Samsung DVD-AR650 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 253 Old 04-09-2007, 02:55 PM
Member
 
glodino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this and the Philips recorder from walmart. I'll just use one of them (still have no idea which yet) and then return them after a better one come to the market. Hopefully within their 90 days return policy
glodino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 253 Old 04-09-2007, 04:04 PM
Member
 
acteon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the samsung last night and plan to do the same thing as glodino.
I was able to tune in the local HD stations using the QAM tuner. It unexpectedly found Discovery HD Theater which looked just like HD over the HDMI when using the unit as a tuner. The audio sounded great over the optical since it passes DD 5.1 when watching live.
Playing back a recorded digital program looked very good, as in almost dvd quality.
The big downside is the lack of a chasing playback feature. The panny es15 I owned briefly had this nice feature using dvd-ram.
This unit may be a keeper. I would like to compare it against the new panny with HDMI but none of the local stores are carrying them yet.
acteon is offline  
post #93 of 253 Old 04-09-2007, 04:46 PM
Member
 
schwuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am taking it back next time I go to walmart I will be keeping the Philips for the time being though and hoping a better unit will come out (maybe the Poloroid HDD model, or the Toshiba) withen the 90 days.
schwuck is offline  
post #94 of 253 Old 04-09-2007, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to return this eventually, but would like to get the next generation Samsung from what I've seen so far. Shouldn't they come down to the price of DVD-Recorders with analog tuners from last year? Or will manufacturers come out with VHS recorders with ATSC tuners for about $100?

The tuner is the best of the ones I've tested, it doesn't load the disc everytime you power up, the menus are nice. I sit close enough to my TV that 4:3 broadcasts from a 16:9 HD channel are fine with me (if they don't change this).

I would like an on-screen display of the channel as you are changing it (with digital channels, why do they have it with analog?), and the image to not go blank if you lose the signal momentarily.
DrBri99 is offline  
post #95 of 253 Old 04-09-2007, 05:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you mean D23-1 for example in the upper left, dig and analog here. Just the number for analog?
PS, I like I don't have to turn it off for timer recording.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #96 of 253 Old 04-09-2007, 06:39 PM
Member
 
schwuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBri99 View Post

The tuner is the best of the ones I've tested, it doesn't load the disc everytime you power up, the menus are nice. I sit close enough to my TV that 4:3 broadcasts from a 16:9 HD channel are fine with me (if they don't change this).

Mine displays the channel number in the corner on Digital when changing channels...
schwuck is offline  
post #97 of 253 Old 04-10-2007, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Acteng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwuck View Post

Mine displays the channel number in the corner on Digital when changing channels...

Sounds like you might have newer firmware. Is there any menu option where the firmware revision or date is displayed?

Hopefully Samsung will fix some of these firmware bugs soon. Has Samsung ever released firmware updates on their website for any of their DVDRs?
Acteng is offline  
post #98 of 253 Old 04-10-2007, 09:27 AM
Member
 
roger1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBri99 View Post

Or will manufacturers come out with VHS recorders with ATSC tuners for about $100?

No. The only VHS recorders with ATSC tuners will be the combo DVD Recorder/VCRs (at least this year and that probably won't change). Both JVC and Panasonic have announced that they will stop making standalone VCRs (other than JVC's DVHS recorder) and the combo DVD player/VCRs will be tunerless. I don't know but some might be DVD/VHS players with no inputs for recording to knock about 5 bucks off the price. This would make sense since many people never use their VCR to record and those who do would spend the extra money to get a DVD/VHS recorder.
roger1818 is offline  
post #99 of 253 Old 04-10-2007, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I turned the samsung on this morning I had a blank screen and the channel on the remote and the front of the unit were unresponsive, I had to unplug to reset it.

Maybe I'll try another unit when I return mine to see if I can get one with newer firmware (i.e. channel display on digital).

I'm watching the Masters now that I recorded on Sunday, I recorded 16:9 on a DVD-R, and I'm watching on a different DVD player. The picture is impressive, just below DVD quality, fast motion (when they follow a ball in flight) is where you notice a lack of definition compared to watching it live. I recorded in SP mode.

The audio on the other hand, is the problem, there is a noticable delay.
DrBri99 is offline  
post #100 of 253 Old 04-10-2007, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwuck View Post

Mine displays the channel number in the corner on Digital when changing channels...

I got mine to display channel numbers with the digital tuner (unexpectedly).

Today was the first warm day since I bought the unit, and the fan near my woodstove was off, it was then I noticed the loud fan on the samsung with the unit off.

I did read in the manual that the fan would run if you select quick recording "ON". This keeps the disc from initializing everytime you turn the unit on. So I turned it "Off", and now I have a display for channel numbers. (And how they could be related is confounding to me).
DrBri99 is offline  
post #101 of 253 Old 04-10-2007, 07:35 PM
Member
 
acteon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBri99 View Post

... it was then I noticed the loud fan on the samsung with the unit off.

