Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 25902 Old 09-25-2008, 03:38 PM
Member
 
stressbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wajo -- great detective work on the 093 tuner!
Would suppose a firmware upgrade, if ever provided, technically couldn't upgrade the tuner?
I would like to have a back up unit to my 3576 and in view of the scarcity of these things am considering doing that soon, a Mag 2160 which seems to be the only real alternative. This brings up the question of whether the 2160 Mag tuner is equivalent to the Phillips 093. Wonder if anyone knows this? Believe you asked whether the skip codes worked on the 2160 but I don't recall your receiving a reply.
Stressbox (DV10)
stressbox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 25902 Old 09-25-2008, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
overstressedbox, yes I think Rickie (?) confirmed the SKIP 1 2 3 code works to bring up the FW screen for the Mag H2160. (If 0x93 is the tuner, the FW that operates it is the FE (Front-End), and they have upgraded that also in the 3576... from R40_014_000 or _016_ to R40_026_000.)

In fact, I'm glad you mentioned that since I'd like someone to post what the FW Version screen of the H2160 shows again... hugemoth did this before but it was lost in the great crash of 08.

If any volunteers, here's the help file for SKIP 1 2 3, but it's basically press those buttons rapidly, then read the grey screen that pops up. Back out with the H2160's RETURN button (not OK).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1803 of 25902 Old 09-25-2008, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The UPS guy delivered my Magnavox 2160 today.

The skip 123 information from my unit.

Model E2M01UD
DT-S Version 0X14
FE Version R50_011_000
BE Version HD5A23370H1E
TT Version T5011RDU@2

If there is a manufacture date on the box it's covered up by one of the shipping labels.

I would like to thank everyone in this thread for the great information. I saw the Philips 3576 at Sam's and went looking for more information about it. Google led me to this site. Bought the Philips a few weeks ago. I liked it so much I ordered the Magnavox too.
Kansas_Tom is offline  
post #1804 of 25902 Old 09-25-2008, 08:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Excellent! Thanks for posting the info!

Another multi-unit user... now you've got the dynamic duo I'm hoping for if I can convince my CFO to put a 2160 in her budget!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1805 of 25902 Old 09-25-2008, 09:43 PM
Member
 
stressbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wajo: Just checking for DVR availability. Walmart no longer shows either the 3576 or the 2160 as available. The Phillips' website store shows the 3576 out of stock. Sam's shows the 3576 available.
Where can we get these things? Both of these units are relatively new and yet unavailable except in Sam's case. Do we smell media influence?
Stressed stressbox
stressbox is offline  
post #1806 of 25902 Old 09-25-2008, 10:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
I dunno... lots of units still available, AFAIK!?

Walmart still shows the 2160 in stock here.

Sams still shows the 3576 OK for in store pickup, at least for my zip code (Select a Club).

And Google Checkout has LOTS of sources for the 3576 as shown here, with even more sellers listed under the "Refine Product Results" at bottom of main page.

PLUS, here are the 13 sellers listed by clicking the "Compare Prices Button" on the Google Checkout page.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1807 of 25902 Old 09-25-2008, 10:36 PM
Member
 
stressbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wajo: Funny that the walmart.com site didn't pick it up while the catalog apparently does. Thanks for the research.
Stressbox
stressbox is offline  
post #1808 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 03:09 AM
Senior Member
 
stump69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Wajo - Thanks very much for including the information on this forum about the Mag 2160. I'd been wondering what to do when my Lite-On 9106 combi-recorder craps out. The Lite-On tuner is on its last legs with both the picture and sound fading sloooowwwwly away. Of course the tuner wasn't any good in the first place, being MONO (grrrr!!!).
I've had my Philips 3575H since August 2007 and absolutely love it. After reading your note that the 3575 and the 2106 would play nicely together (unique remote codes) I finally decided to order one before they were all gone.
Anyway, I ordered my 2160 on 9//23/08 and should have it by the 29th or 30th via UPS and they ARE still in stock at WalMart online for home delivery as of this writing (at least for now!)

I can't thank you enough for all the great, detailed information.
stump69 is offline  
post #1809 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
I guess I'm going to be the LAST one to get the dynamic duo to play with... where's my CFO... Oh, that's right, she's SHOPPING! I hope you enjoy yours!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1810 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 12:18 PM
Member
 
flamike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received the three attenuators I ordered In one week from Home network supply in PA. $1.99 each plus shipping and sales tax less then $11.00. I installed each one at a time, all three (a3db,6dband 10db) together produced a perfect picture on the problem channels but killed two other channels- blue screen. using the 6db and 10db seems to be good all around. a splitter is needed to the tv before the attenuators because the pass through antenna connection from the 3575 now is useless.
flamike is offline  
post #1811 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by flamike View Post

I received the three attenuators I ordered In one week from Home network supply in PA. $1.99 each plus shipping and sales tax less then $11.00. I installed each one at a time, all three (a3db,6dband 10db) together produced a perfect picture on the problem channels but killed two other channels- blue screen. using the 6db and 10db seems to be good all around. a splitter is needed to the tv before the attenuators because the pass through antenna connection from the 3575 now is useless.

