Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 154 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 01:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shopcat View Post

My 2160 just got here, it is an H2160MW9 A



Mike

Mine shipped yesterday from Irving, TX ... via FedEx and "Ship to Store"

Why would the nations most sophisticated shipping network (that's what the "experts" say) use FedEx to ship vice their own network?

And also, what's the savings (maybe minimal) in FedEx'ing to their store over my house?

Oh well, it'll be here soon no mater what.

Z
CO-Zman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 04:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clevor View Post

It's always nice (or at least it's a luxury) to have two units. I had to hook up two Toshiba RD-XS units since the RD-XS32 has lousy tuners and won't pick up an important local channel. At least this way I can record two conflicting channels simultaneously. Never had it so good . I've even added a 4-port coaxial splitter to the wall so I can test other units like the Phillips and Maggie, or my other Toshiba units returned from repair. Fortunately, these HDTVs nowadays have a lot of inputs (mine has four HDMI). The good thing about the Phillips and Maggie is their remotes don't conflict.

How many TV's do you have, just joking I have one for testing the other is connected to HTS.
auskck is offline  
post #4593 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 04:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas_Tom View Post

Make that a "B" HD Blu-Ray Dual Tuner in 2010 ...

Since your wishing don't forget the ethernet connection.
With USB external drive support
auskck is offline  
post #4594 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: For those of us who do testing or computer people found this item yesterday, ordered 2.
http://estore.circuitassembly.com/ca...1ft-p-296.html
auskck is offline  
post #4595 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 04:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by alins View Post

What are the advantages of having two units, say a 3576 and 2160? What do you do/what can one do?

Thanks!

As Clevor mentioned, multiple units allow you to record more than one network show on at the same time.

I have three units in my main stack cuz we like many network shows that are on at the same time, usually the "better" shows that each network schedules to compete with the other network's "better" shows for top rating.

We watch what we can during the week and delete, and usually end up with some good stuff to watch over the weekends.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #4596 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: Update of ESATA testing
Enclosure is built tested, running on PC, DirecTv HR22 and PS3
Awaiting a cable to solve the 3575 IDE/SATA converter problem, to go external.
Update: cable installed worked first time out
Here’s the equipment list:
Exernal Case
http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/dubayesouca8.html
Serial ATA Drive Drawer good price (4)
http://www.startech.com/item/DRW150S...ve-Drawer.aspx
HITACHI 0A38016 1TB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM (2)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145233

As you may notice the configuration is very flexible. How about 1 drive for your 2160 and the other for your 3576
Or 1 drive for your DVR the other for PS3/HTPC/DirecTv DRV
Switch drives between the 2160 and 3576
Drive full?, swap in new drive/draw and away you go
Plus only 1 box and 1 power supply (80 watts) not a bunch of Esata enclosures (expensive) with thier own power requirement(reduced snake pit).
Note: You say you don't like the color of the case, ACE hardware 1 can semi gloss black (or what ever you fancy) spray paint
For cables required see
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post16351312
Update esata working with 3575
200904280500
Worked straight away first time, no problems what so ever.(All functions tested)
This will be my HTS configuration 1 bay for the 3575 the other for PS3 and HTPC or DirecTv HR22 HD DVR
200905171345
ESATA Update 500gb drive
3575 HDD has 123 movies recorded off DirecTv H20. All are digtal recordings some from SD others from HD stations. All were recorded from comerical free channels. 123 movies on one small 2.5" 500gb drive. Only 1 hour left on the drive, due to swap out HDD with fresh 500gb drive. My DVD burning has dropped to zero, no more messy DVDs with this system.
Just swapped drives I now have another 212H 58M of available recording time. Less than 1 minute to swap out the drive.
http://s569.photobucket.com/albums/s...t=P1020177.jpg
No problems encountered at this time.
200906060617 Update
Sytems are running fine on ESATA drives have encountered no problems at all about half way through my 2nd 500gb drive.
Good to hear the 2160a has sata drive, a simple cable solution can be made to make it esata, less than $20
auskck is offline  
post #4597 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 06:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

I've just snapped a picture of my home office stack. From the top, Sony DVP-NS57P, Philips 3576, Magnavox 2160, Panasonic DMR-EZ28V and DMR-EZ17. The Philips is connected cable-ready, the Magnavox and both Panasonics are enslaved to Turner Classic Movies (from a Comcast STB). There are other goodies not seen in the photo, two Zenith CECBs connected to a DMR-ES15, three TVs, two computers, etc.

