New Walmart HDD/DVDR-Magnavox H2080MW8 - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 943 Old 07-21-2009, 06:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerdoc1 View Post

I got my player yesterday. I think I received the plain 2160 also. I checked in today to confirm this with others.

I think this is good news but I may need to see if I can find a compatible hard drive now because they may become rare when I actually need one in the future.

I plugged it in, and it seems to work fine.

I will wait until the warrenty is expired before considering the upgrade and will probably wait until the drive gets flaky before upgrading.

Will you please try to Finalize a DVD or Format a -RW with timer rec program(s) set to confirm it's an original 2160?
wajo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 943 Old 07-22-2009, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apologies if this has been covered, but could anyone tell me if any brand PATA HD 500GB & below will work in my H2080MW8? I have a few good drives in the 160-250GB range I'm itching to try out. Am looking to up my storage cap is all. Thx
Bordershy is offline  
post #903 of 943 Old 07-22-2009, 08:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bordershy View Post

Apologies if this has been covered, but could anyone tell me if any brand PATA HD 500GB & below will work in my H2080MW8? I have a few good drives in the 160-250GB range I'm itching to try out. Am looking to up my storage cap is all. Thx

This help file has lists of HDDs that should work, plus some info on the HDDs our "Pioneers" have used in upgrading their HDDs. So far, only DigaDo appears to have upgraded his 80GB in his 2080 to a 160GB Seagate, same series as in the 3575/3576. In fact, at least one person found a Seagate of that series as original OEM in his 2080.
wajo is offline  
post #904 of 943 Old 07-22-2009, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I've read that help file & while it's very helpful it doesn't really answer whether or not other brands will work. I guess what I'm asking is if theres a firmware lock on the brand of HD's that are compatible? Just find it hard to believe no one has tried a different brand yet....
Bordershy is offline  
post #905 of 943 Old 07-22-2009, 08:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bordershy View Post

Yes, I've read that help file & while it's very helpful it doesn't really answer whether or not other brands will work. I guess what I'm asking is if theres a firmware lock on the brand of HD's that are compatible? Just find it hard to believe no one has tried a different brand yet....

Did you read each Pioneer's story, where some diff. HDDs are mentioned there, and then click the links to that person's detailed info on his upgrade, which include model names and numbers, esp. Auiskck' long informative posts?
wajo is offline  
post #906 of 943 Old 07-22-2009, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm only interested in the 2080 & it looks like only one poor soul is brave enough to "go where no man as gone before" I'll try to do some more research. Thx
Bordershy is offline  
post #907 of 943 Old 07-22-2009, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bordershy View Post

Well, I'm only interested in the 2080 & it looks like only one poor soul is brave enough to "go where no man as gone before" I'll try to do some more research. Thx

Apart from the smaller hard drive the 2080 is very much the same machine as the 3575/3576/2160. Most of the information Wajo incorporates in his sticky thread applies equally to all these models.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #908 of 943 Old 07-22-2009, 09:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
... and DigaDo and Auskck have determined both 2080 and 3575 have same power supply.

Basically, I sent you back to the Pioneer stories cuz any drive they used n their machines, or any on the lists/Tables, should also work in the 2080... altho no one besides DigaDo has actually done so in a 2080... yet.
wajo is offline  
post #909 of 943 Old 07-23-2009, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bordershy View Post

Well, I'm only interested in the 2080 & it looks like only one poor soul is brave enough to "go where no man as gone before" I'll try to do some more research. Thx

You could do some hands on research. As you noted the actual data for the 2080 is sparse, but you indicated you have some good HDD's in hand so you could install them in your unit and try them out. Then report back here and add to the data set.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #910 of 943 Old 07-23-2009, 02:00 PM
Member
 
tmwalsh0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: nw atlanta burbs
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bordershy 907:
In my years of experience with computers, and there are a lot of therm, I have never had a problem with an IDE or E-IDE drive being substitutable with another drive. On a PC, you had to set the CHS parameters or the LBA mode to match the geometry of the drive in the BIOS, or allow it to search for them. Newer IDE drives report their configuration when requested by the IDE interface - no matter what is on the other end of the interface, as long as it meets industry standards.
All of the 'Frankenstein' creators have reported exactly zero problems when changing drives. That I can remember, and I have read most, if not all, of the posts since last fall. The only concern is power, and inherent heat dissipation. If you check the specs, most all of the drives are pretty close.
Personally, I would have no problem swapping in a different drive, as the embedded firmware doesn't care as long as it finds reasonable parameters that (apparently) are under the 500Gb limit.
tom
tmwalsh0 is offline  
post #911 of 943 Old 07-23-2009, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've also many years of hands on experience with PC's, but this isn't a PC. Yes it has a PC HD. But it's not a PC.