Not sure where in the coax chain you installed the attenuators, but it would seem possible to retain all signal passthru if you placed ONE attenuator before the 3575 (on the incoming cable), then see if it needs another after the coax also. I'd think that attenuating the raw incoming signal before it got to the 3575's amplified passthru would help reduce digital signal strength enough that the 3575 could tune all channels OK, then its amp. passthru could build the signal up again for delivery to the TV... or is that how you did it... or maybe it goes blue-screen on the TV's tuner, not the 3575's... don't remember details???


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1812 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Oh, No... Mag 2160 @ Walmart!

"Out of Stock Online"

Who got that last one.... let's talk!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1813 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Found another source: Kirotek LLC, $253.99.

Here's their return policy and link to ask questions.

Shipping UPS Ground from their Clearwater, Florida location to Northern California is $19.97.

They have the Square Trade ext. warranty, which many people talk about and seem to like?

Personally don't know anything about them.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1814 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by subeluvr View Post

careful... their shipping charges are very high.

$12.97 to me... est. UPS shipping charge before putting in my zip to customize was $9.95 apparently from their Clearwater, Floida location.... only $19.97 from Florida to Northern California.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1815 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 04:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Oh, No... Mag 2160 @ Walmart!

"Out of Stock Online"

Saw the same thing a week or two back. By the next day, it was back in stock.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #1816 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
When the 3575 was released the same thing happened.
No cause for worry.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #1817 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
We will see what we will see when we see it!
wajo 2008


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1818 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Saw the same thing a week or two back. By the next day, it was back in stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by subeluvr View Post

Aggree... since Walmart seems to have an edge on everyone else for the Maggie 2160 I'm confident it'll be back in stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

When the 3575 was released the same thing happened.
No cause for worry.

Hey, just realized the "out-of-stock" then "back-in-stock" before was with the 3576, not the Mag 2160! Could be different this time, being some sort of "exclusive" selling arrangement and all... where else would all the "backup" stock have gone... no other dealers like the 3576! Hopefully, still on that slow boat ... !?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1819 of 25902 Old 09-26-2008, 09:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I wouldn't panic. It hasn't even been out that long.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #1820 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 01:48 PM
Member
 
flamike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Not sure where in the coax chain you installed the attenuators, but it would seem possible to retain all signal passthru if you placed ONE attenuator before the 3575 (on the incoming cable), then see if it needs another after the coax also. I'd think that attenuating the raw incoming signal before it got to the 3575's amplified passthru would help reduce digital signal strength enough that the 3575 could tune all channels OK, then its amp. passthru could build the signal up again for delivery to the TV... or is that how you did it... or maybe it goes blue-screen on the TV's tuner, not the 3575's... don't remember details???

I had the coax from the wall to a two way splitter one side to tv the other to attenuators then 3575. The tv is perfect on its own. viewing through 3575 via hdmi cable to tv. The passthrough ant. goes to an old analog vcr i think the analog signal is reduced too much not the digital so i inserted a second splitter. the coax now goes from the wall to a splitter one side to tv the other to the second splitter one side through attenuators to 3575 the other to the vcr.

The attenuators I have are 3, 6, and 10db. I found 16bd was only just a little
short of reducing all the noise on the strongest channels and 19db was too much as it killed two of the weaker channels. Using 16db is the best I can do and everything works.
Thanks for all your help, I believe I now have the best possible setup.
flamike is offline  
post #1821 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
jasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the 3576 manual, settings are lost after only 30 seconds without power. Is that true? My Panasonic will hold them for several hours, such as clock, scheduled recordings,etc.
jasta is offline  
post #1822 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
The normal backup time is 30 sec if your clock is set manually, and 2 minutes or more if set on Auto. I got almost 5 min. in one test, but never over that. Maybe the 3576 has something diff. than the 3575 for battery backup?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1823 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by subeluvr View Post

My clock setting is set to manual and the local PBS station.

Probably added a capacitor backup... cheap and easy.

Not that "manual"... the set-it-yourself-without-AutoClock-or-Manual manual.

