Polaroid DVD recorder question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pikeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've browsed through the 43 page (!) polaroid thread and couldn't find this question:

I burned a dozen episodes of twilight zone from the hdd to a disk and finalized it, but it wouldn't play in my other dvd player (sony) or my computer (nec dvd burner).

I used dvd decrypter to copy the data to my computer hdd and re-burned it with nero burning rom. Now the new disk works in my sony dvd player, but it's exactly the same as the disk I burned in the polaroid.

Am I going to have to double burn everything I pull off of my polaroid?

I'm using tayo Yuden (sp?) dvd-r disks, so I shouldn't be having any cheap media problems.

Thanks!
pikeshadow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikeshadow View Post

I've browsed through the 43 page (!) polaroid thread and couldn't find this question:

I burned a dozen episodes of twilight zone from the hdd to a disk and finalized it, but it wouldn't play in my other dvd player (sony) or my computer (nec dvd burner).

I used dvd decrypter to copy the data to my computer hdd and re-burned it with nero burning rom. Now the new disk works in my sony dvd player, but it's exactly the same as the disk I burned in the polaroid.

Am I going to have to double burn everything I pull off of my polaroid?

I'm using tayo Yuden (sp?) dvd-r disks, so I shouldn't be having any cheap media problems.

Thanks!

What model Sony player?

The discs don't play in your computer but you can see them in order to use dvd decrypter? Strange. What DVD player are you using in your computer?
nextoo is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You shouldn't need DVD Decrypter, just drag/drop the VIDEO_TS folder off of the DVD and onto your PC's hard drive.
bobkart is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless you want to bring it in as an ISO file.

You can also use it to bring all the VOBs in as one long VOB file.
nextoo is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Unless you want to bring it in as an ISO file.

Indeed. ISO files have the advantage of exactly preserving the layout of the files on the disc. So if you're worried that your burning application won't lay them out right on the target disc, using ISO files would be a way to alleviate that concern. In my experience I've never had such a layout problem, and in fact have never resorted to ISO files to copy discs (or any other reason for that matter). But others no doubt have different experiences.

I would be curious to know how he deterimined that the copies (burned by Nero) are exactly the same as the originals (burned by the Polaroid). Beyond of course just assuming that to be the case since the were created by copying.
bobkart is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pikeshadow - strange question but are you positive you have finalized the disc on the Polaroid?

Strange question I know because you can see it on your computer but I have been able to move unfinalized Polaroid discs to other drives.
nextoo is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

You can also use it to bring all the VOBs in as one long VOB file.

You will lose chapter/menu information that way though.
bobkart is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pikeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

What model Sony player?

The discs don't play in your computer but you can see them in order to use dvd decrypter? Strange. What DVD player are you using in your computer?

I tried playing it with PowerDVD and WindowsMediaPlayer. Media Player would play it, but would freeze at every point where I editted a commercial. PowerDVD wouldn't recognize it like a commercial DVD, I had to load the video TS files individually, and the menu wouldn't work.

My Sony is a DVP-S530D (Old! I bought it spring 2000) it doesn't even play mp3s. I thought it was strange that it would give me an error on the disk straight out of the polaroid, but play the xerox'd disk just fine, and even show the main menu (which worked, and let me pick any of the 12 episodes to play.)
pikeshadow is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

pikeshadow - strange question but are you positive you have finalized the disc on the Polaroid?

He does say that he finalized it or I would have asked that question too.

Lack of finalization would easily explain not being able to see the disc on PC. Whether DVD Decrypter could see it anyway I can't say, having never used it.
bobkart is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkart View Post

You will lose chapter/menu information that way though.

Yes all of it. But it is a good way to bring in video you may want to author on the PC. This way you are not joining the files on the PC. Doesn't really apply here but dvd decrpter does a lot of great things beyond what its name implies.
nextoo is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikeshadow View Post

My Sony is a DVP-S530D (Old! I bought it spring 2000) it doesn't even play mp3s. I thought it was strange that it would give me an error on the disk straight out of the polaroid, but play the xerox'd disk just fine, and even show the main menu (which worked, and let me pick any of the 12 episodes to play.)

You're using the exact same kind of disc (media ID) for both burns (Polaroid and Nero)? The Taiyo Yuden's I assume?
bobkart is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pikeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

pikeshadow - strange question but are you positive you have finalized the disc on the Polaroid?

Strange question I know because you can see it on your computer but I have been able to move unfinalized Polaroid discs to other drives.

Sorry, didn't see these posts before I answered the others. You guys are on top of things! :-)

Yep, I finalized the disk in the polaroid, and it would play just fine afterwards. (only in the polaroid)

I only say exact copy because I just opened the disk with dvd decrypter, copied the contents of the disk to a folder; then dragged the entire folder into the video TS folder in nero and hit burn.
pikeshadow is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And the Polaroid disc is finalized?
nextoo is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pikeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkart View Post

You're using the exact same kind of disc (media ID) for both burns (Polaroid and Nero)? The Taiyo Yuden's I assume?


Yep, same TY media...
pikeshadow is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lots of parallel posting at the moment.

If the same discs were used for both burns I'm having a hard time explaining your symptoms. "It should work!"

