Philips DVDR3575H/37 160G HDD DVD Recorder w/ ATSC tuner - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2007, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
jim55avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Walmart web site says they are in my area, but I called the store and they do not have them... the store search engine says Beta, so I reckon it isn't fully functional yet.

Hope someone finds one soon... we are all waiting anxiously for a review.
jim55avs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2007, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
From the product brochure:
Hard Disk/DVD Recorder
160 GB
Date of issue 2007-01-30
Version: 0.4
12 NC: 8670 000 28438
UPC: 6 09585 12899 6
Test leaflet, for internal use only!
© 2007 Koninklijke Philips Electronics N.V.
All Rights reserved.
Specifications are subject to change without notice. Trademarks are the property of Koninklijke Philips Electronics N.V. or their respective owners.
www.philips.com
Picture/Display
D/A converter: 10 bit, 54 MHz
A/D converter: 10 bit, 54 MHz
Picture enhancement: Progressive Scan
Sound
D/A converter: 24 bit, 192 kHz
A/D converter: 24 bit, 192 kHz
Video Recording
Recording system: NTSC
Compression formats: MPEG2
Recording Modes: High Quality (HQ), Standard Play (SP), Standard Play Plus (SPP), Long Play (LP), Extended Play (EP), Super Long Play (SLP)
Audio compression: Dolby Digital
Recording Media: DVD+R/+RW, DVD-R/-RW
Recording enhancements: Auto Chapter Marking, Chapter Marker Insertion, Divide, Erase, Manual Chapter Marking, One Touch Record (OTR), Safe Record, Selectable Index Pictures
Video Playback
Playback Media: CD-R/CD-RW, DVD+R/+RW, DVD-R/-RW, DVD-Video, Video CD/SVCD
Compression formats: MPEG2, MPEG1, DivX 3.11, DivX 4.x, DivX 5.x, DivX 6.0
Audio Playback
Playback Media: Audio CD, CD-R/RW
Compression format: Dolby Digital, MP3, WMA
Still Picture Playback
Playback Media: CD-R/RW, DVD+R/+RW, DVD-R/-RW
Picture compression format: JPEG
Picture enhancement: Flip photos, Rotate, Zoom
Storage Media
Hard Disk Capacity: 160*GB
HDD recording enhancements: Pause Live TV
Tuner/Reception/Transmission
TV system: NTSC, ATSC
Connectivity
Front / Side connections: Audio L/R in, CVBS in, i.LINK DV in (IEEE1394, 4-pin), USB 1.1
Rear Connections: Analog audio Left/Right in, Component Video output, Composite video (CVBS) input, Composite video (CVBS) output, Digital coaxial out, S-Video out, Analog audio Left/Right out, HDMI output, RF ant / TVOut - w/o modulator, S-Video in
Convenience
Programming/Timer Enhancements: Daily/Weekly Repeat Program, Manual Timer, One Touch Recording
Programmable Events: 12
Programming Period: 1*month
Power
Power supply: 110V
Standby power consumption: < 2.4W
Accessories
Included Accessories: 2 x AAA Batteries, Quick start guide, Remote Control, User Manual, A/V Cable, RF cable, Warranty Leaflet
Remote Control 12NC: Black Slim Sofa
Dimensions
Weight incl. Packaging: 3.5*kg
Packaging dimensions (WxHxD): 520 x 147 x 362 mm
Product dimensions (WxDxH): 420 x 254 x 59 mm
Product weight: 2.4*kg
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only 12 program events? I read this on the Walmart site. Hopefully it is a typo.
nextoo is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Spassvogel42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm still a little confused about how chase mode works on this unit. (and previous models). Can you record directly to a DVD on the fly, while "chasing" ? Or do you have to put it to the Hard Drive and then Burn afterwards?
Spassvogel42 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Lets hope the QAM tuner in this one works. Tried 3 of the new polaroid version and they all pretty much sucked at it. Also no QTR or VCR+ which I think this unit supports as well as DIVX playback. Funny the 2001g played DIVX and had QTR I'm pretty sure.
Dartman is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
FullOnShred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tuner was a strong point in the previous Philips DVDR.
FullOnShred is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:36 AM
Member
 
silicon_psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spassvogel42 View Post

