Samsung DVD-R135 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-26-2006, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jwb123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have looked everywhere for a way to make the recorder zone free. There are plenty of "hacks" out there for samsungs, but they are for zone 2 models. Any trick for the zone 1 (US) model? (menu 57538 and 76884 don't work...)
Thanks for any reply
jwb123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-03-2007, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like we are out of luck. The hacks do not work on region 1. I think the best chance we have is with Philips recorders. Even if the hack did work the Samsung does not support PAL so it would not be much help.
bobbyslav is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-03-2007, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many people solve this problem by just getting an inexpensive DVD Player that can be made Region Free.
bobkart is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-03-2007, 09:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Here's a hack that might work for a Region 1 Samsung R135 posted on videohelp.com by "Soviet" on 12/24/06...YMMV:

1. Be sure there is no disc inside the device.
2. Power on your player.
3. Press "Menu" on remote.
4. Using your remote control enter 2, 9, 3, 3, 4.
5. A code should be displayed on the screen indicating the current Region setting of your unit.
4. Press the 9 (or 0) button on your remote control for Region free.
5. Double press the "Menu" button on your remote.

Soviet's post is in this thread and lists codes for machines in all six regions. It apparently didn't work for a R145, but maybe will for the 135???
wajo is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-04-2007, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It does not work on the 135 either. At least didn't work for me.
bobbyslav is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off