Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 550 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16471 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post

I get aperiodic picture glitches watching anything while HSD is occurring on my 2160As and 515.

I get it during HSD and finalize. It looks like a single frame of the live TV picture from about four seconds earlier.
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16472 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post

Has anyone noticed if excessively dark DTV recordings on a 2160A aren't as likely any more after the V upgrade? To get acceptable dubs from Funai DTV recordings to my Pioneers I have to play the Funai recording on one Pioneer with its black level set up 2 notches from normal into the other Pioneer. Funai recordings from L1 & L2 inputs don't require this.

Is it a Pioneer problem? My Magnavox DVD recordings look dark when played back in my Pioneer recorder, but not when played back on the Magnavox recorders or Toshiba player.
Ken.F is offline  
post #16473 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post

Is it a Pioneer problem?

A Pioneer problem that comes and goes according to whether the Funai recording was from its DTV tuner or an external source? I don't think so. On several 1080 channels the Funai DTV tuners produce darker pictures than external sources to start with, not just recordings. I've not paid attention because I so rarely record from the 720 channels but I don't think they have this problem, or if they do, it's not as bad. In particular, prime time WMOR, WTSP & WFLA are 1080 & usually darker than most channels & sources, while 720 WFTS & WTTA that I watch infrequently and record from even less aren't a problem that I can recall. Actually the Funai problem seems more like excess gamma than too black blacks, but tuning it away seems easier via black level than gamma adjust, neither of which are possible directly on the Funais unless its via a pot or something under the hood that I've yet to discover.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is online now  
post #16474 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 05:29 PM
Member
 
KrazyJeffSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow! I am happy I was able to report the bug I had encountered with the feature "HDMI (CEC) Control". This bug must have encouraged Magnavox/ Funai to bring forward a firmware update and now we got more than we expected.

Big Kudos to Bizarro_Stormy and Ken.F for having balls of steal by going above and beyond to dare risk a brick in order to test the results. Plus a big thanks to 234 for recording the bug report, so it get in the hands of the devs.

I just updated my 513 with the 727V FW and it's been working good so far. (Fingers Crossed!)
KrazyJeffSD is offline  
post #16475 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post

A Pioneer problem that comes and goes according to whether the Funai recording was from its DTV tuner or an external source? I don't think so.

I've noticed recordings made from my cable box on L1 are a little brighter than DTV channels but not so much it's a problem. I don't have any analog channels to compare.
Ken.F is offline  
post #16476 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyJeffSD View Post

Big Kudos to Bizarro_Stormy and Ken.F for having balls of steal by going above and beyond to dare risk a brick in order to test the results.

I just updated my 513 with the 727V FW and it's been working good so far. (Fingers Crossed!)

I don't think I'd have the nerve to be the first to try this update without some indication that it should work. I also have a 515 so I wouldn't be too put out if I bricked the 513. I'd stash it away as a parts donor.

I think that makes you the fourth to upgrade and nobody has reported any problems yet. So far so good.
Ken.F is offline  
post #16477 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 08:40 PM
Member
 
glenmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just updated my 2160A to a V2160A and it works perfectly. I'm a happy man. Thanks to everyone who took the initial step (or leap of faith) to try this update. My fingers are tired from all the titling... It's always fun to make an old toy new again!
glenmike is offline  
post #16478 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 09:35 PM
Member
 
KR7L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Covington WA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just finished a successful update of my 2160A with the 727V FW. The process went smoothly and looks good after the initial setup completed.
Interesting was that during the loading of the FW the version at the top of the screen shows the previous FW update name not the current one.
When done the display shows 269727.
Skip 123 shows
Model E2S02UD
BE HD6A269727V1E
Now the fun begins!
KR7L is offline  
post #16479 of 26051 Old 10-26-2011, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm now the proud owner of two V2160A's, one March '09 and one May '09 with both now showing the new model and BE numbers already posted. The update went smoothly here too.

You can now add me to the list of people wanting a V2160 and V3576.
Kansas_Tom is online now  
post #16480 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 12:56 AM
Member
 
Nocturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KR7L View Post

Just finished a successful update of my 2160A with the 727V FW. The process went smoothly and looks good after the initial setup completed.

Me too.