With Manual set for a PBS channel, you have to have Auto Clock on, or it doesn't even search that channel you set.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1824 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 07:52 PM
Member
 
montward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to the Port Huron MI Walmart today and found two 3576 Philips recorders in stock...shelf priced at $298....I scanned one just to verify the price and they were scanning the same as the shelf price.

I was also surprised to see two older 3575H Philips recorders behind the two 3576s and quickly grabbed one of the 3575s thinking it would scan at a lower price *hoping to score a $150 clearance priced unit...but to my dismay, it also scanned $298 .....it really surprised me that the older units were not reduced in price ........and more importantly, Walmarts website did not show that this store had any in stock .......strange ?
montward is offline  
post #1825 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Montward, did you ask the dept. mgr about marking down the 3575's? I checked my local WM and asked about two 3575's they had some time ago with a "clearance" price, $198 I think, and was told to see the mgr next day for maybe a lower price. Went back and mgr said they only mark "clearance" items down on Monday. Went back Monday and he said he'd knock $50 more off, but that wasn't enough since I really wanted a 3576 by then... but now, it's a 2160, except my CFO spent all our money this month... on food of all things!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1826 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by subeluvr View Post

wajo,

I think it was the auto=on manual name that PBS channel.

Regardless, my 3576 (April 08) held it's settings and time for 8 hours.

They must have added a real battery backup in the 3576... or you've got one with teeny-weeny squirrels running in a teeny-weeny rotating cage charging the 3576's standby circuits!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1827 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 08:47 PM
Member
 
montward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Montward, did you ask the dept. mgr about marking down the 3575's? I checked my local WM and asked about two 3575's they had some time ago with a "clearance" price, $198 I think, and was told to see the mgr next day for maybe a lower price. Went back and mgr said they only mark "clearance" items down on Monday. Went back Monday and he said he'd knock $50 more off, but that wasn't enough since I really wanted a 3576 by then... but now, it's a 2160, except my CFO spent all our money this month... on food of all things!

I was a bit rushed and didn't speak to any Associates about reducing the pricing..... I may call back the store tomorrow or Monday and speak to the Dept Manger about a reduction.....I dont know what a fair price would be for the 3575 ? ....so the 2160 ....that's the new Magnavox model right ? Is that model a better model than the Philips 3575/76s ?

Your CFO , I can't believe they spent all your budget on such unnecessary items like food !! LOL
montward is offline  
post #1828 of 25902 Old 09-27-2008, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by montward View Post

I was a bit rushed and didn't speak to any Associates about reducing the pricing..... I may call back the store tomorrow or Monday and speak to the Dept Manger about a reduction.....I dont know what a fair price would be for the 3575 ? ....so the 2160 ....that's the new Magnavox model right ? Is that model a better model than the Philips 3575/76s ?

Your CFO , I can't believe they spent all your budget on such unnecessary items like food !! LOL

Yea, I'd fire her but she sure cooks good!

On the 3576 vs 2160, they're basically the same machine with a few different and a couple of "neat" features, as listed here.

The main reason I'd like one is cuz it operates exactly the same way as a 3575/3576 and they can be used side-by-side cuz their remotes are model-specific... a great way to record shows on at the same time with machines that operate the same way.

The 2160 remote also operates the Mag 2080 and it's a MUCH better remote than that "worst-in-the-world" 2080 remote (other peoples' description).

Here's an update from Arkyman, who has both a 3576 and a 2160... he wanted the 2160's 6-hour Autorecord feature cuz his old Philips HDRW720 had that, and he thought the 3576 had that feature, but he kept it and just got the 2160 also.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wajo is offline  
post #1829 of 25902 Old 09-28-2008, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
stump69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those interested in whether the cable companies were keeping the analog preferred (unscrambled) tier, I received a notice in my cable bill from Comcast last month that had an update on the OTA digital conversion that tried to clear up any misunderstandings concerning cable. They said that they intended to keep their current analog configuration for an ADDITIONAL 3 YEARS following the mandated Feb 2009 conversion. They reiterated that the mandate is for OTA broadcast stations ONLY and does NOT affect cable carriage anyway. So that was good news to me because as a cable user without a STB, I was concerned about the possibility of having to rewire everything to accomodate digital conversion boxes.
Thankfully they will not be needed for those without any scrambled channels! I already have my cable split 8 ways - with the help of a handy-dandy booster from Radio Shack -(1 HDTV, 2 DVD recorders, 3 family member VCRs and a cable modem for wireless internet. Sheesh!
stump69 is offline  
post #1830 of 25902 Old 09-28-2008, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The more I play with these things the more I wish they were manufactured under a third brand name with a different remote.
Kansas_Tom is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off