Wow, what a stack!! I'd hate to see all the cabling behind those units.


_Lazza
Lazza is offline  
post #4598 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alins View Post

What are the advantages of having two units, say a 3576 and 2160? What do you do/what can one do?

Thanks!

If you peruse various threads you will see that several active members having 3 or more active DVDRs going simultaneously (Panasonics, 3575/3576. 2160). It seems having units dedicated to recording stuff off cable movie stations is pretty common. I'm not such a "power" DVDR users. Since I only do OTA stuff the amount I record on my 3576 is limited, to perhaps only 10-12 hours per week. But I do quite a bit of dubbing from external sources, especially videotape. I just purchased a 2160 so that I can offload this work; it will make things a bit easier on me. And as wajo mentioned, I can also use the 2160 to record a program during the same time my 3576 is recording something.

Finally, in the short couple months of having my 3576 I now see how a DVDR can become a vital component to one's home audio/visual entertainment center. Multiple input and output ports are used. Having a second DVDR is insurance against the disruption of the primary unit failing.


_Lazza
Lazza is offline  
post #4599 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shopcat View Post

It says manufactured March 2009.

www.magnavox.com/support

This web address, which also appears on the back of the "A" manual, doesn't have any H2160 info or support that I could find... at least not now. Maybe they're planning to switch to that address?

The one Support address I know works now is:

http://www.funai-corp.com/support/default.aspx

Tel. 1-800-605-8610 (as posted by Shopcat and confirmed)

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #4600 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

This web address, which also appears on the back of the "A" manual, doesn't have any H2160 info or support that I could find... at least not now. Maybe they're planning to switch to that address?

The one Support address I know works now is:

http://www.funai-corp.com/support/default.aspx

Tel. 1-800-605-8610 (as posted by Shopcat and confirmed)

http://www.funai-corp.com/support/default.aspx

Only to get the manual, no other product information
auskck is offline  
post #4601 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by alins View Post

What are the advantages of having two units, say a 3576 and 2160? What do you do/what can one do?

You can record two shows and watch a third at the same time.

An example would be Monday night, 9PM CST.
CBS ... CSI Miami
NBC ... Medium
ABC ... Castle

I like all three shows. With two DVR's I can watch them all.
Kansas_Tom is offline  
post #4602 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Shopcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the info in the 2160 A I got yesterday

FW = R60_001_000

Shopcat is offline  
post #4603 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shopcat View Post

This is the info in the 2160 A I got yesterday

FW = R60_001_000

That's a brand new Front-End (FE) FW.

Aug 08 FE = R50_011_000

Dec 08 FE = R50_013_000

Shopcat, please read also the other lines of that FW screen:

Model:
DTV-S:
FE Version: R60_001_000
BE Version:
TT Version:

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #4604 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

That's a brand new Front-End (FE) FW.

Aug 08 FE = R50_011_000

Dec 08 FE = R50_013_000

Shopcat, please read also the other lines of that FW screen:

Model:
DTV-S:
FE Version: R60_001_000
BE Version:
TT Version:

Try to find FW update from FUNAI or Magnavox, good luck. I gave that up back in February.
auskck is offline  
post #4605 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Shopcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Model: E2S00UD

DTV-S: 0x28

FE Version: R60_001_000

BE Version: HD6A269704H1E

TT Version: T5011RDU@4

Shopcat is offline  
post #4606 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shopcat View Post

Model: E2S00UD

DTV-S: 0x28

FE Version: R60_001_000

BE Version: HD6A269704H1E

TT Version: T5011RDU@4


Thanks, Shopcat... I've added your FW info to the help file on FW so it looks like this now on the 2160/2160A:

H2160 Firmware Versions

Original Aug 2008:
Model: E2M01UD
DTV-S: Version 0x14
FE Version: R50_011_000
BE Version: HD5A23370H1E
TT Version: T5011RDU@2