I'm still a little confused about how chase mode works on this unit. (and previous models). Can you record directly to a DVD on the fly, while "chasing" ? Or do you have to put it to the Hard Drive and then Burn afterwards?


save timeshift segment to hdd ---> edit on hdd --> burn to DVD

life is what happens when you try to follow plans
silicon_psycho is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 06:42 AM
Member
 
nicholasmcgrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

Please let us know if you actually get one of these home,
what you think of it. We won't tell if you leave work early.

Well the store didn't have any. My heart did skip a beat because I saw a Phillips tag for $298. It had the 160 gb HDD. But on further inspection, I saw it was the 3455. This happened to me on the Polaroid too. They had a display 3455 for half price ($150). It had no book or remote. But I don't really think that I wanted this one.

I called another store that the Malwart site said had them 'in stock.' They only had the 3455 also.

Guess I'll just have to wait. Hopefully someone else gets one soon.

--Nick
nicholasmcgrew is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
lagrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,

Does anyone know how/if this recorder will be able to communicate with satellite/cable boxes? I don't see anything about an IR blaster, but I am not that informed about such devices. Thanks in advance.

LaGrey
lagrey is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Recording system: NTSC"

Does this mean it can not record ATSC tv shows?

-DonB2
DonB2 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonB2 View Post

"Recording system: NTSC"

Does this mean it can not record ATSC tv shows?

-DonB2

No. It means it records on DVD's as NTSC and not PAL,
so it's for the US and Canada, not Europe or Asia.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, Thanks.

I guess I just don't trust anything I read about these 1st Gen ATSC DVD recorders

-DonB2
DonB2 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 03:14 PM
Kex
AVS Special Member
 
Kex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Monica, California
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagrey View Post

Does anyone know how/if this recorder will be able to communicate with satellite/cable boxes? I don't see anything about an IR blaster, but I am not that informed about such devices. Thanks in advance.

If you mean, will it accept signal from sat/cable boxes, of course it will; but if you mean will it change the channel on the sat/cable box to record automatically, I think not. With the units I have researched you will always have to program the DVR and sat/cable box separately using their specific timers. A bit clumsy, but not impossible to do.
Kex is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kex View Post

...With the units I have researched you will always have to program the DVR and sat/cable box separately using their specific timers. A bit clumsy, but not impossible to do.

That's what I've been doing with my Lite-On HD-A760GX
when recording OTA DTV through a ATSC STB. The STB only has
a timer to turn on at a certain time and off the same way, with
no option for what channel it comes on tuned to, but has to be
on the correct channel when I shut it off. Very inconvenient,
but it works.
The DVDR3575H/37 will eliminate all that.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Spassvogel42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know whether you can feed this thing a source that is widescreen, (the signal will probably be squeezed into a 4:3 image) and have it burn a letterboxed DVD???
Spassvogel42 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spassvogel42 View Post

Does anyone know whether you can feed this thing a source that is widescreen, (the signal will probably be squeezed into a 4:3 image) and have it burn a letterboxed DVD???

Not until one of us actually gets one.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:22 PM
Kex
AVS Special Member
 
Kex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Monica, California
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

That's what I've been doing with my Lite-On HD-A760GX
... The STB only has a timer to turn on at a certain time and off the same way, with
no option for what channel it comes on tuned to ... The DVDR3575H/37 will eliminate all that.

My sat receiver (Dish) will set the channel too, so when I tried the RCA DRC8030N I just set both DVR and sat box timers and everything worked fine, including channel changing (the DVR always stayed on CH3, which was the input channel for the sat box).

