Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 863 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25861 of 25869 Old 08-30-2014, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The recorder is a DTVPal designed pre 2010 using DISH's propriety file system. I have Funai in the stack but it sits idle.

From what I understand, which is not much, the main difference with an advance format disk is that if the computer attempts to write 512 bytes to the drive 4096 bytes are read in, the 512 bytes are inserted in the correct location and 4096 bytes are written to the drive. This is handled by the 512 emulator software. I would think that the Funais are reading and writing large blocks of contiguous data so and the data rate required is relatively low so the chance of a problem is low.

But as always the only way to be absolutely sure is to try it.
Pete-N2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25862 of 25869 Old 08-30-2014, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
From what I understand, which is not much, the main difference with an advance format disk is that if the computer attempts to write 512 bytes to the drive 4096 bytes are read in, the 512 bytes are inserted in the correct location and 4096 bytes are written to the drive. This is handled by the 512 emulator software.
Transition to Advanced Format 4K Sector Hard Drives | Seagate explains how even larger than 4kb blocks need to be aligned in order to avoid performance loss from the HDs firmware emulation when heads and tails of the blocks are not aligned to the hardware sectors.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is offline  
post #25863 of 25869 Old 08-30-2014, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
You say "record", but I think simply buffering (caching) that data flow amounts to the same thing.

Did you even read the URI about the Quick6? I seriously doubt it could do what it claims to do without that kind of smarts. I can hardly resist the urge to order one, but that extra $50 off does seem to be strong enough to keep me waiting.
I read the Amazon reviews. It got seven 5-star reviews and five 1-star reviews. That's not a large enough sample group to be definitive but it doesn't exactly make me feel very confident. I'd wait a while too.
Ken.F is offline  
post #25864 of 25869 Old 08-30-2014, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here's a question-

The new model with the inadequate hour capacity settings, but the ability to produce DVDs that are coded for 16:9...

If you took a DVD made on an earlier model that recorded widescreen without black bars, played it into the new machine, once it's on the new model's hard drive, can it be re-burned to another DVD, now coded for 16:9?
gastrof is offline  
post #25865 of 25869 Old 08-30-2014, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
I read the Amazon reviews. It got seven 5-star reviews and five 1-star reviews. That's not a large enough sample group to be definitive but it doesn't exactly make me feel very confident. I'd wait a while too.
I'm only waiting in order to save $50. I read all Amazon reviews. The only negative I anticipate could affect my use pattern is device compatibility. For PIP (which along with POP I have turned on more often than not) to fully fulfill its promise, the PIP controller needs as many inputs as possible. New TVs don't have enough, and all the few I've found with PIP/POP make you dig through menus to switch to instead of having direct access buttons like my first Vizio has. The other big plus is switching speed, which with HDMI on my TVs is painfully slow, a huge regression from analog switching. Another plus, the ability to turn off auto-sensing, without which I'd probably not be able to consider it. Auto-sensing inputs is why I don't have more simple HDMI switching units than the fully manual 4X1 I have now. I've even told monoprice.com that auto-sensing is why I've not bought any of their HDMI switches. Auto-sensing is probably great for people who drive automatics, but I drive a stick. I get to pick when a switch is appropriate, without interference from some gadget that can't possibly know what I'm thinking.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is offline  
post #25866 of 25869 Old 08-31-2014, 03:11 PM
Newbie
 
Trist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Your new puter should be up to the task without adding any more built-in options by making use only of its USB ports. . . .

#1 requires availability of two devices to house a HD, while #2 makes do with only one, unless the external device is one of those designed for 2 disks at once. #2 means 320MB of space must be available on one filesystem for the file that needs to be made and copied. . .

What software is required depends on whether you'll be using Windows. . . .
Hi MrMazda,

I apologize for the delay in responding to you. There was a lot to digest in your post.

I was confused at first by your referring to my old "513" HD, until I figured out that the 513 came after the 2160. From what I've read the 2160 will accept most hard drives (I'm assuming it takes the 3.5'). Is it true that the MDR537H--f7 takes a smaller, 2.5' drive?

