Cheaper Component to S-Video Converter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 694 Old 04-01-2007, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.svideo.com/appletv2tv.html

For those of you who are boxed in by forced 16:9 letterboxing from your STB via s-video. It looks like converters will become more reasonable very soon.

The converter in the link above was originally selling for $99 but it looks like the price was recently increased - probably because of demand. The converter is often discussed in Apple TV forums. This device may breath new life into DVD recorders that lack component inputs for those that want to record full widescreen 16:9 via s-video from a component source.

I'm guessing in a few months after the dust settles the price will start to come down.
nextoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 694 Old 04-01-2007, 08:26 PM
SAH
Member
 
SAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for the exact type of device. I really want to record 16:9 to my Pioneer 640's hard drive. I have tried separate tuners, and even a Tivo Series 3, but the 640 only records 4:3 .I think it is because it only has S-Video in and the out put from these other tuner is 480 for the S-Video. The component output is widescreen.

I read the description of this device, but the paragraph below sounds like it also converts the video to 4:3 and does not keep the 16:9.

The AppleTV outputs videos on a "widescreen" aspect ratio, also known as 16:9 (pronounced 16 by 9) aspect ratio. This converter will allow you to see the videos on traditional square TVs that have a 4:3 aspect ratio.
SAH is offline  
post #3 of 694 Old 06-20-2007, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered one of these and it works as advertised. It does a good job of converting a 16x9 widescreen output from an STB via component to s-video.

For those that want to record full 16x9 widescreen from an HD source (480i) but their STBs will only output widescreen via component (and your DVD recorder does not have component inputs) then this will do the trick. It doesn't set any flags but it will convert component output to s-video without any artificial letterboxing.
nextoo is offline  
post #4 of 694 Old 07-02-2007, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Small update here.

This component to svideo converter does not pass broadcast flags. Meaning I was able to record OnDemand PPV. And I was able to do this with a very CP sensitive DVD recorder. A Toshiba XS55. This was done with a high definition OnDemand PPV movie at 480i. The recording on the Toshiba was in 16x9 widescreen via svideo. No CP alerts.

Also this device does not scale. It sends a high definition signal out via svideo (my STB has to be set at 480i for the Toshiba to be able to record). This may be of interest if somebody wants to send a high definition video signal to an svideo input on an HD television. I haven't tested this yet to an HD TV but based on how the DVD recorder reacted when the cable STB was set to 480p, 720p and 1080i it is obvious the svideo from the device is in HD.

This device may be of interest for those with "STB fatigue". I currently use a Polaroid 2001G to convert component to svideo for recording full widescreen 16x9 to my Toshiba XS55. This device eliminates the need for the Polaroid and thus one STB in the stack. The Polaroid offers many more features and thus will remain but for those looking for something small and simple this may be the answer.

The testing setup is as follows:

SA8300HD -> component to svideo converter -> Toshibs XS55 -> out to HD TV via HDMI at 1080i
nextoo is offline  
post #5 of 694 Old 07-03-2007, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another update. I'm not sure if anybody is interested but the thread is getting some views so hear goes.

The converter appears to be a "grex" like device. The conversion process must not pass on various forms of CP. Even macrovision from a "mouse" land VHS.

Here's what I tested:

Panny es45v -> component to svideo converter -> Toshiba XS35

A "mouse" land VHS via component out of the es45v and into the XS35 via svideo recorded with no problems. Same thing with a DVD produced by the same company. When hooked up svideo to svideo (sans converter) the CP alert stopped the recording (of course).

So it looks like there are added benefits for those interested in such. I'm not sure if this was the intention of the makers. It appears to be an unadvertised "feature".
nextoo is offline  
post #6 of 694 Old 07-03-2007, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
samsurd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Coast of CA
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Another update. I'm not sure if anybody is interested but the thread is getting some views so hear goes.

The converter appears to be a "grex" like device. The conversion process must not pass on various forms of CP. Even macrovision from a "mouse" land VHS.

