Pioneer 640-H - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 53 Old 08-20-2007, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Search "hkan". hkan has the "unofficial" pioneer web site that will walk you through it.
nextoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 53 Old 08-20-2007, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sean Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 3,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by tac7 View Post

Do you know if replacing the HDD in the Pioneer 640 is as tricky as in the 520?

Have a look at the Pioneer FAQ web site run by HKan, it has all the information you need to know.
Sean Nelson is offline  
post #33 of 53 Old 08-20-2007, 06:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Nelson View Post

Have a look at the Pioneer FAQ web site run by HKan, it has all the information you need to know.

Sean, that link's the wrong site.

Here's Hkan's site (pioneerfaq.info).
.
.
wajo is offline  
post #34 of 53 Old 08-21-2007, 09:29 AM
Member
 
tac7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have looked at the pioneerfaq.info site, but I'm not clear on the requirements for that "Data Disc" mentioned in various forums. Is the "GGV1273 Type 2" disc the same as the "newpio.iso" [pioneer4(1.30).zip] mentioned on the pioneerfaq.info site?
If not, what is the difference, and where is that "GGV1273 Type 2" disc available? --thanks.
tac7 is offline  
post #35 of 53 Old 08-21-2007, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by tac7 View Post

I have looked at the pioneerfaq.info site, but I'm not clear on the requirements for that "Data Disc" mentioned in various forums. Is the "GGV1273 Type 2" disc the same as the "newpio.iso" [pioneer4(1.30).zip] mentioned on the pioneerfaq.info site?
If not, what is the difference, and where is that "GGV1273 Type 2" disc available? --thanks.

I think you can ask questions that Hkan will answer thru his site (in case you don't get an answer here).
wajo is offline  
post #36 of 53 Old 08-21-2007, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sean Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 3,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabjxo View Post

I think you can ask questions that Hkan will answer thru his site (in case you don't get an answer here).

I second this. HKan has been very helpful, you can e-mail him at: support@pioneerfaq.info
Sean Nelson is offline  
post #37 of 53 Old 08-28-2007, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BASHERS33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks ACpewty for all of the information.

Now I can't even find my instruiction manual and forgot the max speed diosc that can be sued on this and the max record speed. Ahhhhhhhh. I always lose manuals when I ened them and am all organized when I don't need them. I couldn't quickly find the limitations online either. lol

Yes I try not to fill the HDD, but I am way too lazy and now it is almost full to the very verye nd too. One time on my 510 or 520 (w/e it was) when I let it fill it madfe it where I couldnt delete things. And somehow I got around it.

And eys the clock is set to manual. Auto NEVER has worked for me on any unit, vcr or dvd recorder.

Got Talk (general discussion forum - someone add product reviews)

Got Zelda
BASHERS33 is offline  
post #38 of 53 Old 08-28-2007, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BASHERS33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also that download says it is only for Europe. Is the only way to get it done in the U.S. still to ship it? I don't want to bother with that.

Got Talk (general discussion forum - someone add product reviews)

Got Zelda
BASHERS33 is offline  
post #39 of 53 Old 09-02-2007, 09:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BASHERS33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.

Got Talk (general discussion forum - someone add product reviews)

Got Zelda
BASHERS33 is offline  
post #40 of 53 Old 09-02-2007, 09:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by BASHERS33 View Post

Hello.

Hello.

Go to the pioneerfaq.info website here, and scroll down till you see the following:


"Canada/US
DVR-540/543H/640H
Firmware 6.20* ONLY Region 1 US/Canadian version ONLY
Instructions in the file! Install it on your own risk! The *.MEM file must be the only one on the CD-RW."


That's the U.S. Region 1 Pio 640 FW update. Download and follow the instructions for unzipping and creating a data disc. Takes ~2 minutes to install.
wajo is offline  
post #41 of 53 Old 09-04-2007, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BASHERS33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.

Well even though it says install at your own risk, I assume others here have done it and everything went well?

Also I wonder if there are any updates that can be done for the 510 or 520? I'll try to find it on the site. I am assuming older models wouldn't have anything currently downloadable which can add anything to it though.

Got Talk (general discussion forum - someone add product reviews)

Got Zelda
BASHERS33 is offline  
post #42 of 53 Old 09-04-2007, 02:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by BASHERS33 View Post

Thanks.

Well even though it says install at your own risk, I assume others here have done it and everything went well?

Also I wonder if there are any updates that can be done for the 510 or 520? I'll try to find it on the site. I am assuming older models wouldn't have anything currently downloadable which can add anything to it though.

The 640 US update is very easy and fast. Many people have installed it and no one has had a problem...except me...I didn't unzip the files before burning my data disc and tried to install those unzipped files. The 640 just kept grinding away until I stopped the disc, with no harm done.