It was somewhat disconcerting to see F-UP on the front panel display during the procedure. I suppose the Japanese don't know what that means here.
Nocturnal is offline  
post #16481 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
dare2be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, with the new firmware available, I started looking at refurbed 513s. Here is the product description on Amazon from Worldwide Distributors:

"Get a great DVD recorder. The Magnavox 320GB DVD Recorder features a built-in ATSC/NTSC tuner for quick access to HD programming. Additional features include progressive scan, DVD +/-R/RW recording and an included Magnavox remote control. Deliver professional-quality color at a low cost - Print professional color for the lowest cost per page vs. in-class, wide-format inkjet all-in-ones."

LOL
dare2be is offline  
post #16482 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 07:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
dare2be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal View Post

Me too.

It was somewhat disconcerting to see F-UP on the front panel display during the procedure. I suppose the Japanese don't know what that means here.

There's a fine line between Firmware-UPdate and the other meaning.
dare2be is offline  
post #16483 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by dare2be View Post

So, with the new firmware available, I started looking at refurbed 513s. Here is the product description on Amazon from Worldwide Distributors...

Worldwide Distributors is a good supplier, as reported by ajgenard.

But, they have a 30-day return with 15% restocking fee and shipping not refundable.

If you get a "defective" product from Walmart, they refund total price including shipping and no restocking fee... actually no questions aksed except why you're returning it, to which you reply "defective."

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #16484 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
dare2be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, wajo, I think you missed the point of my post. Here, I'll bold it:

"Get a great DVD recorder. The Magnavox 320GB DVD Recorder features a built-in ATSC/NTSC tuner for quick access to HD programming. Additional features include progressive scan, DVD +/-R/RW recording and an included Magnavox remote control. Deliver professional-quality color at a low cost - Print professional color for the lowest cost per page vs. in-class, wide-format inkjet all-in-ones."

Just a comment on the erroneous product description.
dare2be is offline  
post #16485 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Sorry, my post on WD was not for you.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #16486 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142


Stapler1234 reminded me of warranty concerns with a "V" FW update in other machines besides the 515, so I revised these two sections of the FW Updates help file:

Quote:


The 727V FW for the 515 can be installed in the 2160A and 513, as noted below, to give those units all the operating features of the 515!

Be aware that installing 727V in any machine other than the 515 will almost assuredly void any warranties you might have.


Quote:


4. Download the compressed .zip file for your unit:

2160A/513 = 727H .zip for the 2160A/513. However, see Quote Note below.

515 = 727V .zip for the 515.

Quote:


NOTE: The 727V FW for the 515 can be installed in the 2160A (Model E2S00UD mfgd in 2009) and the 513. This update will add ALL the 515's benefits as listed here., except of course the 500GB HDD and the better remote. Install a 500GB HDD and buy a 515 remote and you'll have a 515!

It is NOT for the orig. 2160 (Model E2M01UD mfgd in 2008) or any other Mag/Philips model.

Great thanks to Bizarro_Stormy for being the first to take a great risk in trying 727V in his 2160A... he proved that it works! He hasn't checked for longer power backup, but I'm sure someone will soon enough.

Subsequently, Ken.F tried 727V in his 513 with the same positive results!

Be aware that installing 727V in any machine other than the 515 will almost assuredly void any warranties you might have.


PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #16487 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
timtofly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there not a 2160A firmware out that one could install turning it back into the "original"?
timtofly is offline  
post #16488 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 09:37 AM
Member
 
dundakitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyJeffSD View Post

...
I just updated my 513 with the 727V FW and it's been working good so far. (Fingers Crossed!)

To get a V513 do you update to 727H first, then 727V, or can you go directly to 727V?
dundakitty is offline  
post #16489 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by dundakitty View Post

To get a V513 do you update to 727H first, then 727V, or can you go directly to 727V?

Direct to 727V.

Note new note on voiding any warranties you might still have.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #16490 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by timtofly View Post

Is there not a 2160A firmware out that one could install turning it back into the "original"?

Good question, and there is still the 72A FW available for 2160A users.

It might be a good idea for 2160A users who create a V2160A to download the instructions and FW file here while they're still on the Funai website.

For that matter, 513 users could use the 727H FW which Funai released specifically for the 513. Good idea to download those files also from here.

We don't know for sure that these units will accept an older FW, but it'll be a good idea to have that older FW around just in case they will.


PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #16491 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 09:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Only possible problem with that is, some devices will refuse a prior firmware and will not load any firmware that has a older revision number.
Johnla is offline  
post #16492 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

Only possible problem with that is, some devices will refuse a prior firmware and will not load any firmware that has a older revision number.

Thanks, I added a note.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #16493 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
stapler1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'd love to be a fly on the wall at Funai's engineering headquarters.
One can only imagine the discussions they're having about this "discovery".

stapler1234 is offline  
post #16494 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by stapler1234 View Post

I'd live to be a fly on the wall at Funai's engineering headquarters.
One can only imagine the discussions they're having about this "discovery".

