List DVD Recorders with Component Input - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 07:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
he blacks are blacker which seems to make the picture look sharper.

Isn't that because components' 'setup' level (black level) is '0', not 7.5 IRE or am I thinking just NTSC vs ATSC??

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could be.

Yes component video does have a setup value of 0 IRE. But what I am describing does not rise to the level of what is typically observed with a setup of 0 IRE. It is more akin to watching a DVD when using either a DVD player's component or svideo/composite output - without any IRE adjustments. Many DVD players do not offer an adjustment.
nextoo is offline  
post #93 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 07:56 AM
d0e
Newbie
 
d0e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
of all the dvd recorders listed with component in what would be best for recording xbox360 over 16:9 component. i do not mind small loss of quality. thanks
d0e is offline  
post #94 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 121
nextoo; That extra 7.5 IRE headroom gives you a greater brightness (Y) range. It's is the reverse of having the ability to have 'whites' greater than 100 IRE.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #95 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Vamp9190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

...Also I run component out of my STB into a DVD recorder with component inputs. Use this recorder to convert the signal to svideo and then take svideo out of the DVD recorder into the svideo input of another recorder. Why? Because the second recorder does not have component inputs. The PQ is excellent and full widescreen which was the point of this thread....

1. What model Recorder?

2. Why do you have a second recorder connected to the first?
Vamp9190 is offline  
post #96 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 09:49 AM
Member
 
Vamp9190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any COMBO recorders that have component input?
Vamp9190 is offline  
post #97 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vamp9190 View Post

1. What model Recorder?

2. Why do you have a second recorder connected to the first?

In this case it is the SA8300HD cableco HD STB out via component -> into a Polaroid 2001G -> out via svideo to a Toshiba XS55.

The second is connected to the first because I want to record full widescreen video. My STB does not do this via svideo. Only component. So the first recorder with component inputs converts the signal and passes it to the second recorder via svideo - 16x9 widescreen.
nextoo is offline  
post #98 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vamp9190 View Post

Are there any COMBO recorders that have component input?

I think some older Magnavox do. I think it is the MRV700.
nextoo is offline  
post #99 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Vamp9190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I can not find ANY recorders currently on the market, combo or regular, that have component inputs.

Did they stop making them???
Vamp9190 is offline  
post #100 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Vamp9190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about this type set-up (copied from another forum):

Here's another setup that appears to work:

1. Run component video directly from cable box (in my case: Motorola 6412 Phase III from Comcast) to HD TV (say Input 1).
2. Run coax from RF-out on cable box to RF-in on DVD-R (Panasonic DMR-ES20).
3. Run component video from DVD-R to HD TV (say Input 2).

Notes:
- This assumes your TV has 2 component video inputs.
- This also assumes that the RF-out on your cable box is enabled.
- When viewing TV on Input 1, you get HD TV directly from the cable box.
- Recording onto the DVD-R gives you a standard TV signal and, therefore, playback of recorded video (on Input 2 of the TV) is standard.
Vamp9190 is offline  
post #101 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess it depends on what you are trying to do. I my case I need to run component to my DVD recorder because it is the only way I can get a full widescreen image to my recorder. When using the RF/composite/svideo outputs of my STB the STB artificially letterboxes the image and sends it as 4:3.

If this is not a concern then what you suggest will work. You could also run svideo or composite to your recorder instead of RF. There may be an improvement in PQ.

Also your Moto STB may be capable of doing full widescreen via RF/composite/svideo. Not sure.
nextoo is offline  
post #102 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Vamp9190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotcha. Yeah I need to check that.

If not, where can I get a new recorder (combo preferrably) that has component input? Are they making them anymore?
Vamp9190 is offline  
post #103 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Nope. If anybody is, they ain't selling them in this country.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #104 of 144 Old 10-02-2007, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing new. There is a Magnavox MRV700 selling on ebay right now for $85 with free shipping. Buy it Now - not an auction. Refurbished. For that price it might be an okay deal.
nextoo is offline  
post #105 of 144 Old 10-03-2007, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Vamp9190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah Ok, I noticed that searching around yesterday.

Except since those are 2-3? years old, everyone says that there are multiple issues recording and just reliability in gereral.

