Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 391 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11701 of 26013 Old 10-28-2010, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
sydyen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvrtyro View Post

A compatible programmable remote- this was news to me today, last I saw back in May or June seems no one had found any aftermarket remotes that would work.

Look again, there are a bunch of remotes you can program to do everything the factory remote does. Wajo even set up a special thread somewhere so find that and buy away. Most of them are <$20 and are far superior to the factory remote, because you can combine with your TV and other devices.
sydyen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11702 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
JDMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydyen View Post

Look again, there are a bunch of remotes you can program to do everything the factory remote does. Wajo even set up a special thread somewhere so find that and buy away. Most of them are <$20 and are far superior to the factory remote, because you can combine with your TV and other devices.

I'm using a Sony RM-V600 that is a learning remote to control my 2160 and it works great. I think has been replaced by a newer model but was around $20 at Target. It does everything the original Magnavox remote will do, plus macros.
JDMoose is offline  
post #11703 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139


Heads-up:

The FW Update situation may be changing, so hold off on updates for the time being?


wajo is offline  
post #11704 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDMoose View Post

I'm using a Sony RM-V600 that is a learning remote to control my 2160 and it works great. I think has been replaced by a newer model but was around $20 at Target. It does everything the original Magnavox remote will do, plus macros.

RM-VL600 is my remote, too, although I haven't programmed the 2160 yet. I'm still figuring out what I want where, and which keys I can skip, since I'm short a few keys. My prior remote was also Sony, they are well balanced once the batteries are in.

It looks like the replacement is RMVLZ620, $17 on Amazon. The old model is suddenly a collector's item. Same thing happened to the VL700.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #11705 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post



Heads-up:

The FW Update situation may be changing, so hold off on updates for the time being?



Evolutionary or revolutionary?
JoeKustra is online now  
post #11706 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
wajo is offline  
post #11707 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 03:48 PM
Member
 
dvrtyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got off the phone from ordering a factory remote from the Funai phone-in cust svc center. Information for all:

1. Today, Oct. 29, 2010, price was still $17.99.
2. The 2 people I talked to didn't want the remote #(NB820UD)- they wanted the MAGNAVOX unit model # *And* Serial #.
3. They claim *NO* order can be processed without the serial number, something about recent changes to the system. Even though all 2160/513 models use the same remote, you still gotta have the SN. As I finally found out, it's on a sticker on the *Bottom* of the unit!

Lesson- if you EVER call the Funai center for ANYTHING concerning your 2080/2160(A)/513/probably anything else they make/sell, be sure to have your model and serial #'s handy. If you don't have yours recorded somewhere, try to do it soon- even if you have to pull your video setup partway apart to do it. Lots easier to do it when you don't have to hold the telephone with one hand.

I'm gonna also investigate these programmable remotes further. I saw a Radio Shack unit w/small lcd screen listed somewhere, if not on wajo's list, that was listed on the RS website as in-store-only- for $4.99!

Updates-
1. The Radio Shack wasn't on Wajos list, stumbled across that somewhere else & it may very well not work our machines. If I should happen into a RS store & stumble cross one for $5, will investigate further.

2. One For All has a newer backlit model, the OARN08G, that's not on wajo's list yet, but it claims to work DVRs, offers digital subchannel access, macros, lotsa bells & whistles and looks promising. $19.xx on Amazon as of tonight.

3. On my email order rct from Funai, the remote control number(NB820UD) is listed as a *Part Number*. Maybe it's now considered a part for a 2160/A/513units, thus requiring SN for the computerized ordering system?

4. So far I havent seen any univ remotes that show lettering on the number keys. Looks like labeling edited recordings may require a factory remote, or more programming than I want to think about.

Thoughts- after ordering from Funai today, I plan to get a universal to go along with the new factory remote. The new factory remote will give me all working keys to program with if needed, & I can save the Funai units for labeling & editing, as someone posted on the remote list page.
dvrtyro is offline  
post #11708 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvrtyro View Post

I just got off the phone from ordering a factory remote from the Funai phone-in cust svc center. Information for all:

1. Today, Oct. 29, 2010, price was still $17.99.
2. The 2 people I talked to didn't want the remote #(NB820UD)- they wanted the MAGNAVOX unit model # *And* Serial #.
3. They claim *NO* order can be processed without the serial number, something abut recent changes to the system. Even though all 2160/523 models use the same remote, you still gotta have the SN. As I finally found out, it's on a sticker on the *Bottom* of the unit!

