Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 73 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 25869 Old 11-14-2008, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rletson;15026202 11/07/08 View Post

Tried the barely-connected technique and got all the channels to register--and then they all vanished when I cycled the power. This is nuts--I can't figure out which part of the tuner is flakey (memory? some signal-strength-sensitive component?), especially since the other two units (built about a year apart) both manage to work fairly reliably. Fortunately, the blowout price was low enough that even with the cost of sending it to the Arkansas repair facility, it's still a bargain. If I can get the bugger to function.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo;15026440 11/07/08 View Post

And you left the coax on a thread thru the power cycle?

Just curious, did you leave the coax hanging by a thread thru the power cycle?
wajo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 25869 Old 11-14-2008, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgazzara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 2,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rletson View Post

Just a data point for anyone tracking Philips customer-service behavior: I e-mailed them (via their website) about our new 3575's refusal to retain digital channels; got a reply in the two-business-days period directing me to call tech support; talked to a friendly rep who determined that they would replace the unit and provided a number to fax proof-of-purchase; received a call today confirming that in about two weeks they will be shipping a replacement unit (when they have them available) along with a pre-paid label to return the defective unit. This is our second return/repair transaction with Philips, and in both cases everyone has been polite, helpful, and easy to deal with. And with any luck, the replacement 3575 will work properly, as did the unit whose non-functioning DVD door they repaired in Arkansas.

They're going to send you a 3575 -- refurbished, or are they sending you a 3576 -- refurbished?

RG
rgazzara is offline  
post #2163 of 25869 Old 11-14-2008, 01:47 PM
Member
 
rta53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am really enjoying my Magnavox 2160. It's really great to be able to record programs and not worry about which vcr tape they are on or if I accidentally taped over something I hadn't yet watched. And to be able to watch something I previously recorded while recording another show is so cool. One question I have about signal strength. I have an outside antenna that I have used for years and I have a signal amplifier that I bought along with the antenna. The amp has been necessary in order to pick up analog stations. Without it I would only get 4 or 5 stations. I am still using the amp with the 2160. The nearest station to me is about 30 miles so is there any reason not to use the amplifier? I haven't tried bypassing the amp yet. I know there has been discussion about overdriving the signal but does this only apply if stations are close by? Thanks.
rta53 is offline  
post #2164 of 25869 Old 11-14-2008, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,791
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 86
If everything is working fine with your amp I'd be inclined to leave it. If you want to experiment then by all means try bypassing it. If all your stations come in fine for several days then leave it out.
In my case I had worse reception with my amp, got occasional dropouts, without it everything's fine, but I only live ~10 miles from the towers so I think I was over driving the amp. It did help for analog stations but I'm basically all digital now.
jjeff is offline  
post #2165 of 25869 Old 11-14-2008, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by rta53 View Post

One question I have about signal strength. I have an outside antenna that I have used for years and I have a signal amplifier that I bought along with the antenna. The amp has been necessary in order to pick up analog stations. Without it I would only get 4 or 5 stations. I am still using the amp with the 2160. The nearest station to me is about 30 miles so is there any reason not to use the amplifier? I haven't tried bypassing the amp yet. I know there has been discussion about overdriving the signal but does this only apply if stations are close by? Thanks.

You'll know if the signal is being overdriven if your digital channels go "blue-screen" (disappear). Digital TV signals can suffer from a "Cliff Effect" where they just "fall off the cliff" (disappear) when either too weak or too strong.

This Wiki entry describes the effect as seen by the viewer this way: "The picture may break up (pixellation), lock on a freeze frame, or go blank."

If your digital channels all look good and don't disappear, leave everything as is. If you suddenly see some blue screens or "tiling" on digital channels, try removing the amp, or do the very easy "hang-by-a-thread" test described in the "Important Note" at the bottom of this help file. If you do this easy test, LEAVE THE COAX HANGING THRU THE CHANNEL SCAN, POWER CYCLES, ETC. CUZ IF YOU SCREW IT BACK IN, IT WILL BE AT FULL POWER ONCE AGAIN AND YOU WON'T HAVE PROVED ANYTHING!
wajo is offline  
post #2166 of 25869 Old 11-14-2008, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Some recent posts suggest people can't find the Mag 2160 or Philips 3576 in Canada. I've searched high and low for Mag 2160 sources and have so far found none in Canada.