May be better off getting a new unit that is reliable and living with black bars on HD downconverted to SD recordings.
Vamp9190 is offline  
post #106 of 144 Old 10-16-2007, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
DVDO+WESTY=1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so bottom line I have HD recordings on my 8300HD I just bought the poloraid for 140 new on ebay, connect 8300hd to poloroid with component input than component out from poloroid to component in on tv. set 8300hd to 480i widescreen and I should be good to go and have 16x9 recordings from the dvr to a dvd disc?
DVDO+WESTY=1080p is offline  
post #107 of 144 Old 10-16-2007, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDO+WESTY=1080p View Post

so bottom line I have HD recordings on my 8300HD I just bought the poloraid for 140 new on ebay, connect 8300hd to poloroid with component input than component out from poloroid to component in on tv. set 8300hd to 480i widescreen and I should be good to go and have 16x9 recordings from the dvr to a dvd disc?

Yes. To a DVD disc or the hard drive.
nextoo is offline  
post #108 of 144 Old 10-17-2007, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
DVDO+WESTY=1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can't wait to try it out thanks. it will also be a good test for my tv to upscale the 480i signal to 1080p on the screen
DVDO+WESTY=1080p is offline  
post #109 of 144 Old 10-21-2007, 03:17 PM
Member
 
had1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone confirm that the Phillips DVDR75 will (1) record in full widescreen 16:9 with the Component-In connected, (2) pass-through full widescreen 16:9 via S-video out when Component-In is connected? As per Nextoo I know the Polaroid 2001G will, I need to know if the DVDR75 will also?
Thanks
had1 is offline  
post #110 of 144 Old 11-14-2007, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
DVDO+WESTY=1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Poloroid 2001G recorder no picture thru component inputs or outputs

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am not getting a picture with the poloroid thru the component inputs from the 8300HD, I have set the 8300HD to 480i Widescreen, but I am not seeing a picture when I turn on the poloroid only when I turn the poloroid off, any advice? I really want to transfer HD recordings (480i) to DVD and return a few DVR's thanks!
DVDO+WESTY=1080p is offline  
post #111 of 144 Old 11-20-2007, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
DVDO+WESTY=1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
never mind I got it to work and it works beautifully, send 480i widescreen to the Poloroid and send 480p from the poloroid to the 1080p tv thru component, thanks for all your help, now I can cut down some DVR expenses.
DVDO+WESTY=1080p is offline  
post #112 of 144 Old 12-02-2007, 05:22 PM
Member
 
had1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVDO+WESTY=1080p,
So all you had to do to make it work was send the 480P signal to you HDTV, right?
had1 is offline  
post #113 of 144 Old 04-30-2012, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to revive a REALLY old thread but I have a similar problem with recording from some high def channels to my Pioneer 640. I screwed up a recording to the PVR and got the high def picture instead of standard def. Doesn't seem to be any way to preserve the recording to DVD-R with the current setup. However, I found a Vision Quest PVR5000 DVD recorder at a pawn shop today that has component inputs which *should* allow me to pass the signal from the satellite PVR through to the Pioneer 640 with the correct aspect ratio. The price is equivalent to me buying a component to composite converter box with the added benefit of having another DVD recorder. Any thoughts?

Note...not even sure the component inputs work as there is no mention of them in the owners manual. But we all know these off brand players/recorders seem to be able to do things that bigger brands can't so it might be worth a shot.
Doug O is offline  
post #114 of 144 Old 04-30-2012, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjbawc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Pio 640, and a Pio 650, and have had no trouble whatsoever, recording from HD channels. Recording from the S-Vid output of my Comcast Motorola DVR produces LB images. So, I bought some component>S-Vid converters, to give me the squeezed anamorphic signal, so I can record anamorphic DVDs from HD sources. Converters are a much better route to go, rather than old DVDRs with component inputs, if anamorphic DVDs are your goal. There are a couple of threads about such converters.
kjbawc is offline  
post #115 of 144 Old 05-01-2012, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjbawc View Post

I have a Pio 640, and a Pio 650, and have had no trouble whatsoever, recording from HD channels. Recording from the S-Vid output of my Comcast Motorola DVR produces LB images. So, I bought some component>S-Vid converters, to give me the squeezed anamorphic signal, so I can record anamorphic DVDs from HD sources. Converters are a much better route to go, rather than old DVDRs with component inputs, if anamorphic DVDs are your goal. There are a couple of threads about such converters.