Lesson- if you EVER call the Funai center for ANYTHING concerning your 2080/2160(A)/513/probably anything else they make/sell, be sure to have your model and serial #'s handy. If you don't have yours recorded somewhere, try to do it soon- even if you have to pull your video setup partway apart to do it. Lots easier to do it when you don't have to hold the telephone with one hand.

I'm gonna also investigate these programmable remotes further. I saw a Radio Shack unit w/small lcd screen listed somewhere, if not on wajo's list, that was listed on the RS website as in-store-only- for $4.99!

Thanks for the info... I'll update my notes on the price-date and having to have model # and SN.

However, for 2080 users who don't want the factory remote cuz it sucks, you might have to do some convincing. Maybe give them model and SN, but then say you DON"T want the OEM remote, you want the one supplied with the Mag 2160, 2160A and MDR513H?
wajo is offline  
post #11709 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
JDMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TalkingRat View Post

RM-VL600 is my remote, too, although I haven't programmed the 2160 yet. I'm still figuring out what I want where, and which keys I can skip, since I'm short a few keys. My prior remote was also Sony, they are well balanced once the batteries are in.

It looks like the replacement is RMVLZ620, $17 on Amazon. The old model is suddenly a collector's item. Same thing happened to the VL700.

You could also call Funai and get a backup 2160 remote for the same price. Refer to the other posts about having your model and serial numbers of your 2160 handy if you call.
JDMoose is offline  
post #11710 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
bodhi78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: US
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fry's has the Hitachi 500GB HD30500IDK/7K(0A35415) on sale for 39.99 now
bodhi78 is offline  
post #11711 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Evolutionary.


Thanks. If you get chance, after performing the update, could you post the firmware version? I looked but couldn't find what is current. Mine is HD6A269715H1E, but I don't know where that fits in the series. Thanks again.

I still read the Walmart reviews when at work. Some are funny, some make me sick. Most are honest and positive.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #11712 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post

Thanks. If you get chance, after performing the update, could you post the firmware version? I looked but couldn't find what is current. Mine is HD6A269715H1E, but I don't know where that fits in the series. Thanks again.

I still read the Walmart reviews when at work. Some are funny, some make me sick. Most are honest and positive.

I won't be updating since I don't have a 2160A or 513, the ones affected by the new FW.

The progression of BE FW in the 2160A has been 704 > 715 > 718.

The progression of BE FW in the 513 has been 718 > 72A (early > late prod.).

Your 715 FW is the 1st Update posted for the 2160A which fixed the E19 Error problem.
The 2nd update for the 2160A now posted, 718, fixes the autorecord problem some units have, in addition to the E19 error.

The 718 posted now may be "superseded" by 72A, so people CAN install 718 now if they want, then install 72A if it comes to pass and if they want "the very latest FW." We should know if they really are going to post 72A early next week (already Saturday in Japan). The devil is in the details.

A list of FW Versions is here.
wajo is offline  
post #11713 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDMoose View Post

You could also call Funai and get a backup 2160 remote for the same price.

My old VL700 learned my 28 year old TV's remote just as it was dying. It took a few tries to capture the failing functions, but nobody sold replacement remotes and universal remotes did not work. It's always nice to reduce clutter at the same time.

The new LR handles 8 devices. Every major function is in the same spot, regardless of brand or device, and there's no need to learn a new layout every time I add or replace a device. One remote on the tabletop instead of 8. Well, there will be only one, soon...
TalkingRat is offline  
post #11714 of 26013 Old 10-29-2010, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Has anyone noted inconsistencies on the part of a 2160A regarding the "pause live TV" buffer?

Sometimes when I've left something paused for an extended period, the machine (I think after 30 min) will kick back into "Live" mode, and jump ahead to whatever's currently on the channel. (I then have to go back and try to find exactly where I'd paused it.)

Other times, tho', it seems the thing will just stay paused for whatever period I leave it.

I know...