I did read in the manual that the fan would run if you select quick recording "ON". This keeps the disc from initializing everytime you turn the unit on...

Fan quirk. I noticed the fan will sometimes stay on after I turn the unit off. Quick recording is set to off. It appears to be random.

"The audio on the other hand, is the problem, there is a noticable delay."

Audio quirk. Even taping segments of the same show, sometimes the audio is completely out of sync. I really want to keep the sammy but these quirks are making me think about returning it.
acteon is offline  
post #102 of 253 Old 04-11-2007, 04:33 AM
Senior Member
 
mkjnovak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acteng View Post

Has Samsung ever released firmware updates on their website for any of their DVDRs?

Yes they have. I downloaded burned and installed updates for the old analog DVDR120. The files are still there, so that's a good sign of long-term support I suppose.
Mike
mkjnovak is offline  
post #103 of 253 Old 04-16-2007, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
tic-tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I nearly bought this guy last night at Walmart. Still trying to decide between this and a PC-based tuner/recorder.

So was it ever clarified whether or not the pass-through signal was a true HD one?

Thanks! Mark
tic-tac is offline  
post #104 of 253 Old 04-16-2007, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by acteon View Post

Fan quirk. I noticed the fan will sometimes stay on after I turn the unit off. Quick recording is set to off. It appears to be random.

"The audio on the other hand, is the problem, there is a noticable delay."

Audio quirk. Even taping segments of the same show, sometimes the audio is completely out of sync. I really want to keep the sammy but these quirks are making me think about returning it.

I've noted the audio sync issue on just about every digital (ATSC/QAM) tuner I've used or tried out (TV's, standalone tuners, even two usb dongle tuners for PC's). There doesn't appear to be any rhyme or reason for the audio sync issues (it appears and disappears without warning) and its really annoying.

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
post #105 of 253 Old 04-18-2007, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recorded a program the other night, and I was watching when the recording was ending, it started to finalize, and then the system froze, and I needed to hold down the power button to reset it. And the recording isnt' there!

Has this happened to anyone else?

This was a DVD-RW, fairly new, only one other recording on it.
DrBri99 is offline  
post #106 of 253 Old 04-18-2007, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DrBri are you thinking about keeping the Samsung, and if so - why?
bobbyslav is offline  
post #107 of 253 Old 04-18-2007, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyslav View Post

DrBri are you thinking about keeping the Samsung, and if so - why?

The jury is still out on this one. I wasn't able to record anything else on the above mentioned disc, the unit kept freezing up, and there was at least 1.25 hours left in SP mode. I had to erase the entire disc.

At the very least I might retrun this for a different unit to see if it behaves better with recording.
DrBri99 is offline  
post #108 of 253 Old 04-19-2007, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ReplayJanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwuck View Post

I am still undecided... I just got off the phone with a "Samsung DVD specialist" and they left me feeling not to good about this unit. I am thinking I will probably take it back and wait around for the Toshiba (the Philips is nice but the channel lag is annoying at best).

1) 4:3 P&S is only for DVD's and it is not designed for TV (will probably never change)

2) Time slip is not an option and DVD-RAM only add more editing features

Basically he said that whenever an HD channel is not currently broadcasting in HD 4:3 users will be stuck with the black box all the way around. He also said that it is not important since for a non HDTV there is no good reason to use the digital channels

Oh, boy. I'd like to send this Samsung guy a link for him to read up on aspect ratios and AFD: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Active_Format_Descriptor

Rather than 4:3 Pan&Scan, they could've called it 4:3 center-cut or 4:3 center-zoom, because that's what the "P&S" setting really does: cut into the center of the picture. All of the low-end SDTV tuners the government is subsdizing should come set to 4:3 center-cut or pan & scan (whatever they'll call it) and handle AFD well-enough so your standard 4:3 syndicated shows and such fill up the entire screen and the primetime shows get letterboxed. That is not to say that they will come with that setting or handle AFD correctly... at least not the first ones coming out in early 2008.
ReplayJanitor is offline  
post #109 of 253 Old 04-19-2007, 10:35 AM
Member
 
roger1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReplayJanitor View Post

Oh, boy. I'd like to send this Samsung guy a link for him to read up on aspect ratios and AFD: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Active_Format_Descriptor

Great Link ReplayJanitor! I was looking for a good, simple description of the AFD codes.
roger1818 is offline  
post #110 of 253 Old 04-26-2007, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like I'm going to exchange this unit soon. Recently the time has been dropping back an hour. So I reset it, and it does it again by the next morning.

When I go to set up a recording from the EPG, I get a message saying the time is incorrect.

So, the unit knows the time is incorrect? And it does nothing about it?