Yes, I have read several of them. Some of the cheap Chinese made ones seem problematic with problems like wrong IRE levels or green tint to output. There are modifications that can be done to correct these problems or else you can buy a higher grade converter. At least with the DVD recorder I can take it back if it doesn't work. I'm also noticing a trend in that HDD recorders seem to be a premium for resale. The last Vision Quest PVR5000 I saw on The sale items on this forum was twice what the pawn shop wants for this one. That said, I can't figure out why some people are paying so heavy for some of the older decks. I was able to acquire most of the decks I own for free or under $100. $300 for an old Panny seems way too much...
Doug O is offline  
post #116 of 144 Old 05-01-2012, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Church AV Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: High Desert, California
Posts: 4,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 52
At the risk of sounding unknowledgable, I'll give you my standard answer to these type of question. Since you can return the Vision Quest, I'd give it a try, and if it works, great. If not return it and get the component to S-Video converter. These things are, as someone has said, a BIT problematic as they can have color and brightness issues, and some of them have over/under scan issues as well.

Luke

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.-JOA
Church AV Guy is online now  
post #117 of 144 Old 05-01-2012, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, they gave me a good price on it return or no (I'm guessing they hope I don't return it), at $60. Not bad for a 250gb used recorder. I wonder if these can be modded like my Daytek ones by replacing the drive with a bigger one. The Daytek was nice since there was no fiddling around...just drop in a bigger drive and the recorder formatted it for you. No need of things like service remotes or needing to marry the drive and recorder. We shall see...
Doug O is offline  
post #118 of 144 Old 05-01-2012, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyclone82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It might depend on what region the converters are made for as to what the IRE level is. I would imagine the chinese made ones would 0IRE but who knows. Same thing for all the Cypress and rebranded converters from Taiwan. Thats one thing you just dont really know if its set up for NTSC or PAL. Are americal companies such as AVtool, Hall research, Ambery etc getting the same converters as the CYP versions sold in many PAL regions except for different colour casing and power supplies or are those american companies getting Cypress to tweak the black level to suit american market????? so many questions.

I want to get one like this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hall-Researc...item3373e52e83

Just not sure on what brand yet. When i get one i will let you know what its like.

By the way Cypress just emailed me so i took the opportunity to ask them if there are any differences between their componernt converter and the ones they manufacture for the USA companies such as AVtool, Atlona, Hall research etc. I asked if they change the black levels or anything.

I would suspect not because the devices are sold as being NTSC and PAL compatible
Cyclone82 is offline  
post #119 of 144 Old 05-02-2012, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice device but a bit pricey to get some old BW movies off my PVR...

I did get the Vision Quest set up. The previous owner was trying to do the same thing and failed for some reason. There are a couple pillarboxed vids on the hard drive. Could be he didn't know to set the cable/sat box to 480i as the output. I need to get some more Component cables to add to the satellte box but hopefully I can have a report back to you in a day or so. Thanks for all the setup info. Should make this a lot easier...
Doug O is offline  
post #120 of 144 Old 05-02-2012, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyclone82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Really for component conversion you are limited to these basic options.

1 - the cheap under $100 chinese stuff eg Lenkeng and similar really hit an miss quality wise, there are some OK reviews but it comes down to how fussy the person is quality wise.
2 - the better quality $200 -$600 Tawainese stuff eg Cypress and the companies who Cypress make them for and probably Shinybow fit in this category too are generally a better option.
3 - then the $600 and beyond stuff that is really targeted at professionals and out of the average persons reach.

There may be others that i am not aware off but 90% of this stuff comes from a handful of factories in China or Taiwan these days.

That one in my link above was at the upper end of the scale for that particular converter. You can that one for around $400ish or there is another one discussed a lot in 'the cheaper component to s-vid/composite converter' that has less features and is around $190-$320 depending on where you get it and what brand it is. A few guys on here use that one.
Cyclone82 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off