Pausing somethingfor a half hour or more suggests scatter-brained TV viewing, but let's not get into that. *grin*

Anyone had the same "problem" with the pause feature? Any comments on this?
gastrof is offline  
post #11715 of 26013 Old 10-30-2010, 12:04 AM
Member
 
dvrtyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just snagged a new, open package One For All URC8820N on EvilBay for less than $12 shipped. With a new factory remote, plus a decent univ coming in, I should be OK on remotes for a while. From reviews on inet/Amazon sounds like it should do OK for most things.
dvrtyro is offline  
post #11716 of 26013 Old 10-30-2010, 12:27 AM
Senior Member
 
bodhi78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: US
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvrtyro View Post

Just snagged a new, open package One For All URC8820N on EvilBay for less than $12 shipped. With a new factory remote, plus a decent univ coming in, I should be OK on remotes for a while. From reviews on inet/Amazon sounds like it should do OK for most things.

You won't be disappointed My Mag 2160 remote is in a drawer. The 8820N is very powerful. Take a look at the Wajo 1st page:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=9965

It doesn't have an LCD screen, so you'll have to do some buttons mapping.
bodhi78 is offline  
post #11717 of 26013 Old 10-31-2010, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does anyone remember some talk here a while back about using the hidden info screen on a Comcast DTA to figure out where a channel might be hiding on one of the recorder's tuners?

Locally Comcast (as it likely does elsewhere) sends out two versions of the local channels, one in widescreen, and one cropped to 4x3. Only the widescreen versions come in using the real channel numbers on the recorders' tuners. The cropped versions come in as subchannels of channels 82 and 83. They appear in ascending order, in the same order as they'd be in if you tuned them on a DTA (only with different channel numbers, naturally).

Thing is, I was going thru them using the tuner on my 2160 Saturday night, and realized our CW affiliate was missing in the cropped set. It should have been PBS, CW, FOX, a local independent, and so on, but on the cropped QAMs, the CW station was just skipped over, with no sub-channel numbers missing. Like the CW one wasn't even supposed to be there.

I checked the info screen on the DTA, and it said they were all on the same digital channel (256...um...aren't there only 135?), and the CW station was shown to be right between PBS and FOX. Still, it was a no show on the 2160.

Checked my TV's QAM tuner, and the CW station was there, as were the others, tho with entirely different channel numbers. (The cropped versions were coming in up in the 200s, with the final two digits being the actual OTA channel number of each station.)

Any idea why the cropped version of the CW station is missing on the 2160, but the two on either side of it (based on the DTA setup) are right there? (Or why it IS showing up on my TV's tuner?)

Should I give the "All or Nothing" thing a try again and see if it shows up then? (Seems unlikely, under the circumstances.)

It's not a real problem, since I do have the widescreen version, but it seems odd and if it's possible to figure this out, I'd like to.

Any ideas?
gastrof is offline  
post #11718 of 26013 Old 10-31-2010, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post

[....]

It's not a real problem, since I do have the widescreen version, but it seems odd and if it's possible to figure this out, I'd like to.

Any ideas?

I also have three types of stations on my cable for CW: NTSC, QAM256 at 480i, and HD 1080i. I have to run off to work, so I'll leave others to answer your questions. Since I don't use a DTA, my guessing isn't much help.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #11719 of 26013 Old 11-01-2010, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Holy Smokes!!! Over a day and no posts??? (except this worthless one )

I guess all problems worldwide are solved ... let's hope election day fixes everything else

Z
CO-Zman is offline  
post #11720 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO-Zman View Post

Holy Smokes!!! Over a day and no posts??? (except this worthless one )

I guess all problems worldwide are solved ... let's hope election day fixes everything else

Z

Sure it will, all the political ads will stop.

--
(this space for rent)
DoctorM is offline  
post #11721 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 03:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139



Comparisons

 

Jump to:

Mag SATA DVDRs

Mag 537 vs CM-7000PAL & Other HD DVRs

 

 

Mag SATA DVDRs

 

Only difference between the three newest models, the 53x Series, is HDD capacity... same new FW, same new tuner, same new manual, etc. All are essentially updates of the 515. Below are the differences between all the SATA-based models, 2160A, 513, 515 and 53x, which are upgrades to the original PATA-based models, 3575, 3576, 2080 and 2160.