I wonder if they know that we know.
Ken.F is offline  
post #16495 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
stapler1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post

I wonder if they know that we know.

Probably not. It's currently 1:36 AM in Osaka

stapler1234 is offline  
post #16496 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post

The two discs that failed last in the 515 I had "immediately" previous erased in a 2160A. One failure code was E 4 54040900. When I later attempted to record directly to it from 2160A DTV in real time in HQ mode, it succeeded to write about 1.2 hours. The failure code for the other was E 4 54043e02. When I attempted to record directly to it from 2160A DTV in real time in HQ mode, it claimed to write for about 1.2 hours, and when it ran out of space it produced error message Can not record on this disc E 6 5c040300. After opening and closing the tray it shows me a menu with a 1:13 HQ recording and 0:00:29 HQ empty space. In contrast, the other shows only one 1:12:43 HQ title and no free space. After I get up in the morning I plan to try to erase these same two with the 515 and then try to dub to them with the 515.

Next morning just ended here. I tried erasing one of the 2160A's HQ +RW discs in the 515, then successfully dubbed from the 515 title menu one 42 minute recording. It wasn't necessary to directly record to the disc first.


This morning I tried the other DVD+RW disc, the one that had 0:00:29 empty space after "filling" it at HQ by direct recording on a 2160A - after I replaced the 515's 727H firmware with 727V. The 515 would play it, and it claimed to erase it, but all attempts to dub or directly record on it resulted in "Can not record on this disc. E 4 54043e02." It even repeated the message simply trying to eject it the first two times.

I put that same disc back into what had since become a V2160A, and it was able to erase and direct record (15 seconds) on it. I then ejected it and did another 15 second recording with my other V2160A. Next up is trying again on the V515, later today hopefully.

So, "same except for HD size" does not an "exact" V515 of a 2160A make, at least, not my V515.

Can someone else with multiple Funais and a late production (supports DVD+RW) Pioneer try some mix & match DVD+RW read, write & erase tests such as I've reported here and suggested by the sticky? Maybe my V515 has a unique problem, but maybe the 515 firmware WRT DVD+RW is defective.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is online now  
post #16497 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
I notice you used my ealier mistaken link to the wrong subject, Multi-Session recording, which I later corrected. Just in case, here's a corrected link to the proper subject, Multi-Machine recording.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #16498 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 282
I use MKVtoolnix mkvmerge to import DVD titles to my PC in a Matroska container. Before finalizing DVD-Rs in the Magnavox recorder I overwrite the "Empty Space" title and delete it. I noticed that after importing a DVD with mkvmerge, any titles that I deleted from the DVD are included at the end of the mkv file. It plays right through like one big title. I can edit out the unwanted parts of the mkv so it's only a minor annoyance to me. It could be very useful if someone accidentally deletes a title from a DVD.
Ken.F is offline  
post #16499 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

I notice you used my ealier mistaken link to the wrong subject, Multi-Session recording, which I later corrected. Just in case, here's a corrected link to the proper subject, Multi-Machine recording.

Fixed.

The MRC menu option seems always to be unavailable here on all 3 Funai machines when a DVD+RW is loaded, even though the manual (515, pg 43) indicates it should apply to DVD+RW. Oh wait, I think I may have been missing the distinction warned about in that sticky. I'll have to check and see what MRC is set to later on the V515, which is not in the same building as my V2160As.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is online now  
post #16500 of 26051 Old 10-27-2011, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post

Fixed.

The MRC menu option seems always to be unavailable here on all 3 Funai machines when a DVD+RW is loaded, even though the manual (515, pg 43) indicates it should apply to DVD+RW.

In all my tests on this, I never had any +RW discs, so my help file assumed something that might not be true.

Try turning MRC on, and leaving it on, while on HDD w/o any discs loaded. It could well be that the MRC option might not be available to a DVD+RW when it's loaded, and we could learn something new about +RW discs I should add to the MRC help file.

If you turn MRC on, see if you can record and dub to a known good +RW that's been formatted and used in your 2160A.

If no joy, do an Erase and confirm that that 2160A +RW now becomes recordable/dubbable.

Edit based on your edit: ALL machines have to have MRC on, and left on, except in D.Dub in certain cases per note in the help file.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*Due to the AVS SW change in June 2014, most but not all links in this thread will work if you're not logged in. If you are logged in, links should work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off