EDIT: Just saw your affirmative response. I have no explanation for your problem unfortunately. Exact copies on the same brand/etc. of media should be equally playable barring some one-off media problem. A repeat of the experiment is called for.
bobkart is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sounds like the circa 2000 Sony may not like the +VR format that the Polaroid burns with. I'm going to check with an older Proscan player I have to see if I can get the same results.
nextoo is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Nero do anything different when it burns?
nextoo is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

It sounds like the circa 2000 Sony may not like the +VR format that the Polaroid burns with. I'm going to check with an older Proscan player I have to see if I can get the same results.

But wouldn't an exact copy of the +VR disc also be a +VR disc and therefore also not play if that's the reason the original doesn't play?
bobkart is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkart View Post

Lots of parallel posting at the moment.

If the same discs were used for both burns I'm having a hard time explaining your symptoms. "It should work!"

EDIT: Just saw your affirmative response. I have no explanation for your problem unfortunately. Exact copies on the same brand/etc. of media should be equally playable barring some one-off media problem. A repeat of the experiment is called for.

Agreed. Strange. A variable here is the burner. Could the Sony not like the way the Polaroid burner burns a disc. But is ok with how the disc is physically burned with the NEC? No idea. Strange indeed.
nextoo is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Does Nero do anything different when it burns?

That could be the explanation. It burns the same files but perhaps in a differently-named folder.

Each of the two discs could be copied to PC and examined for minor discrepancies.

Another approach would be to use an ISO copy. It would rule out burner differences if both discs are equally unplayable that way.
bobkart is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkart View Post

That could be the explanation. It burns the same files but perhaps in a differently-named folder.

Each of the two discs could be copied to PC and examined for minor discrepancies.

Another approach would be to use an ISO copy. It would rule out burner differences if both discs are equally unplayable that way.

Yes. Id look to see if that video_rm folder is on the computer burned disc.
nextoo is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bobkart - your ISO comment makes perfect sense in order to rule out or rule in the burner.
nextoo is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pikeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Yes. Id look to see if that video_rm folder is on the computer burned disc.

Ok, a little more info...

I put both dvds in my PC, there are a few differences:

The polaroid disk shows up as DVD_VR and has a VIDEO_TS and VIDEO_RM folder
In the VIDEO_RM folder there are the following files:
VIDEO_RM
VIDEO_RM.BUP
VIDEO_RM.IFO

The disk I re-created with nero shows up as NEW and has the normal VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folders

Maybe that can help with the diagnosis...
pikeshadow is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikeshadow View Post

Ok, a little more info...

I put both dvds in my PC, there are a few differences:

The polaroid disk shows up as DVD_VR and has a VIDEO_TS and VIDEO_RM folder
In the VIDEO_RM folder there are the following files:
VIDEO_RM
VIDEO_RM.BUP
VIDEO_RM.IFO

The disk I re-created with nero shows up as NEW and has the normal VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folders

Maybe that can help with the diagnosis...

This tells me that Nero is converting the +VR Polaroid format to Video Mode. Your Sony does not like the +VR format. Your options are limited. You might try a +R disc and see if the Sony likes +VR on a +R disc. Even try RW discs which you should use anyways if it turns out you have to reburn under Nero.

The circa 2000 I think may come into play with the +VR format.
nextoo is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nero may just be losing the VIDEO_RM folder, which could be what it confusing the Sony player.

If you just consider what's in the VIDEO_TS folders on each disc, are they the same (names of files and sizes for example). Because a format conversion of that content is not within what I would expect Nero just copying the disc to do.
bobkart is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good point. A Sony made in 2000 probably is as compliant as it gets to the DVD Video standard. Just the presence of the video_rm folder alone may be enough to make playback fail.
nextoo is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 01-06-2007, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pikeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...

I guess I'll have to dig out a cheapie dvd player that's buried in the basement to see if it gets the same errors. It's only a year or two old, so it should play it if any will.

I don't know if I'll hang on to this dvd recorder if I have to burn discs twice to get them to play...
pikeshadow is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 01-13-2007, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pikeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've come across another issue with the Polaroid:

When watching tv shows on my Directivo thru the Polaroid, I'm getting sound jitters. It sounds like the sound is skipping slightly, it's real annoying during dialogue. The skipping transfers to recorded disks as well.

I've verified the glitches aren't there if I switch the feed from my Directivo directly to my receiver. So it's coming from the Polaroid. I'm just wondering if I may have some bad composite cables.

Has anyone else had this problem?

I am thinking more and more about getting rid of this recorder for a non hdd model if they are easier for dumping stuff from a DVR to disc.
pikeshadow is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 01-13-2007, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
DLSDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I run Motorola Moxi HD-DVR-> component->Polaroid->component->monitor and DVR-> analog R+W->Polaroid->SPDIF->Denon AVR. No audio problems. Maybe its your cable or Polaroid??
DLSDO is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 01-14-2007, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Good point. A Sony made in 2000 probably is as compliant as it gets to the DVD Video standard. Just the presence of the video_rm folder alone may be enough to make playback fail.

Or possibly, the lack of the AUDIO_TS folder... I had an old 1998 Sony DVD player that wouldn't play a disc if it didn't have the AUDIO_TS folder (even if it was empty)

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off