The unzipped file name and size should be:

SR06A620.MEM 12,482 KB
wajo is offline  
post #43 of 53 Old 09-07-2007, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BASHERS33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok I GUESS this worked. I put the disk in, followed the instructions, and when it ejected the disk it said "download 2" on the front of the recorder then after a while it powered off.

To clarify, was this only to fix the titles carrying over? I assume nothing else was fixed and all I could do for the other things bothering me is order the other remote and then it would have the chapter mark button and commercial skip working on discs?

Got Talk (general discussion forum - someone add product reviews)

Got Zelda
BASHERS33 is offline  
post #44 of 53 Old 09-07-2007, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sean Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 3,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by BASHERS33 View Post

...order the other remote and then it would have the chapter mark button and commercial skip working on discs?

If you're talking about the 633 remote, it doesn't have a commercial skip button. What it has that the 640 remote lacks is an "eject" button and a better (IMHO) layout without some of the buttons hid behind a sliding door.
Sean Nelson is offline  
post #45 of 53 Old 09-07-2007, 08:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
ACPewty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Nelson View Post

If you're talking about the 633 remote, it doesn't have a commercial skip button. What it has that the 640 remote lacks is an "eject" button and a better (IMHO) layout without some of the buttons hid behind a sliding door.

I suspect you meant the 633 remote doesn't have the chapter mark button right Sean? It does have the commercial skip button, and it works better than the 640 remote because commercial skip also works for finalized DVDs.
ACPewty is offline  
post #46 of 53 Old 09-08-2007, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Urlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Nelson View Post

Say what you will about the eject button, but I find it very handy. It means I don't have to wait for the tray to open when I get up to remove a disc, and after I burn a new disc I can remotely open and close the tray to ensure that it's completely readable,

Sean,
I COMPLETELY AGREE with you on this.
I haven't had the pleasure of having the remote with that "Reject" ah, er, Eject button, but experienced having to WAIT and felt how NICE it would have been to have the tray already out by the time I got up to take the disk out. And close from the remote!
Sincerely,
Urlee
Urlee is offline  
post #47 of 53 Old 09-08-2007, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sean Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 3,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACPewty View Post

I suspect you meant the 633 remote doesn't have the chapter mark button right Sean?

Whoops, there goes another neural fuse! Yes, the 633 remote has eject and commercial skip buttons but no "chapter mark" button.
Sean Nelson is offline  
post #48 of 53 Old 09-08-2007, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BASHERS33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought someone specifically said it had the chapter mark button or that my old controller for the 510 or 520 would work properly with the chapter mark button. Maybe I should go all the way back to the 510 and find someone with that remote becuae it had the chapter mark button, eject button, the better layout of buttons, and a properly working commercial skip button. So assuming its chapter mark button works on this recorder, it would have everything I assume.

Got Talk (general discussion forum - someone add product reviews)

Got Zelda
BASHERS33 is offline  
post #49 of 53 Old 09-09-2007, 07:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Nelson View Post

Whoops, there goes another neural fuse! Yes, the 633 remote has eject and commercial skip buttons but no "chapter mark" button.

Sean, I knew that 30th bday pic you use as your Avatar would come back to haunt you someday!

You need to update it with last year's 50th bday pic so we'll have more sympathy for you.
wajo is offline  
post #50 of 53 Old 09-09-2007, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sean Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 3,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabjxo View Post

Sean, I knew that 30th bday pic you use as your Avatar would come back to haunt you someday! You need to update it with last year's 50th bday pic so we'll have more sympathy for you.

You're thinking of the old picture, the one you're seeing now was taken within the last year after my 52nd. If anything, blame Urlee for "doctoring" it up.

It's amazing what you can hide in an image that's only 53 pixels wide...
Sean Nelson is offline  
post #51 of 53 Old 09-09-2007, 09:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Nelson View Post

You're thinking of the old picture, the one you're seeing now was taken within the last year after my 52nd. If anything, blame Urlee for "doctoring" it up.

It's amazing what you can hide in an image that's only 53 pixels wide...

I asked my wife to look at your pic and she guessed "late 20s"... man, you really CAN hide about 25 years in a pic only 53 pixels wide...

Shrink your pic to 26 pixels wide and you'd be in 1st grade!
wajo is offline  
post #52 of 53 Old 09-09-2007, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sean Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 3,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by BASHERS33 View Post

Maybe I should go all the way back to the 510 and find someone with that remote becuae it had the chapter mark button, eject button, the better layout of buttons, and a properly working commercial skip button. So assuming its chapter mark button works on this recorder, it would have everything I assume.

I seem to recall that someone tested a 510 remote with the 633 and found that it would not respond to the chapter mark button. If that's true then the 640 isn't likely to either.
Sean Nelson is offline  
post #53 of 53 Old 09-13-2007, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjbawc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I definitely recall that someone tested the chapter mark button on a 640, and it did not respond. If it had, I would have such a remote by now!
kjbawc is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off