Reading WAJO's excellent help file i was concerned by table 1&2 because of the apparent limitation of HD series implied for upgrade. Maybe i read too much into it, but it looked like only a particular series of Seagate & Hitachi HD's were "OKed" to work in these units. Sorry if i didn't go in full detail my first post.

Thanks for ALL the reply's. When i have the time to yank my Maggie & do the deed i will report back.
Bordershy is offline  
post #912 of 943 Old 07-23-2009, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You can try any drive you want, it's just that we know these drives were designed to work in this environment and have close to the same current draw so you don't over tax the power supply.
Like has been said just about any modern IDE drive will probably have close to the same power draw and things so others may work fine as well, it's hard to say how much headroom is built into the PS in these things but it's pretty small so I'm sure not a LOT more then what it comes with.
The other thing would be excess heat though I think so far nobody has run into a drive that seems to run very hot in these.
It's always a risk when trying new things it's not designed for but if you have the stomach for it will probably be just fine, especially if you stick with a drive with similar overall specs.
Dartman is offline  
post #913 of 943 Old 07-24-2009, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
timtofly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Each brand of hard drive has on its website specs for their hard drives. Some models were made for PVR's some for PC's. The PVR ones are not as readily available here in the US, because the "Build your own PVR" and the "Repair your own DVDR" fad never took off here. They were available at your local retailer 3 years ago, but when they did not sell like hotcakes, they stopped offering them to US.

The key word is "if you poke around"; thanks tom

Has any one popped the cover on these J&R's to see if they are IDE or SATA? I am still leaning on an external enclosure for faster swaps when needing extra space to record. That way you can use the cheaper and more readily available SATA and not have to worry about your internal PS. I am not sure if the larger 16 meg cache helps out any but they are available also.
timtofly is offline  
post #914 of 943 Old 07-24-2009, 10:43 AM
Member
 
tmwalsh0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: nw atlanta burbs
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Timtofly -- try googling for: WD3200AVJB

A Western Digital 320G PVR disk. From $61 at amazon something.com, one of the first results found. I haven't looked for the Seagate nor Hitachi recently. That drive quadruples the 2080 and doubles the capacity of the later boxes.
It uses a max of 305ma @12v and 470ma @ 5v, which compares very favorably with the installed drives. The 500G drives use more juice, so more load on the PS.
There was a 500G WD5000AVJB which draws 460ma at 12v and 650ma @5v.
The 320 appealed to me as being closer to the original design spec, FWIW.
If you poke around you can find the PVR designed drives easily.
tom
tmwalsh0 is offline  
post #915 of 943 Old 07-28-2009, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Threw in an old(4.5 year)Maxtor DiamondMax 10 250GB 16MB/7200RPM PATA HD this weekend. After i did the secret handshake (V Skip 079) it showed the correct tripling of storage i now have. Made a few test recordings & all seems well. One concern was the 12V-1520mA printed on the drive, but that might be the start up & not the run current. My unit is out of warranty, so no harm if it blows up i guess. I will let you know how long it lasts.

These really are nice recorders for the money. What i always wanted without the monthly fees the cable & satellite peeps want.

Thanks to all the replies & help.
Bordershy is offline  
post #916 of 943 Old 07-28-2009, 10:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bordershy View Post

Threw in an old(4.5 year)Maxtor DiamondMax 10 250GB 16MB/7200RPM PATA HD this weekend. After i did the secret handshake (V Skip 079) it showed the correct tripling of storage i now have. Made a few test recordings & all seems well. One concern was the 12V-1520mA printed on the drive, but that might be the start up & not the run current. My unit is out of warranty, so no harm if it blows up i guess. I will let you know how long it lasts.

These really are nice recorders for the money. What i always wanted without the monthly fees the cable & satellite peeps want.

Thanks to all the replies & help.

Thanks for the report!

If you could, please include all updates as Edits in your original post, so I can link to it in the SKIP 079 help file under "Pioneers" and people will have all the info in one place for ref.
wajo is offline  
post #917 of 943 Old 07-28-2009, 12:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
wajo is offline  
post #918 of 943 Old 07-29-2009, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure what you mean about "updates as Edits in your original post"? You may need to PM me about this.

Just to be clear, the OEM drive in my Maggie was a Seagate ST380215ACE NOT a WD as posted in your help file.

Is this 2160 remote really that much better than the remote that came with my 2080 & is it still available?
Bordershy is offline  
post #919 of 943 Old 07-29-2009, 06:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bordershy View Post

Not sure what you mean about "updates as Edits in your original post"? You may need to PM me about this.

Just to be clear, the OEM drive in my Maggie was a Seagate ST380215ACE NOT a WD as posted in your help file.

Is this 2160 remote really that much better than the remote that came with my 2080 & is it still available?

To update a post, click on the "Edit" option on bottom right and make changes as needed.

I fixed the SKIP 079 help file on the WD/Seagate drive.