Here's what I tested:

Panny es45v -> component to svideo converter -> Toshiba XS35

A "mouse" land VHS via component out of the es45v and into the XS35 via svideo recorded with no problems. Same thing with a DVD produced by the same company. When hooked up svideo to svideo (sans converter) the CP alert stopped the recording (of course).

So it looks like there are added benefits for those interested in such. I'm not sure if this was the intention of the makers. It appears to be an unadvertised "feature".

In my current lash-up, I run s-video and stereo audio from a Motorola DCT6412 III HD STB to a Samsung DVD-VR330 VCR/DVD recorder. I use this as a way to record from the Moto's DVR. All DVDs created this way, even when the source material is 16:9, are pillarboxed 4:3. This is supposedly because of the Moto and how it outputs s-video.

If I came out of the 6412 as component video, went into this s-video converter and came out s-video and took that to the VR330, is there any reason to believe that 16:9 material from the DVR would retain that format when recorded?
samsurd2 is offline  
post #7 of 694 Old 07-03-2007, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 6412 is not widescreen friendly. Even when using component output. I believe you would need a scaler (big bucks). See this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post9886276
nextoo is offline  
post #8 of 694 Old 07-03-2007, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
samsurd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Coast of CA
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

The 6412 is not widescreen friendly. Even when using component output. I believe you would need a scaler (big bucks). See this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post9886276

Thanks for the feedback. It's what I thought the answer would be but I figured, if you don't ask, you'll never know.
samsurd2 is offline  
post #9 of 694 Old 07-16-2007, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
georgejones54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just getting ready to purchase this device. Thanks to those who mentioned it originally since I found this post of Google.

Anyway, if you input 'svideo' for the coupon code, you will get 10% off your order. The price has gone up to $119 from the original $99.

I had been toying with getting a broken DVD recorder with component inputs (i.e. won't record to discs but would work as a component to s-video adapter) , but I finally decided to fork over the extra dollars for a dedicated device that is less likely to break.
georgejones54 is offline  
post #10 of 694 Old 07-16-2007, 12:34 PM
Member
 
bingolong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Nextoo for the find and gj54 for the code. Just ordered one. The "svideo" code worked.
bingolong is offline  
post #11 of 694 Old 07-25-2007, 03:58 AM
Newbie
 
georgejones54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Received the adapter pretty quickly even with standard USPS shipping (Texas to Texas shipment). The brightness appears to be a bit high, but HD always seems to be a bit darker. Anyway, the picture quality is so much better than what I had with my SA 8000HD outputting a stretched 4:3 image.
georgejones54 is offline  
post #12 of 694 Old 07-25-2007, 09:24 AM
 
Hawaiigone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i bought the one from hdtv supply and the pic is perfect. i use it to watch hdtv and simultaneously burn a sd dvd by outputting s-video to my stand alone dvd burner
Hawaiigone is offline  
post #13 of 694 Old 07-25-2007, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawaiigone View Post

i bought the one from hdtv supply and the pic is perfect. i use it to watch hdtv and simultaneously burn a sd dvd by outputting s-video to my stand alone dvd burner

Thanks for the tip. Looks like a great site. Which one did you get? Is it in this link or is it something else?

http://www.hdtvsupply.com/cotosad.html
nextoo is offline  
post #14 of 694 Old 07-25-2007, 10:18 AM
Member
 
rosscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually canceled my order realizing the device didn't do the scaling. IMO the downscaling to 480i that the SA8300 does looks horrible with jagged lines and weird artifacts popping up. So even if I did have a dvd recorder with component, it appears the SA8300's 480i really sucks.
rosscan is offline  
post #15 of 694 Old 07-28-2007, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Suffern, NY, USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Nextoo for the find and research information, and also to georgejones54 for the discount code. I Just placed an order and the "svideo" code is still working.