However, here are three online sources thru hubcanada.com for the 3576, from $280-300 (Canadian?).
wajo is offline  
post #2167 of 25869 Old 11-14-2008, 06:04 PM
Member
 
Rletson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wajo, I tried every combination of connection and power-cycling I could think of and the channels drained away every time.

rgazzara, No idea of what they're sending, and since our other two perfectly-OK units are 3575s, I'm not much worried.
Rletson is offline  
post #2168 of 25869 Old 11-15-2008, 02:44 PM
Member
 
eyrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Some recent posts suggest people can't find the Mag 2160 or Philips 3576 in Canada. I've searched high and low for Mag 2160 sources and have so far found none in Canada.

However, here are three online sources thru hubcanada.com for the 3576, from $280-300 (Canadian?).

Best Buy in Toronto currently has the 3576 at CDN $299. I've never seen the Mag 2160 here. My local Walmart has the Magnavox H2080, which is similar but lacks an HDMI connection - $199 CDN last I looked.
eyrr is offline  
post #2169 of 25869 Old 11-15-2008, 02:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Nah - if that's your choice, stick with the 3576.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #2170 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
I just learned from rickie, confirmed by subeluvr, that the Mag 2160 has a different Auto Clock menu than the Philips 3575/3576... an important difference!

The 2160 has an extra box in the Auto Clock Setting > Manual menu that allows you to enter a DIGITAL channel number, so the coming digital transition is covered in the 2160 as far as auto-clock goes. With a Manual setting, the machine doesn't have to search all channels for a time signal, just one that you can CONFIRM as described in the link given below.

For anyone interested in a little more info on this, here's the help file that describes clock setting (top of page).
wajo is offline  
post #2171 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

I just learned from subeluvr and rickie that the Mag 2160 has a different Auto Clock menu than the Philips 3575/3576... an important difference!

The 2160 has an extra box in the Auto Clock Setting > Manual menu that allows you to enter a DIGITAL channel number, so the coming digital transition is covered in the 2160 as far as auto-clock goes. With a Manual setting, the machine doesn't have to search all channels for a time signal, just one that you can CONFIRM as described in the link given below.

For anyone interested in a little more info on this, here's the help file that describes clock setting (top of page).

Now the question is, can this be achieved for the Philips with a FW upgrade, or does it require different hardware...
Chuck44 is offline  
post #2172 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

Now the question is, can this be achieved for the Philips with a FW upgrade, or does it require different hardware...

I've got an email into Philips support asking about a possible FW update for clock setting. I'll post their answer here.
wajo is offline  
post #2173 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 10:32 AM
Member
 
subeluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

Now the question is, can this be achieved for the Philips with a FW upgrade, or does it require different hardware...

Chuck,

Could be either or.

A FW upgrade would (probably) work IF the 3575/3576 digital tuner has the capability of acquiring the clock set signal from digital OTA. Then the FW would need to simply direct the clock setting code to retrieve the signal from the digital tuner.

If the digital tuner in the 3575/3576 does not retrieve the time set signal then a hardware change would be necessary and VERY unlikely to simply dreaming.

Seems to me that with the withdrawal of Philips-Funai support for DVDR products in the US they will be reluctant to bother with any expense for an EOL product.

I suspect that the Magnavox 2160 is the 2008/2009 model of the Philips 3576 and the time set from digital OTA was specifically addressed in that newer hardware platform.

JMO
subeluvr is offline  
post #2174 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 10:49 AM
Member
 
tomwom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley of Va
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok everyone, when all is said and done, which one would rather have, the Philips, or the Magnavox?
tomwom is offline  
post #2175 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 11:55 AM
Member
 
subeluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomwom View Post

Ok everyone, when all is said and done, which one would rather have, the Philips, or the Magnavox?