Mfg Dec 2008... This version won't be released for older models, "internally different."
Model: E2M01UD
DTV-S: Version 0x14
FE Version: R50_013_000
BE Version: HD5A23370H1E
TT Version: T5011RDU@2

H2160A Firmware Versions

Original Mar 2009:
Model: E2S00UD
DTV-S: 0x28
FE Version: R60_001_000
BE Version: HD6A269704H1E
TT Version: T5011RDU@4

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #4607 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any problems with the 2160 you hope would be addressed in a firmware upgrade? I suppose just because there is a different firmware version it might not mean that known problems were resolved with it. (For example, they might have to rebuild the firmware in order to accommodate new internal components or the same ones from different suppliers ... but nothing that would represent a functional improvement per se).


_Lazza
Lazza is offline  
post #4608 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: These boxes continue to amaze me. If you start with a good video/audio source these boxes will burn an excellent quality DVD in SP mode.
Example:
Just burned (SP Mode) a 1949 B&W movie "Prince of Foxes"
Playback was with a PS3>projector 1080P 100"
If there were any flaws they would show up on 100" screen, no flaws.
Both video and sound are excellent, as good as any store bought DVD.
auskck is offline  
post #4609 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazza View Post

Are there any problems with the 2160 you hope would be addressed in a firmware upgrade? I suppose just because there is a different firmware version it might not mean that known problems were resolved with it. (For example, they might have to rebuild the firmware in order to accommodate new internal components or the same ones from different suppliers ... but nothing that would represent a functional improvement per se).

On the 2160, we don't know anything for sure except they have different numbers. Even the Dec FE upgrade for the original 2160 is a "mystery" AFAIK, except a CSR said it wouldn't be offered for use in the original due to some "internal difference"???

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #4610 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI: These boxes continue to amaze me. If you start with a good video/audio source these boxes will burn an excellent quality DVD in SP mode.
Example:
Just burned (SP Mode) a 1949 B&W movie "Prince of Foxes"
Playback was with a PS3>projector 1080P 100"
If there were any flaws they would show up on 100" screen, no flaws.
Both video and sound are excellent, as good as any store bought DVD.

Was the original source your DirecTV DVR or a commercial disc, with real-time copy from that source, or a direct recording?

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #4611 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Was the original source your DirecTV DVR or a commercial disc, with real-time copy from that source, or a direct recording?

Source was DirecTv HD Receiver (SD Station TCM> 3575 HDD > HSD DVD
auskck is offline  
post #4612 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: If you wondering why the quest for removable esata drives. One answer is I'm running out of space to store all these DVDs. 200 DVDs (and growing) takes up a lot of space even in slim line cases. 1 500gb drive holds 100 DVDs (2hr shows) and takes up the same space as 3 DVDs. The cost factor is about the same per 2hr show.
auskck is offline  
post #4613 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI: If you wondering why the quest for removable esata drives. One answer is I'm running out of space to store all these DVDs. 200 DVDs (and growing) takes up a lot of space even in slim line cases. 1 500gb drive holds 100 DVDs (2hr shows) and takes up the same space as 3 DVDs. The cost factor is about the same per 2hr show.

With around 5,000 home-recorded DVDs I long ago gave up on cases. Instead, I use large capacity albums. Shop4tech calls them "wallets."

Here are three pages of various "wallets" offered by Shop4tech:

http://www.shop4tech.com/z/CD_DVD_Wallets/1_97_284/

The photo shows the Targus TDP025US 320 disc album in current use, purchased at Shop4tech at two for $33.98 with free shipping:
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #4614 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

With around 5,000 home-recorded DVDs I long ago gave up on cases. Instead, I use large capacity albums. Shop4tech calls them "wallets."