My older Dish receiver would allow me to record an anamorphic signal to a DVD set top recorder, and then I'd set the flag via the PC during the authoring process. But my latest Cablevision unit won't pass the signal via s-video.
videonut is offline  
post #16 of 694 Old 07-29-2007, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
tcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There must be an easier way... I hear what you're saying about downscaling to 480i, but that only applies to HD content. I have a SA 3250 and Panny E80H, and haven't tried the rebbot at 480i, do your recording, then reboot back to 1080i routine. Sounds like a real pain. The converter sounds like a step in the right direction, but why can't SA just mack a STB that outputs the correct signal on S-video? There's no way this converter with STB set at 480i, can look as good as STB at 1080i (is there?).
tcat is offline  
post #17 of 694 Old 07-30-2007, 04:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscan View Post

I actually canceled my order realizing the device didn't do the scaling. IMO the downscaling to 480i that the SA8300 does looks horrible with jagged lines and weird artifacts popping up. So even if I did have a dvd recorder with component, it appears the SA8300's 480i really sucks.

My SA8300HD does an excellent job with HD at 480i. As a matter of fact the best SD recordings I have seen have been from an HD channel at 480i compared to recording from an SD analog or digital channel.

Now that being said recording from an HD channel at 480i is still standard definition. Scalers are available but are pretty pricey - ~ $300. And I'm not sure the scaling will be any better than what the SA8300HD does. Maybe, but it is still going to be 480i.
nextoo is offline  
post #18 of 694 Old 07-30-2007, 04:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcat View Post

There must be an easier way... I hear what you're saying about downscaling to 480i, but that only applies to HD content. I have a SA 3250 and Panny E80H, and haven't tried the rebbot at 480i, do your recording, then reboot back to 1080i routine. Sounds like a real pain. The converter sounds like a step in the right direction, but why can't SA just mack a STB that outputs the correct signal on S-video? There's no way this converter with STB set at 480i, can look as good as STB at 1080i (is there?).

You may be confusing aspect ratio with the output formats of the SA3250HD. Changing the output formats (480i 480p 720p 1080i) on the SA3250HD should be easy and is included in the settings menus.

Remember all DVD recorders in the US are standard definition recorders that must only have a 480i source. So when recording from the SA3250HD it must be set at 480i. Again this should be easy to adjust.

Aspect ratio (4:3 16x9) is when the fun begins. Much of this discussion is on how to get a full wide screen 16x9 image recorded by the DVD recorder. Full widescreen content is broadcast on HD channels. When this content is output from the SA3250HD via svideo from a widescreen HD channel letterboxing is introduced. It is assumed that this signal (because it is svideo) is being sent to a 4:3 television. This does not look right on a 16x9 display.

So the trick is to record from the SA3250HD's component output. Most DVD recorders do not have component input. So converting the component output to svideo is required for full widescreen recording using the svideo inputs on a typical DVD recorder.

Also as you noted you can sometimes force a Scientific Atlanta STB into different aspect ratios by doing hard resets. I know this is possible on some SA8300HD models that are running SARA software. I do not know if this will work for the SA3250HD.
nextoo is offline  
post #19 of 694 Old 07-30-2007, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
tcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, I am a bit confused. I know you need to go to the hard reboot routine for the STB to recognize the various aspect ratios, I have mine set at 480i-w, 480p-w, 1080i (I think). I read that to get the s-video port to output 480i, the STB needed to be rebooted to only 480i-s. I can't even get SD programs without letterboxing out of the S-video port of the STB. I'm just trying to get rid of the top and bottom bars on SD stuff, HD is "the next step" (which I realize that $99 gizmo is needed). Could be some setting on the E80H I'm missing... I haven't tried the reboot with ONLY 480i set, that just seems to much a pain (takes 30 minutes for a reboot).
tcat is offline  
post #20 of 694 Old 08-03-2007, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Suffern, NY, USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Apple TV converter is on backorder, so I cancelled my order and went another route. I purchased the Pinnacle "PCTV to go" and I'm now able to record widescreen HD movies directly from my Cablevision set-top box to my PC with no problems. The end recordings are MPEG-2 (adjustable quality) and the flags remain intact. Even though the finished product isn't HD, they're comparable to a nicely-authored studio DVD.