Why do you say the DVDR3575H/37 will eliminate all that? Are you saying it can change the channels on a sat/cable box? If so, that is a major feature at this price level IMHO (boy do we have to lower our expectations sometimes ... I cannot believe I just wrote that ... sigh!)

BTW Separate thread on the RCA unit here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=767130

- $190 at Wal-Mart, shipping $0.97
- Store stock very limited (or none)
- Mono tuner a major source of issues for OTA users
Kex is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kex View Post

...Why do you say the DVDR3575H/37 will eliminate all that? Are you saying it can change the channels on a sat/cable box? If so, that is a major feature at this price level IMHO (boy do we have to lower our expectations sometimes ... I cannot believe I just wrote that ... sigh!) ...

No, I'm not saying that. I'm sorry I didn't express myself very well.
I only meant the new recorder will eliminate my having to use the STB,
and will eliminate my having to be sure the STB is tuned to the right
channel before shutting it off, etc.
It'll also eliminate my having to record analog OTA through a stereo VCR's
tuner (the HD-A760GX has a mono tuner).
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 01:01 AM
Member
 
cosmotravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
glad someone pointed me to this thread. Walfart sent mine today and it should arrive by the end of the month. The old HD recorder has it's problems, Does anyone know the MAJOR differences between this particular model and the older version?
cosmotravis is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 01:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I ordered one too, got fed up with calling. Now the waiting and hoping it works better then the Polaroid begins....
Dartman is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Mine will arrive Thursday.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
If anyone finds a link to the owners manual please post it here.
Even though Wal*Mart is now shipping this machine Philips
still does not have any reference to it on their site.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Tomel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI, I saw the Philips DVDR3575H on the shelf at Walmart this morning for $298 (Central Virginia). Since I've already purchased and returned several recorders w/ATSC tuners, I think I'll wait to buy until I see some user reports.
Tomel is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
DanielCard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomel View Post

FYI, I saw the Philips DVDR3575H on the shelf at Walmart this morning for $298 (Central Virginia). ...snip... I think I'll wait to buy until I see some user reports.

I wonder if they are identical to the Polaroid.
DanielCard is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
FullOnShred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suspect there will be some differences from the Polaroid.
FullOnShred is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 02:54 PM
Kex
AVS Special Member
 
Kex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Monica, California
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartman View Post

I ordered one too, got fed up with calling. Now the waiting and hoping it works better then the Polaroid begins....

Guys 'n' gals, we are going to be satisfied very soon if Dartman has one of these. You can read his work on the Polaroid 2001G here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=675487

If Dartman could tell us what he thinks about (1) noise issues (2) time-shifting (3) timer recording (4) the remote, we should already know most of what we need. Any other points to add anyone? Dartman is a really first rate tester, and I think he already has the equivalent Polaroid at home to compare with this (probably very similar) Philips ...
Kex is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 02:56 PM
Kex
AVS Special Member
 
Kex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Monica, California
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, and editing of course ... I forgot that thorny issue, which was the major drawback on the RCA DRC8030N for me (I did not need the wonky tuner).
Kex is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kex View Post

Oh, and editing of course ... I forgot that thorny issue, which was the major drawback on the RCA DRC8030N for me (I did not need the wonky tuner).

I'm hoping the Editing includes a Merge feature although
I don't see anything about that in the product brochure.
If it doesn't, I'll use my Lite-On (HD-A760GX) for editing...
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Demuddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never thought I'd be so tense about someone else getting a new toy!
Demuddle is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I appreciate the sentiment but I'm not the only one who has modded and tweaked the thing, I was just stupid enough to open it a half hour after buying it and pop in a 250 gig drive and take pictures of the guts. I also tried several burners and finally modded the remote with the radio shack LED afters other tried it. Nextoo has gone crazy with external drives on his unit and somebody else did the LED thing first, it's a community effort folks but I'll take my small part of it....
Dartman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off