Modifying dvd recorders? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-06-2007, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TheDynaMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am aware of plug in devices such as sima ct2 to make back ups of dvds however I was wondering if there is 'copy software " for my
dvd recorder that i can load onto a disk or DVD-R to modify my recorder to where I can make backups. It is a Magnavox MWR10D6. Has anyone heard of such a thing?
TheDynaMike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-06-2007, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveC E100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Twin Cities, MN, USA
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not likely if your machine is a stand alone DVD recorder. You can't load new software into those machines. You might have a shot if you are talking about a computer based DVD recorder but I have never heard of a Magnavox computer DVD burner.

Dave
DaveC E100 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-07-2007, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the DVD recorder would be capable of doing this if it had a built in Hard Drive and if the manufacturer did not have some internal copy protect flag set.

New owner of a MWR10D6

Donb2
DonB2 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-07-2007, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's possible with some DVD recorders, provided the manufacturer provides firmware updates and that someone has figured out to hack them. I was able to installed a hacked firmware onto my now deceased Lite-On 5007 which disabled the macrovision.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
Whidbey is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-08-2007, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doug O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What quit on the 5007? If it was just the drive, those are easy to fix. I had heard that some of those units had power supply problems but I think fixes for them may have been posted. Time to get out the soldering iron....
Doug O is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-09-2007, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 5007 takes forever to prep discs, if at all. Then, if it successfully records something, it won't "finish up" so I can play the disc back or take it to another player. I've been using my old DVD+RW discs which are admittedly in bad shape, but I've also tried brand new DVD+R's with no success either.
I have not tried brand new DVD+RWs yet to see if that helps, and have no desire to go out and buy new discs just to experiment with.
I view and record almost 100% digital OTA now, so this recorder is somewhat obsolete for me now. If I could figure out how to make it timer record from a line input, then maybe I would have some use for it, providing I could get it to work.

I enjoyed the "DVR-like" features of this machine while it worked, but for now, until I get a better DVDr with a digital tuner, my trusty VCR is more reliable.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
Whidbey is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off