I bought a Philips 3576 from Sams' Club and a Maggie 2160 from Walmart.com (site to store to save shipping charges).

Comparing them, I favored the feature set of the Maggie but the 90 day warranty bugged me.

Ultimately returned the 3576 to Sam's, voted with my wallet and kept the Magnavox 2160 and then bought a 3 year service plan from from Squaretrade.com for $26.99. I'm satisfied with my decision... especially in light of the recent discovery that the Maggie can use the digital OTA clock setting signal.

JMO YMMV
subeluvr is offline  
post #2176 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rick313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomwom View Post

Ok everyone, when all is said and done, which one would rather have, the Philips, or the Magnavox?

I admit that the ability of the Magnavox to set the time from a digital signal is a great feature, but I prefer the Philips because the pause live TV feature is optional. As I understand it, this feature is automatic on the Magnavox with no way to disable it. For me, it's a feature that I never intend to use, so it just seems like a lot of additional wear and tear on the hard drive for no reason.
Rick313 is offline  
post #2177 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick313 View Post

I admit that the ability of the Magnavox to set the time from a digital signal is a great feature, but I prefer the Philips because the pause live TV feature is optional. As I understand it, this feature is automatic on the Magnavox with no way to disable it. For me, it's a feature that I never intend to use, so it just seems like a lot of additional wear and tear on the hard drive for no reason.

That's how the new (and as yet unreleased) DTVPAL DVR will work - any time its on it will be recording a Live TV buffer.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #2178 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 04:47 PM
Member
 
subeluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

That's how the new (and as yet unreleased) DTVPAL DVR will work - any time its on it will be recording a Live TV buffer.

Also the way Tivo, Dish Network, and DirecTV DVRs work. Also consider that unless your computer suspends the HDD is spinning so there's really no extra wear.

The MTBF of contemporary hard drives is very high and they have proven to be very reliable.
subeluvr is offline  
post #2179 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 05:07 PM
Member
 
subeluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick313 View Post

I admit that the ability of the Magnavox to set the time from a digital signal is a great feature...

The Magnavox 2160 also adds an OTA signal strength meter the Philips 3576 lacks.
subeluvr is offline  
post #2180 of 25869 Old 11-17-2008, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I prefer the remote on the Magnavox. It's got bigger, wider spaced buttons. Much easier to use IMO.
Kansas_Tom is offline  
post #2181 of 25869 Old 11-18-2008, 04:49 AM
Member
 
tomwom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley of Va
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I ordered the Magnavox yesterday for two reasons, the price, and the clock issue. Thanks for the responses.
tomwom is offline  
post #2182 of 25869 Old 11-18-2008, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
On the Auto Clock "11:57 procedure" described earlier and in this help file, I should have mentioned the following (which I've added to my other posts):

Note: Be patient... the time adjustment can take up to 3 minutes, and the clock may change to 12:00, then adjust to the correct time. As long as you hear the light "whirring" sound, this DVDR is still in the process of syncing to the broadcast time signal.
wajo is offline  
post #2183 of 25869 Old 11-19-2008, 11:18 PM
Member
 
viperx116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are are there any cheaper alternatives to recorders like this? I just need one with ATSC and QAM tuner. No need for a HDD.
viperx116 is offline  
post #2184 of 25869 Old 11-20-2008, 12:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Walmart sells an HDD-less Magnavox w/digital tuner for $130.00. I think you can find it in some stores, but it's "out of stock" on Walmart.com. Since it's also a Funai, there are no guarantees as far as how the QAM tuner will perform, though.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #2185 of 25869 Old 11-20-2008, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Thanks to member sydyen for info on another great feature of the Mag H2160 compared to the 3575/3576:
Pressing STOP once or multiple times on the remote does NOT stop a recording like it does with the 3575/3576.

His summary of how to stop a recording on the 2160:
- Press STOP on the front panel (does not affect playback).
- Press and hold STOP for 2 seconds on the remote.