Here are three pages of various "wallets" offered by Shop4tech:

http://www.shop4tech.com/z/CD_DVD_Wallets/1_97_284/

The photo shows the Targus TDP025US 320 disc album in current use, purchased at Shop4tech at two for $33.98 with free shipping:

Good idea. What data base do you use to track it all, home grown no doubt
auskck is offline  
post #4615 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: Just bought a sata 500gb notebook drive to upgrade the PS3 80gb. I thought I would give it a try in the 3575 first, it works like a charm. Here's the drive.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...tent-_-text-_-

I don't think the power requirements for this drive will tax your power supply. Can't believe how small they are.
Data Sheet
http://www.hitachigst.com/tech/techlib.nsf/techdocs/FFA370A7BF845F87862574FE0003054C/$file/TS5K500.B_DS_final.pdf
Will easily mount inside our boxes. Tape to the HDD bracket.
Drive size is about 1/6th the size of normal drive
With this install you only need the drive and the adapter thats it.
Update:
Recording time is the same for this drive in SP mode 212H 58M
auskck is offline  
post #4616 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI: If you wondering why the quest for removable esata drives. One answer is I'm running out of space to store all these DVDs. 200 DVDs (and growing) takes up a lot of space even in slim line cases. 1 500gb drive holds 100 DVDs (2hr shows) and takes up the same space as 3 DVDs. The cost factor is about the same per 2hr show.

Nice work.

Also realize that hard drives can be redeployed. My first external hard drive rack was circa 2006 and was used with a Polaroid 2001G. The same drive rack was then used with a Toshiba XS55. The content I recorded with the Polaroid was slowly replaced with XS55 recordings.

Both the Polaroid and the Toshiba are now single internal drive recorders as I have moved on to high definition recordings for archiving. The same drive rack now supports my high definition recorder as well as the Popcorn Hour 110A which I use as a media server for playback.

All of the hard drives I purchased since 2006 to support the external rack project are going strong but now support a different recording setup and recording medium.

You really can't go wrong with something like this.
nextoo is offline  
post #4617 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 12:29 PM
Member
 
bmoody33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a quick note that I found the solution to my problem with the Philips 3576 having problems receiving some of the Clear QAM channels from Comcast. It turns out that I needed to remove a cable splitter and a bad coaxial cable in my attic. The signal was just weak enough that the Philips didn't like it on certain channels but now with the stronger signal the Philips receives all the clear QAM channels that are available in my area. I updated the original post and channel spreadsheet at at this link
Thanks to everyone for their help
bmoody33 is offline  
post #4618 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Nice work.

Also realize that hard drives can be redeployed. My first external hard drive rack was circa 2006 and was used with a Polaroid 2001G. The same drive rack was then used with a Toshiba XS55. The content I recorded with the Polaroid was slowly replaced with XS55 recordings.

Both the Polaroid and the Toshiba are now single internal drive recorders as I have moved on to high definition recordings for archiving. The same drive rack now supports my high definition recorder as well as the Popcorn Hour 110A which I use as a media server for playback.

All of the hard drives I purchased since 2006 to support the external rack project are going strong but now support a different recording setup and recording medium.

You really can't go wrong with something like this.

At this point 1 is connected to DirecTV HR22 the other to PC
Very flexible configuration
auskck is offline  
post #4619 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

At this point 1 is connected to DirecTV HR22 the other to PC
Very flexible configuration

Exactly. I forgot to mention the rack supports my Dish Vip722 as well. More so than the other two devices I mentioned.

I picked up a two bay rack very similar to the one you suggested in a previous post. It was a gutted scsi model and I just ran IDE cables out the back to the recorders. But now with all of these IDE/SATA/USB converters appearing for little dollars the setup can be adjusted to connect to just about anything.

It was a great project that continues to offer benefit.
nextoo is offline  
post #4620 of 26077 Old 04-22-2009, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Exactly. I forgot to mention the rack supports my Dish Vip722 as well. More so than the other two devices I mentioned.

I picked up a two bay rack very similar to the one you suggested in a previous post. It was a gutted scsi model and I just ran IDE cables out the back to the recorders. But now with all of these IDE/SATA/USB converters appearing for little dollars the setup can be adjusted to connect to just about anything.

It was a great project that continues to offer benefit.

You will be interested in this little gem
For those of us who do testing or computer people found this item yesterday, ordered 2.
http://estore.circuitassembly.com/ca...1ft-p-296.html
auskck is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off