So my problem will be to copy the drive currently in the 2160 to another while I still can. Seems to me that some sort of external drive bay would be needed if I wanted to do it with my new computer. I could in theory copy the contents onto the internal slave drive I was planning on installing providing that a Western Digital 3.5' drive will be compatible with the 1260 (I happen to have a new, unused WD 98 gig lying around; that's why I was planning on using it. It also happens to have been purchased about 7 years ago, so compatibility should not be an issue).

Once I've recovered what I can and burned it to discs, I will come back and ask for advice on what kind of drive I should put back into the 2160. I've read that a lot of people were able to install much larger drives into that machine, but since you brought up the issue of newer drives maybe not being compatible, I will have to address that question later.

I don't like pulling out internal IDE drives 'cause it can be quite difficult to pull out the ribbon cable connection (Reminder to self: make sure they build the new computer so that I can easily reach the blasted thing.) But that's the only methodology I can come up with my limited level of expertise. Do I have it right or am I going about it all wrong?

Software: I will be getting a dual boot system with both XP and Windows 7.

Right now I'm getting ready to go up to Vermont. Will have to revisit this thread when I get back, which may not be for 2-3 months, so if you don't see me replying to future posts it's because I'm gone. But I thank you for your very detailed response.

Trist
Trist is offline  
post #25867 of 25869 Old 08-31-2014, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
PeterTheGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trist View Post
Since I almost always leave the Maggie on L3 when I'm not actually recording, I suspect the noise is coming from the hard drive. At any rate, I'm terrified of turning it on for fear that the drive will completely go.

I shall be getting a new custom-made computer in December. You've just given me an idea for some add-ons I should request. I know the new computer will come with one solid state drive and one regular (SATA) slave drive, as well as five USB ports. And I already have a Seagate 500 gig external drive that uses a USB port. Perhaps you could instruct me as to what exactly extra I will need and how to proceed?

Thanks in advance,

Trist
There are directions on replacing hard drives among the many posts on this thread. I checked the first post that wajo had been maintaining. It does look like the links from that post don't work anymore. If you want to try changing the hard drive, the information are in this very long thread. WD does still make one line of 3.5 PATA hard drives that would work in the 2160.

If you want to just get the drive copied then you need to do a sector level copy of the old drive over to the new one. The new drive would then have the same size file system as the old one. There are no partitions on these drives so if your trying to use a drive utility that is coping a partition, it won't work. I would get two PATA based USB drive bay to mount your old drive in and the new one to copy to. Then you can use your computer to move the data over to the new disk. If you want to resize the file system for a bigger drive. It's more work because a few "files" new to grow for the larger filesystem.

Hard Disk File System investigation for the Magnavox 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575

I've had hard drives get very loud for a long time and still function.

You sure it isn't the fan? That would be more likely.
PeterTheGeek is offline  
post #25868 of 25869 Old 08-31-2014, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterTheGeek View Post
There are directions on replacing hard drives among the many posts on this thread. I checked the first post that wajo had been maintaining. It does look like the links from that post don't work anymore. ...
*Most* but not all of the important links still work but the links with the names of Pioneers, which used to open a PM window for convenience in contacting them, don't work... internal links to their stories do still work.
wajo is offline  
post #25869 of 25869 Old Yesterday, 05:04 PM
Member
 
McSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
recordings from FiOS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Quote:
FiOS doesn't use copy protection on anything coming from the composite or S-video line outputs of the set top box so you should be able to record any channel that you are subscribed to. The cable box won't output a widescreen picture from those video outputs so your recordings from the cable box will be letter-boxed.
Regarding the above statement of about a year ago: Is it still the case that I would only get letter-boxed recordings from [any?] FiOS Motorola S-video output? And are these outputs still not copy-protected? Final question: are the S-video outputs clear to record regardless if the box is connected to the TV or not via HDMI?

I'm considering switching now from Cablevision to Verizon to save a bundle on introductory pricing, but I would not want to sacrifice my current Mag-friendly recording setup.

Thanks for your help.
McSam is offline  
post #25870 of 25869 Old Yesterday, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by McSam View Post
Regarding the above statement of about a year ago...
I'm not sure. I haven't had a recorder hooked up to FiOS cable box in a long time. If nobody else chimes in with an answer for you I can connect one up and check for you.
Ken.F is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread - Mdr515h by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off