 

Feature
2160A
 513
 515-53x
#1

ADD AUTO-TITLE FOR TIMER RECORDINGS (PRE-TITLING)   

No* No* YES. A third option added to the timer "Program Change" menu. As an example, after setting a program for "CSI," click on that program in the timer list and select "Edit Title Name" option, then enter "CSI" in the same cell-phone-texting method we title recordings now. "CSI" then gets transferred to the 1st line of that show's HDD Title (every recorded instance) instead of the previous generic date/time info. Now, with a show name, you can start catching up on your CSI episodes by finding the first "CSI" and not giving a 2nd thought to date and time! To me, this is a certified BFD! Note: So as not to mislead, remember that this title can only be seen when you highlight an index pic, just as now. You won't magically see a list of title names all at once.. that's our next Wish!
#1 ADD "DAY" TO GENERIC TITLE No* No* YES. Now includes the day-of-week (DOW) each title was recorded on to help identify your favorite shows. This is esp. important for M-F series, like Soaps, which you can now Auto-Title "Soaps" as described above, but the DOW will help you identify the specific day's show you last watched or need to watch (something my wife never forgets).
#5 LARGER HDD CAPACITY (GB) 160 320 515 = 500GB... 533 = 320GB... 535 = 500GB... 537 = 1000GB (1TB)
N/A NUMBER OF HDD TITLES 600* 600* 515=600, 53x=999
#10 BETTER REMOTE               CONTROL No No A completely new remote, NC003UD. Three major corrections still needed: (1) Display and Menu buttons should be switched back to same as 2160/2160A/513 remotes, which had Display below arrows, not Menu. Also, Menu button should be named "Setup" like those earlier remotes. (2) CH+/- and Skip/Replay rocker buttons should be narrower so Play/Pause/Stop buttons can fit between them and other bottom buttons can be raised up (too close to bottom now). (3) It's too thick, should be thinner so it's easier to handle for playback and editing. A better size & shape is the Philips 7-Device Universal Remote SRP510xWM/17 Series (5107 for 2012), $10-13 at Walmart.
#21 DELETE "EMPTY TITLE" ON DVDs No* No* YES, but only changed to "Empty SPACE." Prob. thought we didn't like the word "Title" cuz it might be technically impossible to get rid of SOME indication of space remaining on DVD discs since it represents the "Reserved Fragment" in the +VR Standard. However, if it's tech. possible, we'd still like DVDs to show NO indication of empty space.. just actual recorded titles like most other video-mode recorders.
#31 DELETE AUTO PREVIEW ON END-CUTS No* ** YES
#32 DELETE DOUBLE DIALOGS No* No* YES
#36 LONGER POWER BACKUP ** ** YES. Now at least 1 HOUR. Genetides got "nearly 2 hours" with Auto Clock OFF, and rmacdona got 60 hours with Auto Clock set for a MANUAL channel!
#37 ADD TIMER PROGRAM SKIP No* No* YES. Now has a new "SKIP" column at far left in the main "Timer Programming" menu, as shown here. That will show a checkmark if you set a timer to Skip next occurrence. In each timer program menu, the SKIP option is in top left position, defaulted to OFF. After setting a program, you can open a timer's Program Change menu and skip that program by arrowing left to the SKIP column, then arrow up/dn to change SKIP to ON. That puts a checkmark in the 1st column of the timer list so you can ID programs that are to be Skipped. Reverts to normal active program (Skip OFF or no checkmark) after that program is skipped once. You can set the checkmark again if you want to skip that program again.
N/A     SET AUTO CLOCK DEFAULT TO "OFF" No* ** YES. Eliminates many problems caused before by bad time-signal data. People didn't even know that Auto Clock was ON as default, they just knew things went "bad" or froze up after a short time. Here's "The 11:57 Procedure" for finding and CONFIRMING a good Auto Clock time signal for any PhilMag unit.
N/A *FW FIXES* *YES *YES WOW! The 2160A and 513 can now be made to operate like a 515 with the SuperFW Update described here.

*No on early-513's w/718 FW, Yes on late-513's w/72A FW.
**30-sec power backup w/Auto Clock OFF, 2+ min. w/Auto Clock ON or MANUAL.

Go back to List. ...... Go to main list of help files.

 


Mag 537 vs CM-7000PAL & Other HD DVRs


One user's comparison of his new std def (SD) Mag 537 and his high-def (HD) CM7000PAL DVR.

 

Here's a chart comparing the std-def (SD) Mag DVDRs and some standalone high-def (HD) DVRs.

