Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 587 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17581 of 26022 Old 01-02-2012, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Bizarro_Stormy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGA$$TV View Post

Does channel scanning another input source erase timer programs?

As I mentioned here... it has erased all timers for me...

I'm like a beaver...
A hot little beaver...
Bizarro_Stormy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17582 of 26022 Old 01-02-2012, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139


Holy shimoly!

Walmart showed 275 Mag 515's in stock this a.m., now there are none!

Hopefully just a WM glitch but, if not, very strange cuz they always restocked when qty got down "too low."

They still have more than 2,000 513's.

Surely this can't be the (premature) end!?


wajo is offline  
post #17583 of 26022 Old 01-02-2012, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post



Holy shimoly!

Walmart showed 275 Mag 515's in stock this a.m., now there are none!

Hopefully just a WM glitch but, if not, very strange cuz they always restocked when qty got down "too low."

They still have more than 2,000 513's.

Surely this can't be the (premature) end!


Today is not a holiday at Walmart. Check tomorrow. There's a high probability it's a computer error. Or should I say an error in the computer caused by a person. It's easy to manipulate inventory. I did it every day. I have a few funny storys too.

If only Funai had made a HD 20mbs version. They could have sold thousands by now. Oh well. Happy New Year.

Back in stock already.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #17584 of 26022 Old 01-02-2012, 07:13 PM
OD3
Newbie
 
OD3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the SuperFW 727V firmware update preinstalled on a refurbished 513? If it's not, why wouldn't it be?
OD3 is offline  
post #17585 of 26022 Old 01-02-2012, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by OD3 View Post

Is the SuperFW 727V firmware update preinstalled on a refurbished 513? If it's not, why wouldn't it be?

Because they are already packed in boxes and it doesn't fix anything on the 513H?
JoeKustra is online now  
post #17586 of 26022 Old 01-03-2012, 07:49 AM
Member
 
jonlowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post

Because they are already packed in boxes and it doesn't fix anything on the 513H?

My factory refurbed 515 that was done shortly before Thanksgiving 2011 didn't have the latest firmware either. Very easy to update however.

I beg to differ on the update vs. the 513. It adds all of the features of the 515 to the 513/2160A (except larger HDD and new remote), as outlined here, and fixes a couple of things on the 515 also.


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=6929

Jon
jonlowe is offline  
post #17587 of 26022 Old 01-03-2012, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonlowe View Post

My factory refurbed 515 that was done shortly before Thanksgiving 2011 didn't have the latest firmware either. Very easy to update however.

I beg to differ on the update vs. the 513. It adds all of the features of the 515 to the 513/2160A (except larger HDD and new remote), as outlined here, and fixes a couple of things on the 515 also.


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=6929

Jon

If I would buy a 513H on eBay I would expect the seller to add the update and a pointer to the URL. From J&R I wouldn't, unless Funai supplies a "V" sticker, new manual, and an insert describing the changes including how to buy the 515H remote.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #17588 of 26022 Old 01-03-2012, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by OD3 View Post

Is the SuperFW 727V firmware update preinstalled on a refurbished 513? If it's not, why wouldn't it be?

The 727V firmware update is not approved by Funai for use on the 513. A 513 refurbished to Funai specifications should have FW version 718, 72A or 727H. If you receive a refurb 513 with 727V installed, it was probably put there by the previous owner.
Ken.F is offline  
post #17589 of 26022 Old 01-03-2012, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
alexdvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that the "empty space" issue and workaround was covered in the past here. We do a fair amount of DVD transfer work, and giving a DVD with the "empty space" in it to the customers is a no go. They are easily confused already. It takes a lot of time to get rid of it each time we make a disk. In the past using Panasonic and Sony recorders it was never an issue as they never inserted anything like that in the finalized disk. Is there a new firmware in the works that will not have it? Any quick and fast way to wipe the icon out without spending a lot of time that I am not aware of? Currently if a program is 1h long, we spend more than an hour to record over it and than to delete...
alexdvideo is offline  
post #17590 of 26022 Old 01-03-2012, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexdvideo View Post

I know that the "empty space" issue and workaround was covered in the past here. We do a fair amount of DVD transfer work, and giving a DVD with the "empty space" in it to the customers is a no go. They are easily confused already. It takes a lot of time to get rid of it each time we make a disk. In the past using Panasonic and Sony recorders it was never an issue as they never inserted anything like that in the finalized disk. Is there a new firmware in the works that will not have it? Any quick and fast way to wipe the icon out without spending a lot of time that I am not aware of? Currently if a program is 1h long, we spend more than an hour to record over it and than to delete...