Virtually everyone who posted on the remotes has said the 2160's is much better than the original 2080 remote. Still available... see 1st page of Sticky, or click #1 in my sig. and check out Section 9 Sellers and Support for a link.
wajo is offline  
post #920 of 943 Old 07-29-2009, 07:12 AM
Member
 
tmwalsh0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: nw atlanta burbs
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is meant is that you 'edit' your original message with 'updates' noted at the bottom(?), rather than make new posts scattered throughout the thread. He has the 'pointer' to the original message over in his SKIP hints, tips, and operations post.

I believe that there have been reports of Seagate, Western Digitital and Hitachi drives in the various versions and sizes of the Maggies and the Philips boxes. They buy them in lots, from the lowest cost provider, which may vary from lot to lot.

The 2160 remote is by far worth the $12 it costs from Funai. The buttons do not require you to have tiny fingers to press one button at a time. The print on the labels is actually readable. It was a 'decider' in my choice of a refurb 2160 over the 2080. I figured I would be spending $12 of the difference (plus S+H) to get a 2160 remote, either that or buying a 'learning' remote that had decent buttonry.
tom
.....
Wajo, as usual, is typing as I am typing... he just pressed ENTER faster, as I was looking for the URL for the 2160 remotes, but gave up...
t
tmwalsh0 is offline  
post #921 of 943 Old 07-29-2009, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
wajo is offline  
post #922 of 943 Old 07-29-2009, 08:52 AM
Member
 
Shopcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wajo, every day J&R has a deal of the day.

It was one day only.

Shopcat is offline  
post #923 of 943 Old 07-29-2009, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmwalsh0 View Post

The 2160 remote is by far worth the $12 it costs from Funai. The buttons do not require you to have tiny fingers to press one button at a time. The print on the labels is actually readable. It was a 'decider' in my choice of a refurb 2160 over the 2080. I figured I would be spending $12 of the difference (plus S+H) to get a 2160 remote, either that or buying a 'learning' remote that had decent buttonry.

Old George says "I can not tell a lie." Here is a comparison view of these remotes:
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #924 of 943 Old 07-29-2009, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that pic. Looks like a worthy upgrade for my fat fingers

As tmwalsh0 points out, it may be worth it to just buy a refurbished 2160 recorder to avoid the S&H to get the remote plus a backup recorder! Which brings me to another question. I'm currently using a 32" SD CRT with analog cable & mainly do time shifting with the Maggie on LP speed. I plan on purchasing a 40-42" 720 Plasma this year or next when they bottom out price wise(yes, I'm cheap) & wonder if the recorders with HDMI are really nicer/better? Seems a lot are saying the component output works just as well? If thats the case I feel ok just keeping my 2080(2250 now).
Bordershy is offline  
post #925 of 943 Old 08-18-2009, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can anyone suggest to me the biggest and best drive that'd work in a 2080?

I'm thinking about getting "just one more machine" before the 2080s vanish into the sunset too, but I want it to be at least a faux 2160 (if not a "2320" or something). Upgrade needed.
gastrof is offline  
post #926 of 943 Old 08-18-2009, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well seeing how it's basically a stripped down Philips a 500 gig is probably the biggest drive it will recognize. You could always do the SATA to IDE converter or a external setup of some sort as well and do multiples.
Dartman is offline  
post #927 of 943 Old 08-19-2009, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartman View Post

Well seeing how it's basically a stripped down Philips a 500 gig is probably the biggest drive it will recognize. You could always do the SATA to IDE converter or a external setup of some sort as well and do multiples.

Brand names? Sources where the price will be decent? Also, what would be the reason for doing the SATA to IDE thing?
gastrof is offline  
post #928 of 943 Old 08-19-2009, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ti-triodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Damfino
Posts: 2,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post

Can anyone suggest to me the biggest and best drive that'd work in a 2080?

I'm thinking about getting "just one more machine" before the 2080s vanish into the sunset too, but I want it to be at least a faux 2160 (if not a "2320" or something). Upgrade needed.


I tried a 500g IDE in my 2080 without a problem. The PS is the same size as the other Maggy/Philips players. I didn't leave it in, however, since I'm using a couple of other refurbs for "experiments". I did permanent upgrade to a 160g for the 2080 since the power requirements are the same as the 80g.

Which makes it a 2160 with a really bad remote!
ti-triodes is offline  
post #929 of 943 Old 08-19-2009, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Bordershy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gastrof,

I believe almost any IDE drive 500GB & under will work just fine. I just replaced my 80g in my 2080 with a 250g i had collecting dust from an old PC. If your in the USA, BestBuy has 500GB IDE's for around $75.

If you haven't yet, go to user "Wajo" help files for a very complete run down on what you need to do. The link is under all his posts.
Bordershy is offline  
post #930 of 943 Old 08-19-2009, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks guys.

A step closer to happening now.

When and if I'll update.
gastrof is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off