And the Pinnacle product offers many other great features; It's definitely worth a look.
videonut is offline  
post #21 of 694 Old 08-26-2007, 05:48 PM
Member
 
had1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nextoo,
I just found a Phillips brand HDTV converter @ walmart $24.99? It has component-in and s-video out! On the box it says "pass-though"? I'm assuming this is a pipe dream, probably doesn't read the 16:9 "flag" and I still need the $100 converter? I haven't purchased it yet, any ideas or feedback from anyone would be great!! Now that I'm hooked on HDTV, I'm still trying to see the true benefit of 16:9 using the DVD-RAM in my Panny ES-10 & 15? I still have the known issues with the TWC SA8300HD and the "Passport" software.
Thanks!!
had1 is offline  
post #22 of 694 Old 08-26-2007, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
had1,

The unit I saw at WalMart was actually a selector switch, with component, s-video and composite iinputs (and audio). It had the same outputs, but I believe the "pass through" you refer to means that component in goes only to component out, s-video in to s-video out, etc.

It would be nice if I were wrong.

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
post #23 of 694 Old 08-27-2007, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree. It will not convert from component to svideo. I have one. Yes it is a passive A/V selector switch.
nextoo is offline  
post #24 of 694 Old 08-27-2007, 06:06 PM
Member
 
had1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks,
I knew it was too good to be true!
had1 is offline  
post #25 of 694 Old 08-28-2007, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
jmystikcfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
FWIW, if you don't mind the extra STB (which could for all intents and purposes be hidden away somewhere) a lot of the Philips/Magnavox products have component ins and will convert to S-Video out. I'm currently using a Philips DVDR77 (I think) between my SA8300HD and Sony RDR-GX330. I think I paid $40 or so for it off fleabay and it works like a charm. Doesn't seem to degrade the picture at all, and it seems to consistantly play nice with the activity I have set up in my Harmony remote that uses it.
jmystikcfl is offline  
post #26 of 694 Old 08-28-2007, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great suggestion. Here's a couple threads that list some models:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=775235

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=761474

The converter in this thread does eliminate the need for another STB but going the DVD recorder route for the conversion is an excellent choice.
nextoo is offline  
post #27 of 694 Old 09-03-2007, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Bkville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sangerville, Maine
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see the Apple TV box also has composite out, has anyone tried recording to a VCR.. Looks like the price went up again..

Well, I just bought a Centerstage CS2 scaler and wondered how I could record to DVD/VCR from it.. I think the Apple TV box will work.. Great Find..


Thanks, Brent
Bkville is offline  
post #28 of 694 Old 09-05-2007, 03:20 AM
Member
 
had1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nextoo,
So really what I'm gaining over "S-Video" by using "Component In" is (I don't know if this is the right word to use?) "Native" 16:9 and a little better color separation (three with component vs. two with S-video), which may give me a slightly better picture, but both are still recorded in 480i correct??
Thanks for your help!
had1
had1 is offline  
post #29 of 694 Old 09-05-2007, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ʇuoɯɹ
Posts: 5,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

I agree. It will not convert from component to svideo. I have one. Yes it is a passive A/V selector switch.

i looked at these walmart jobbies and thought about getting one but i deduced that at that price , no way could it convert component to s video. thanx for verification.

10' from 84" screen.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
westgate is offline  
post #30 of 694 Old 10-28-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingolong View Post

Thanks Nextoo for the find and gj54 for the code. Just ordered one. The "svideo" code worked.

Love this forum! I just ordered one of these and the "SVIDEO" code still works for 10% off and shipping is free if you select it. Price is $129 currently (less 10% with code).

Thanks, Nextoo, for once again steering me in the right direction to a great find!
bron is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off