Thanks again sydyen!
wajo is offline  
post #2186 of 25869 Old 11-20-2008, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
Cd123456789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stump69 View Post

I also have both the 3575 & the 2160 [known as the dynamic duo]. The USB input on the Philips machine is very cool and saves a step in being able to directly view your slide shows and listen to music dumped from your computer, without having to first create a CD or DVD to do so.

That said, I've only used the feature once in the 14 months I've had the Philips. Whether it's worth the extra $50 is a personal decision.

My recommendendation: Get one of each while they're in stock!

I have pretty much narrowed my search for a replacement/transition to the HD world (using over the airway only) with the Phillips 3576, or Magnavox 2160 (160GB) or 2080 (80GB) HDD DVDs. In my research, I keep seeing how these DVD recorders/players/VCH combo units are "MP3 compatible," but in some cases it seems they are only compatible if the MP3 input is written to a CD first. Are any of these new units capable of actually playing my MP3 player (yet to be purchased), if it has a USB plug (similar to a MP3 docking device). Further, if so, can any of these units read back/display on the TV screen, something more than "Track 1", "Track 2", i.e. all that ID3 tag information i so copiously enter.

And if you can give me some further input here: what is the difference between the two Magnavox units 2160 and 2080, besides the obvious hardrive size, pricetag, and the apparently larger remote control? Were there any other fixes (i understand you still have to set the clock to manual to avoid dumping the recordings in memory)? Do I really need to spend $50 for more GBs, if I'm only recording the soaps and watching them pretty much as I go?

Thanks for any help here.
Cd123456789 is offline  
post #2187 of 25869 Old 11-20-2008, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Here are the basic specs on playing MP3, etc.:

3575/3576 play MP3/WMA/JPEG/DivX® files from CD-RW/-R... DivX®/Xvid* files from DVD+RW/+R or DVD-RW/-R... MP3/WMA/JPEG files from a USB device (FAT32 formatted).
H2160 plays Audio CD or CD-R/RW with MP3 and Jpeg files, but does NOT play DivX or WMA on CD or DVD. H2160 also does not have a USB port.

The 3576 will read MP3 files from a USB memory stick or card reader. Manual says this:

Compatible device:
– USB memory
– USB card reader
Incompatible device:
– USB hub
– USB device with inner hub
– PC
– Cameras
– Devices that need to install drivers
(e.g. some MP3 players)

If you download either manual and check pp 67/68, there's some good info, incl. one item that you asked about re: MP3 and Jpeg files:

"Letters of a file/folder name overflowing the given space
will be displayed as “...”. Unrecognizable characters will
be replaced with asterisks."

That suggests the file name can be something other than Track 1, etc.

The 2160 is better than the 2080 primarily cuz it's built around the very good Philips 3576, actually a sort of "clone" with some special, different features, many of which are better than in the 3576, as listed here. The 2080 is a prior-year model having no relation to the 3576.

With either unit, there is NO reqmt to set the clock manually and no "dumping" of recordings in memory that I'm aware of... sounds like an urban myth!

Maybe some users with direct experience with MP3 will add their thoughts?
wajo is offline  
post #2188 of 25869 Old 11-20-2008, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The 2080 is buggy, and AFAIK Magnavox has never addressed the problem, so I'd stay away from it.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #2189 of 25869 Old 11-20-2008, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperx116 View Post

Are are there any cheaper alternatives to recorders like this? I just need one with ATSC and QAM tuner. No need for a HDD.

The Toshiba D-R560 looks to me like a clone of the 3576/2160 only without a hard drive. It can be had for less than $150.
Kansas_Tom is offline  
post #2190 of 25869 Old 11-21-2008, 06:52 AM
Member
 
eyrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cd123456789 View Post


And if you can give me some further input here: what is the difference between the two Magnavox units 2160 and 2080, besides the obvious hardrive size, pricetag, and the apparently larger remote control?

The 2080 does not have an HDMI connection.
eyrr is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off