In the past, what type of DVD were you using?
JoeKustra is online now  
post #17591 of 26022 Old 01-03-2012, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexdvideo View Post

Any quick and fast way to wipe the icon out without spending a lot of time that I am not aware of?

I keep various length HQ recordings on the HDD for no other reason than using up empty space on DVDs with High Speed Dub. You can't use High Speed Dub to completely fill a disc but you can get pretty close. After High Speed Dubbing these temporary titles I do a real-time recording to fill the last few minutes of disc space, then delete all of the temporary titles.
Ken.F is offline  
post #17592 of 26022 Old 01-03-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post

In the past, what type of DVD were you using?

The poster said they'd used Panasonic and Sony recorders in the past.

I don't believe the problem has been the DVDs themselves. Don't think I've ever had a DVD of any kind come out of one of the Maggies without the blank title unless I took the steps that the poster is trying to avoid. (We all can appreciate why, I think.)

Before having a Philips 3576 I had an earlier Philips model with analog TV tuner, hard drive, and DVD burner, and I don't believe that one produced a blank title on discs. (Could be wrong on that, but don't think so.)

Personally, I'd also like to see the hoped for firmware upgrade that allows for the blank title not being listed, but sort of doubt that'll happen.
gastrof is offline  
post #17593 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
In an earlier post I described and illustrated procedures for servicing 2006 and newer Funai-manufactured DVD Drives. That post is found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post19647592

But what about servicing DVD Drives in earlier Funai-manufactured recorders?

Today I serviced the DVD Drive in a Funai-manufactured Emerson EWR10D4 from July 2004. That DVD Drive is generally similar in design to later drives. This DVD Drive has an enclosed disc tray open/close gear.

When servicing this Emerson's N7812FUN DVD Drive the guide wheel bridge assembly, held in place with four retaining tabs, needs to be removed to provide access to the laser lens and rubber hub.

Details of the servicing procedures are found in the earlier post.

Here are a several photos of this 2004 Emerson:
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #17594 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
wajo is offline  
post #17595 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

In an earlier post I described and illustrated procedures for servicing 2006 and newer Funai-manufactured DVD Drives. That post is found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post19647592

But what about servicing DVD Drives in earlier Funai-manufactured recorders?

Today I serviced the DVD Drive in a Funai-manufactured Emerson EWR10D4 from July 2004. That DVD Drive is generally similar in design to later drives. This DVD Drive has an enclosed disc tray open/close gear.

When servicing this Emerson's N7812FUN DVD Drive the guide wheel bridge assembly, held in place with four retaining tabs, needs to be removed to provide access to the laser lens and rubber hub.

Details of the servicing procedures are found in the earlier post.

Here are a several photos of this 2004 Emerson:


Thanks Digado for your earlier posts regarding 2006s and later. I took apart my 2160A and found very little similarity to your pictures (Funai changed drives on later machines?) The number on the drive was L629C006518.

Jim
JimLely is offline  
post #17596 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post

Thanks Digado for your earlier posts regarding 2006s and later. I took apart my 2160A and found very little similarity to your pictures (Funai changed drives on later machines?) The number on the drive was L629C006518.

Jim

The earlier post didn't show DVD Drives from Funai hard drive models. My other posts have photos of DVD Drives found in Magavox 2080 and 2160 models.

The "L" number is the DVD Drive's serial number found on the barcode label on the side of the DVD Drive case.

The DVD Drive model number is usually found on a sticker on the back of the DVD Drive, as seen in the first photo of a model N78F8EUN DVD Drive in my 2160 of December 2008 manufacture. Notice that the DVD Drive itself was manufactured on 5 December 2008. The second photo shows the serial number of that DVD Drive.

8X DVD Drives are unique to the 2160, 2160A, 513 and 515 models. The 3575, 3576 and 2180 had 4X DVD Drives.

In other posts I've attached photos of various Funai-manufactured DVD Drives for "standard" DVD Recorders, i.e., those without hard drives.
LL
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #17597 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
In my original Funai DVD Drive servicing post I used photos of standard series Toshiba and PYE branded recorders because my Magnavox HDD/DVD recorders were in daily use.

I'm attaching five photos of my spare (unmounted) N78F8EUN DVD Drive manufactured one day later than the DVD Drive pictured in my last post. Notice in the fifth photo the serial number of this DVD Drive is 393 units higher than the serial number of the mounted DVD Drive seen in my last post.
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #17598 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 109
The 515H: Walmart is saying out of stock again but J&R has refurbs at $199.

Both are subject to change at any time of course.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #17599 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post

The 515H: Walmart is saying out of stock again but J&R has refurbs at $199.