 

Go back to List. ...... Go to main list of help files.

wajo is offline  
post #11722 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 03:51 AM
Member
 
Abula's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Guatemala
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really nice that Funai did this changes, hoping next version has more of the wishlist, but this is mostly a proof of your hard work wajo, your time and dedication have given the community a great spot to understand and discuss the recorder on the market, Thanks for all you done.
Abula is offline  
post #11723 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 05:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
That new MDR515H/F7 is sooooo very, very tempting! That I just put one in my Walmart cart right away, but I think I'll maybe wait a week or two and see if they drop it down closer to $250. But if it did indeed have a firmware that for sure supported up to a 1GB drive, then I would jump on right now it even at it's current price!
Johnla is online now  
post #11724 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 05:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
And lets not forget to give real big thanks to 234 for listening to us, and passing along our suggestions throughout Funai to those who can approve and make the changes and getting some of them implemented so relatively fast in a new model!
Johnla is online now  
post #11725 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

And lets not forget to give real big thanks to 234 for listening to us, and passing along our suggestions throughout Funai to those who can approve and make the changes and getting some of them implemented so relatively fast in a new model!



Yes, 234 has been "on the job" since March asking questions on the Wish List, relaying the info to Funai, and pressing HQ for our most-needed product enhancements.



All this despite our language, business and cultural differences.

In fact, I just recently read that the Japanese language doesn't have English "articles" (the, a, an, etc.) and no letter "l" (el) or "l" sound, but all my answers to his questions have been loaded with them! 234 deserves his first "gold star" for his dedication to understanding our English language!

He deserves another, bigger gold star for being an excellent representative of Funai and his dedication to making their recorders better by bringing user experience to the forefront of their development process.

wajo is offline  
post #11726 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Praise goes to both 234 for listening to us and Funai for listening to 234. They don't pay 234 enough money. The new product is amazing to me mainly because it shows that even if you have a virtual monopoly on a product you can still respond to consumer feedback. Well done.

I'm not going to run out and buy one today. I would like to see more items crossed off the wish list first. When I know that items I would like to have are not going to happen (like internet access for at least the time and updates, or DVD-RAM), then I can make a more informed decision. When I know waiting won't help, then I will stop waiting and buy.

Political commercials: thank God for the skip button.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #11727 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 06:50 AM
Member
 
chili555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina, by the lake
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post

Sure it will, all the political ads will stop.

And, thank heavens, the telephone calls!
chili555 is offline  
post #11728 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 03:36 PM
Member
 
dvrtyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO-Zman View Post

Holy Smokes!!! Over a day and no posts??? (except this worthless one )

I guess all problems worldwide are solved ... let's hope election day fixes everything else

Z

Looks like Wajo was just waiting until there was something worthwhile to post! To be honest, the 513, except for the HDD increased size, seemed like,"Why bother?" But this looks really good to me. Reason? My mother(81) can't dig out the recorded programs to play, since no names are on the thumbnails, only date & time recorded. If she could read titles like "Jeannie", "Bewitched", "Bachelor Father", etc, she might get a lot more use out of it.

Wajo's right- that *IS* a BFD.

Let's hope the new remote is more durable than the old one too.
dvrtyro is offline  
post #11729 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 04:31 PM
234
Senior Member
 
234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: JP
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Dear everyone in this thread,

I appreciate very much of your warm description.
I am very grad that we can launch this item into US market.

As wajo said. it is completely our first "AVS model".
I studied his wish list and found many point we should modify.
Our engineer was also kind to listen to me well and makes many modification as much as possible in this limited term.

I know that it is not perfect product for you as seen from many remained wish in wish list. (@_@)
If we can have more opportunity to launch next model, we are going to grant more.

In spite of my English skill, many of thread people could give kind advice.
Even firmware bug issue, I could receive report and chance to recover it.
I cannot find enough word to express my appreciate.

Instead of word, we continue trying to provide better products in reasonable cost so that US people can enjoy better digital world as much as possible.

I appreciate if you could support me and Funai product as heretofore.

m(_ _)m 234
234 is offline  
post #11730 of 26013 Old 11-02-2010, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Super Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by 234 View Post

we continue trying to provide better products in reasonable cost so that US people can enjoy better digital world as much as possible.

Why aren't these recorders sold in Canada
Super Eye is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off