 11-09-2006, 09:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olevia37HD View Post

You ever try to play a DVD full of Divx files?

Have you tried the same Divx files on a CD?
wajo is offline  
post #110 of 227 Old 11-09-2006, 10:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Olevia37HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabjxo View Post

Have you tried the same Divx files on a CD?

No. Does it say it only plays Divix files on CD?
But I did tried the same DVD Divix Disc on a SAMSUNG DVD-R135, which didn't have a problem with it.
Did I say how much of a piece of junk the DRC8052N is and you should avoid at all cost!!!!
If you looking for a player that does what its advertises try the SAMSUNG DVD-R135.
Olevia37HD is offline  
post #111 of 227 Old 11-09-2006, 10:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olevia37HD View Post

No. Does it say it only plays Divix files on CD?
But I did tried the same DVD Divix Disc on a SAMSUNG DVD-R135, which didn't have a problem with it.

The Pio 640 manual says it plays DivX files on CD-R/RW, but nothing mentioned re: it also playing on DVDs. Might be the same on your recorder?

Also or instead, you might try changing the filename to .AVI since, according to Wikipedia, DivX "format is simply the AVI file format by another name."
wajo is offline  
post #112 of 227 Old 11-09-2006, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Olevia37HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabjxo View Post

The Pio 640 manual says it plays DivX files on CD-R/RW, but nothing mentioned re: it also playing on DVDs. Might be the same on your recorder?

Also or instead, you might try changing the filename to .AVI since, according to Wikipedia, DivX "format is simply the AVI file format by another name."

And why would I want to do all of that?
Remember the SAMSUNG playes the original Divix DVD.
Infact out of all the players I tried from BB & Wallyworld the RCA was the only Divix player that had a problem.
I'm glad most stores have a 30 or 90 day lease. I'm working on one now, for the Philips DVDR3390. Which will go back. The remote sucks and no ff or rew with Divix files.
Olevia37HD is offline  
post #113 of 227 Old 11-09-2006, 11:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olevia37HD View Post

And why would I want to do all of that? .

You're right...no reason whatsoever.
wajo is offline  
post #114 of 227 Old 12-31-2006, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
FishGuy72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I just picked up the DRC8052NC for $99 and it included a HDMI cable in the box. I was basically looking for something to archive my Moxi box recordings to DVD until an affordable Hi Def DVD Recorder is available. I'm thinking this will be the perfect unit to fill the gap.

I never record anything over 2 hours (so SP setting should be good), I really wanted HDMI upconvert (this upconverts the DVDs and the other AV input sources as well) Then of course, I needed DVD record. I didn't really need Divx, but I'll get around to testing that too at some point.

I'll let you know my results/impressions as I try all the different features.
FishGuy72 is offline  
post #115 of 227 Old 12-31-2006, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
steinway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My TV has a DV output that can control some DVR's to start to record things from the TV's control. Does anyone know if this unit has the ability to be a slave to the TV for recording?
steinway is offline  
post #116 of 227 Old 01-01-2007, 03:34 PM
Newbie
 
greenjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the RCA DRC8052NC a few weeks ago to act as a simple VCR replacement. The unit played fine and the cable pass-through worked. What it wouldn't do was record TV in anything but fuzzy black and white. Also... when scanning for cable channels, they all show up in the same fuzzy black and white. I tried different wiring configurations but could not solve the problem. I also can't seem to set this up to be able to change channels on the TV using the DVDR. Customer service could only suggest unplugging it for 30 mins and trying again.

I have it connected to a Zenith Z42PX2D plasma.

I returned it for a new one today but have the same problem - i am at a loss. A little help please. Thnx.

jg
greenjt is offline  
post #117 of 227 Old 01-01-2007, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenjt View Post

I purchased the RCA DRC8052NC a few weeks ago to act as a simple VCR replacement. The unit played fine and the cable pass-through worked. What it wouldn't do was record TV in anything but fuzzy black and white. Also... when scanning for cable channels, they all show up in the same fuzzy black and white. I tried different wiring configurations but could not solve the problem.

I have it connected to a Zenith Z42PX2D plasma.

I returned it for a new one today but have the same problem - i am at a loss. A little help please. Thnx.

jg

A B&W fuzzy image via s-video can happen if the cable is bad. I've had this happen to me.
nextoo is offline  
post #118 of 227 Old 01-01-2007, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
greenjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

A B&W fuzzy image via s-video can happen if the cable is bad. I've had this happen to me.

I should have mentioned that the same cable set-up works fine with my other DVDR.

Current wiring:
Coax in from wall
Coax out to TV
Component video and RCA audio

I also tried the HDMI and experienced no change.
greenjt is offline  
post #119 of 227 Old 01-06-2007, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
FishGuy72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update #1 on testing.

- I recorded a nice HD nature program to my Moxi.
- Then I told my Moxi to only play it back in 480i
- While this was playing I recorded it to the DVD via S-video cable
- Then I played it back on a std def DVD player which looked GREAT!
- Next I played it back again on the DVD recorder, upconverting to 1080i and it looked pretty darn good!

SO, I'm definitely keep this recorder...
FishGuy72 is offline  
post #120 of 227 Old 01-06-2007, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
FishGuy72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, greenjt... I just tried that with mine and have the same results that you are experiencing.

I wasn't really planning on using the built-in tuner, so that isn't a make or break feature for me.

I will try however to see if I can correct it and let you know. It seems like it is set to the wrong type of catv signal. Basically on most TVs, when you set them up to autoscan channels it asks you to choose 1 of a couple of different types of catv signals and if you select the wrong one you get the b&w symptoms. I noticed that when you set this unit to autoscan, it doesn't have any choices for catv type.
FishGuy72 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off