They claim to have "limited stock" at WM# 2263 in Pottstown. That's less than a 2 hour drive for you. If you prefer the refurb, J&R is about 3 hours away. One of these days I'm going to visit J&R just to look around.
Ken.F is offline  
post #17600 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 04:58 PM
Member
 
jonlowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonlowe View Post

I have roughly 60 analogs. I will try your trick when I get a chance.

Jon

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

How many analog channels do you have?

You could prove whether there's analog interference involved by Deleting all your analogs or by doing an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) with the coax removed for all 125 analog channels, then connecting it when you see the DTV scan start... you can push the center core in tight w/o screwing on the nut fully just for the DTV scan.

Finally got a chance to try it. Did a scan without antenna attached at all. Then tried manually selecting the digital channel with the same result, picture but no sound. Tried manually tuning all of the subchannels. All but two were scrambled. I give up.

Jon
jonlowe is offline  
post #17601 of 26022 Old 01-04-2012, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post

They claim to have "limited stock" at WM# 2263 in Pottstown. That's less than a 2 hour drive for you. If you prefer the refurb, J&R is about 3 hours away. One of these days I'm going to visit J&R just to look around.

Thanks, but I posted that for others. I still have my V2160A with 500Gb. Pottstown is only 2 hours away, but the roads are pretty bad. If I was to buy a refurb, I would have it shipped. I hate driving. In PA sometimes the 6% sales tax equals the shipping cost so it's a wash even though I get over 30mpg on my cars. But thanks for the thought.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #17602 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139


Clinton Murray, the #1 reviewer of the 515 on Amazon, recently posted this addition to his review:

"News flash: a recent Amazon purchaser disclosed that when his unit arrived there was an invoice from walmart inside, for $50 less than he paid Bargain Buddy. You have to figure in the sales tax, but it appears this vendor is merely ordering it for you from walmart."

wajo is offline  
post #17603 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post



Clinton Murray, the #1 reviewer of the 515 on Amazon, recently posted this addition to his review:

"News flash: a recent Amazon purchaser disclosed that when his unit arrived there was an invoice from walmart inside, for $50 less than he paid Bargain Buddy. You have to figure in the sales tax, but it appears this vendor is merely ordering it for you from walmart."


What next?
JoeKustra is online now  
post #17604 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
dare2be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's see...90-day inventory, if it doesn't sell, take it back to Wal-Mart.

Why didn't I think of that?
dare2be is offline  
post #17605 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dare2be View Post

Let's see...90-day inventory, if it doesn't sell, take it back to Wal-Mart.

Why didn't I think of that?

Folks have been doing it with Sam's Club and EBay for years
rdgcss is offline  
post #17606 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post

Folks have been doing it with Sam's Club and EBay for years

That prob. explains Walmart's occasional sudden and "unusual" drop in inventory, like Jan 2 when they had 275 ea. 515's in the morning but ZERO by early afternoon (and zero ever since).
wajo is offline  
post #17607 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
bigfootford1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to document the fact that there are no avail 515's out there that I could find.
I have one that I got 2 mos ago..We have found no surprises with ours and wanted to order 2 more...None avail...I do not want the 513's.

I do hope that Phillips/Magnavox/Funia are going to continue the 515!!

Jim
bigfootford1 is offline  
post #17608 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
bigfootford1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope that Phillips/Magnavox/Funia knows that there is still a market out there for the 515...At least I hope...
I rec'd our 515 a couple of mos. ago. We are avid OTA folks...Recording Vcr's and Dvd's daily. The 515 was our answer to getting away from the VCR world and into the HDD recording era. After evaluating the 515 and finding no functionality problems we tried to order 2 more....None avail...anywhere...

Hope that this is not the end of the product!!!

Jim
bigfootford1 is offline  
post #17609 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfootford1 View Post

I hope that Phillips/Magnavox/Funia knows that there is still a market out there for the 515...At least I hope...
I rec'd our 515 a couple of mos. ago. We are avid OTA folks...Recording Vcr's and Dvd's daily. The 515 was our answer to getting away from the VCR world and into the HDD recording era. After evaluating the 515 and finding no functionality problems we tried to order 2 more....None avail...anywhere...

Hope that this is not the end of the product!!!

Our Wish List #1 has a note in there asking Funai to keep producing the 515, but latest word is they will stop production at end of 1st qtr 2012 (altho Walmart has run out).

Walmart still has almost 2200 ea. 513's
for $198 and it can be made to operate exactly like the 515 with SuperFW 727V as described here.
wajo is offline  
post #17610 of 26022 Old 01-05-2012, 07:27 PM
234
Senior Member
 
234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: JP
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Happy? new year, everyone!
234 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off