Anyone else observing this phenomenon?
DrBri99 is offline  
post #111 of 253 Old 05-02-2007, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
ShadowSinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a little new to items with the HD tuners, but love Samsung products...but does the AR650 work well on standard cable as well or is it strictly a HD tuner?
ShadowSinclair is offline  
post #112 of 253 Old 05-02-2007, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
tic-tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My $0.02... I bought it, it's consistently performed poorly, I'm taking it back. It's pretty much worthless IMHO.
tic-tac is offline  
post #113 of 253 Old 05-02-2007, 11:21 AM
Member
 
roger1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowSinclair View Post

I'm a little new to items with the HD tuners, but love Samsung products...but does the AR650 work well on standard cable as well or is it strictly a HD tuner?

The AR650 doesn't have an HD tuner. I does have both analog and digital SD tuners however so it will work with basic cable.
roger1818 is offline  
post #114 of 253 Old 05-02-2007, 11:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBri99 View Post

Looks like I'm going to exchange this unit soon. Recently the time has been dropping back an hour. So I reset it, and it does it again by the next morning.

When I go to set up a recording from the EPG, I get a message saying the time is incorrect.

So, the unit knows the time is incorrect? And it does nothing about it?

Anyone else observing this phenomenon?

Some machines are having problems (incl. locking up) since the change in DST...time tracking is different than when the FW was written or installed on the machine.

An easy thing to try, to see if that is the problem, is to set your DVDR clock manually and turn DST OFF. If that helps, you can then try turning auto-clock back on, but leave DST OFF!

Look for a FW update that might fix this problem, if indeed that is the problem.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #115 of 253 Old 05-04-2007, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jim55avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post

Let's see:

DVD Recorder = ~$300 or less

Their current "entertainment center" barely holds their 25" TV and it took some hard looking to find it about 5 years ago. So, if I bought them a new TV (even a tube with ATSC Tuner) that would require me to buy a new entertainment center, too (or a small LCD that would fit...the width is the problem). Then they would still have a VCR and no way to record anything after Feb 2009, so I'd be buying a DVD recorder then.

So, I figure get them a DVD recorder and they can use it as a tuner (to watch OTA ATSC) and a way to record better quality than they are now. My cousin and I are splitting the cost, so it won't be that bad. They have no access to cable where they are, only satellite which they don't want to pay the monthly fees (or can't afford, rather).

You can get a 27" LCD HDTV Monitor for about $350 from Olevia if you shop around. One with HD Tuner only $400...
jim55avs is offline  
post #116 of 253 Old 05-04-2007, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
jim55avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vferrari View Post

I've noted the audio sync issue on just about every digital (ATSC/QAM) tuner I've used or tried out (TV's, standalone tuners, even two usb dongle tuners for PC's). There doesn't appear to be any rhyme or reason for the audio sync issues (it appears and disappears without warning) and its really annoying.

Audiosync problems are common with digital stations... you will also find they sometimes screw up on which format to send, I.E. they broadcast 16:9 pic in a 4:3 box. Audio drop outs are also common....
jim55avs is offline  
post #117 of 253 Old 05-08-2007, 10:33 PM
Member
 
PrestonD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since this thread has been up for awhile, are there any new reports from the owners of this Samsung model? Now that you have this model for awhile, what are your thoughts?

Some of the reasons why I am looking at this:
1. Record in 480p
2. HDMI upconvert
3. EPG
4. Record to DVD-RAM

What I am hoping is that the recorded picture quality at XP or highest quality from HD OTA will be better than what is coming out of the s-video of my Directv DVR.

Its interesting to note, the other day I was showing my wife the differences in the 480i coming off the Directv s-video out when compared to the OTA digital 480i signal for the same channel....it was like night and day, the OTA broadcast was much much better
PrestonD is offline  
post #118 of 253 Old 05-09-2007, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think any one still owns this thing we've all returned it.
bobbyslav is offline  
post #119 of 253 Old 05-09-2007, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did return mine, the line was so long at the Mal-Wart that I just left after returning mine and didn't get a replacement.

I returned it for 2 reasons:
some recordings were faulty - for instance my friend was here and she had an important phone call, so I recorded the end of the show she was watching. The following night I used the timer to record a 1 hour show. When I went to view the program(s), I couldn't access the first one, when I selected play, the second recording played for both titles!

I also was having a problem with the clock changing back an hour....and when I used the EPG to record it would tell me the clock was wrong!

The EPG was OK, but not as nice as the Samsung set top box DHTB260F (also hard to see).

I've decided to wait for the next generationi of DVD-R's, or I might just make sure my next PC is capable of using OnAir GT.
DrBri99 is offline  
post #120 of 253 Old 05-10-2007, 10:30 PM
Member
 
PrestonD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DrBri99 - did you use DVD-RAM disc's when recording or some other format type?
PrestonD is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off